• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

fuck the Japs | bluefin tuna nearing extinction

eat otoro while it still available...

i gather within next 20 years, blue fin tuna will be history.

國際保育團體警告說,漁民過度捕撈大西洋黑鮪魚,導致黑鮪魚數量快速減少。
「皮優環境組織」說,國際漁業組織每年制定捕撈黑鮪魚數量,去年捕撈數量,比規定數量高出百分之一百四十,但這個數字,沒有把黑市交易算進去。如果加上黑市交易,去年非法捕撈的黑鮪,比允許數量多出兩倍多。
「皮優環境組織」說,過去三十五年,過度捕撈黑鮪,使黑鮪數量減少八成。國際團體必須制定嚴格措施,限制捕撈,才能防止黑鮪絕種。
黑鮪每年從大西洋游到地中海。由於脂肪多,在市場成為搶手貨,被買去製成生魚片,或以燒烤方式享用。

dun lidat say leh. outside jap, there are also consumers and demand.
if no demand, who wan to capture bluefin?

singapore many ppl makan also.
see the Q outside the restaurant. fuck the sporeans?:D

actually if not eating the toro, tuna is no good to taste...the meat not as delicious as salmon or yellowtail.

and given toro so much more ex...most of the sashimi eaters will go for salmon or yellowtail.

Most salmon are now farm raised and there is no fear of species extinction (some mutants maybe.) They should do the same with tuna and any other commercially important fishes.

Would like to see them Nips farming whales.

Most salmon are now farm raised and there is no fear of species extinction (some mutants maybe.) They should do the same with tuna and any other commercially important fishes.

Whales? Even tuna is too big to be farmed, I think.

i read an Economist article about some Japs fishermen trying to farm blue fin tuna but it seems it is more detrimental to the overall environment.

becos of the nature of blue fin, they cannot be kept in captivity - hence they will wrap the small tunas in their fishing nets and tow them everywhere...and feed them accordingly...the net result, many deaths.

i read an Economist article about some Japs fishermen trying to farm blue fin tuna but it seems it is more detrimental to the overall environment.

becos of the nature of blue fin, they cannot be kept in captivity - hence they will wrap the small tunas in their fishing nets and tow them everywhere...and feed them accordingly...the net result, many deaths.

Hmmm, well at least some people are trying. They will get it right one day then.

Salmon is a migratory fish in the wild too. They're still farmed. And yes, fish farms cause their own kind of problems and pollution too. They'd just have to deal with it.

becos of the nature of blue fin, they cannot be kept in captivity -

they can build Marina Barrage between Hokkaido and Honshu on the east and west side and farm the blue fin inside to their heart content

Whales? Even tuna is too big to be farmed, I think.

I wouldn't say too big. I'd say big challenge. (Can charge more).

If you have the time, pick up Arthur Clarke's "The Deep." Although not the main story, there is quite a detailed part about whale farming industry he described. Of course this story was written at a time when meat farming (and animal slaughter) didn't cause an eye to blink. PETA wasn't formed yet.

20 years! :rolleyes:
I am now 75 in 20 years time I will be 95 by then I even have to grind water to drink :eek:

never mind la :o

Then better enjoy the tuna (sashimi - the stomach part) before can't eat.

BTW, if my Ah Kong were alive today, he'd be shocked to see us buying bottled water and paying more for "organic." His time, everything was organic.

they can build Marina Barrage between Hokkaido and Honshu on the east and west side and farm the blue fin inside to their heart content

Just don't eat the fishies raised near the Chinese coast. Don't know what they'll feed the fishies with.