• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FTrash: Thank You, Peesai! We Jumped Ship Liao Loh!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Let PRs buy HDB to get good PRs...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jan-12 9:19 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 36) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43256.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Author: ILikeSG
Comment:
My wife and I did Phd in ur universities. We could have earned at least 11-12k together in Singapore.We are around 29-31 now. Given the kind of costs Singapore has and the kind of foreigner-haters we have here, we left Singapore for now. We have better jobs elsewhere. And, yes we have rented rooms for 5-6 years in Singapore. Also, we realize that it is important to work at good places in the initial part of career.
Its a lot easy to equate talent with money, which most of u r doing here. If ur talented, u shd live in Condos. Do all talented Singaporeans live in Condos. So only 20% has any talent. Talent is not equivalent to MONEY. Do all people who live in Condos are talented. It is sad that u people equate contributions/accomplishments with earning money.
Not all foreigeners lack choices. But if you deny the choices of buying a house and leading a good life, u will actually loose the good PRs. The mediocre ones will anyways work here due to lack of choice, and retire back to their homes. But the good ones who mite consider making SG their home will eventually run away to Aus/Canada or elsewhere. Why will a PR spend 1 million on a house when he can get for half elsewhere. But if u allow PR to get a home for 500,000k, maybe he will stay in Singapore. Sadly, if u want good PRs, u need some kind of incentive. The best incentive is hope of a good life. But, if u want to tax them more n more to make lives of locals better, they will not stay.
It is the middle to upper-middle class educated PRs Singapore wants, and for them to want to stay in Singapore, HDBs should be available simply bcus Condos are overpriced just like HDBs. Jumping from 600,000 to 1 million is quite hard for most people who start life in Singapore with 0$.
People who flock this site dont care whether Singapore has any PRs or not. They are concerned only with their problems. But the govt knows that to retain good PRs, u cant force them to rent or buy million dollar houses only. Bcus people have choices. Most will not invest 1 million dollar in Singapore if he can get a house, car, etc in another country for half that cost.
So this repeated argument of rent or buy condos is plain ridiculous. Simply wont work for the good PRs.
I guess this is the reason why Govt has allowed PRs to buy houses. Its not for mediocre PRs, its not for those who cash by selling a HDB, it is for those who are willing to buy a house n settle. Some will always cash. Dont some SG citizens migrate, take other citizenship. Dont many of u wish u cld migrate. Its human nature. Dont just think from ur perspective bcus ur stuck. Ur govt needs to think about all possible options.
Again, converting into a Singapore Citizen cannot be forced. It is a lot easy to say that such PRs should become singaporeans. Maybe they will become, maybe not. Ur govt wont care giving benefits to PRs unless there is an advantage for them. Citizenship is a big decision from which there is no going back. So most people cannot be coerced or give a deadline. Singapore just has to hope that so of these nice people will like Singapore enough to make it home. But if u make things tougher for them, why will anyone. People like u dont care, but the govt cares bcus it has to plan for the next 10-20-50 years. Unlike u guys, who need to think about the next 1-2-5 years.
Thats where the difference lies.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

The problem here is control. The PAP allows anyone with a fucking degree to work and live in Sinkieland. When they see the problem and try to reverse the situation, they find it is difficult to dismount from a tiger.

Instead of doing things by small measures slowly as other countries do, they fucking go the whole hog without consideration of the implications. This is symptomatic of one-party states, the tendency to overdo things due to having the free reign to do as they like.

Problem: Over-populated island country
PAP's solution: Undergo forced sterilisation after 2 kids or face penalties

Problem: LKY not fluent in dialects
PAP's solution: Enforce ban on all dialects

Problem: Old folks shut out of society due to ban on dialects
PAP's solution: ???

Problem: Chewing gum sticking to train doors and difficult to clean
PAP's solution: Ban chewing gum (What if they find semen on the train doors? Ban sex or masturbation?)

Problem: Graying population
PAP's solution: Import foreigners

Problem: Foreigners only interested in making money and unwilling to settle in Sinkieland
PAP's solution: Import even more foreigners to capture that minuscule percentage who are willing to settle here

Problem: Resources getting over-stretched by burgeoning population and causing spiralling prices
PAP's solution: ???

It is easy to see the pattern of how PAP solves Sinkieland's problems and yet they are getting paid some ridiculous amounts of money for knee-jerk solutions. :oIo:

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Let PRs buy HDB to get good PRs...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jan-12 9:19 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 36) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>43256.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Author: ILikeSG
Comment:
My wife and I did Phd in ur universities. We could have earned at least 11-12k together in Singapore.We are around 29-31 now. Given the kind of costs Singapore has and the kind of foreigner-haters we have here, we left Singapore for now. We have better jobs elsewhere. And, yes we have rented rooms for 5-6 years in Singapore. Also, we realize that it is important to work at good places in the initial part of career.
Its a lot easy to equate talent with money, which most of u r doing here. If ur talented, u shd live in Condos. Do all talented Singaporeans live in Condos. So only 20% has any talent. Talent is not equivalent to MONEY. Do all people who live in Condos are talented. It is sad that u people equate contributions/accomplishments with earning money.
Not all foreigeners lack choices. But if you deny the choices of buying a house and leading a good life, u will actually loose the good PRs. The mediocre ones will anyways work here due to lack of choice, and retire back to their homes. But the good ones who mite consider making SG their home will eventually run away to Aus/Canada or elsewhere. Why will a PR spend 1 million on a house when he can get for half elsewhere. But if u allow PR to get a home for 500,000k, maybe he will stay in Singapore. Sadly, if u want good PRs, u need some kind of incentive. The best incentive is hope of a good life. But, if u want to tax them more n more to make lives of locals better, they will not stay.
It is the middle to upper-middle class educated PRs Singapore wants, and for them to want to stay in Singapore, HDBs should be available simply bcus Condos are overpriced just like HDBs. Jumping from 600,000 to 1 million is quite hard for most people who start life in Singapore with 0$.
People who flock this site dont care whether Singapore has any PRs or not. They are concerned only with their problems. But the govt knows that to retain good PRs, u cant force them to rent or buy million dollar houses only. Bcus people have choices. Most will not invest 1 million dollar in Singapore if he can get a house, car, etc in another country for half that cost.
So this repeated argument of rent or buy condos is plain ridiculous. Simply wont work for the good PRs.
I guess this is the reason why Govt has allowed PRs to buy houses. Its not for mediocre PRs, its not for those who cash by selling a HDB, it is for those who are willing to buy a house n settle. Some will always cash. Dont some SG citizens migrate, take other citizenship. Dont many of u wish u cld migrate. Its human nature. Dont just think from ur perspective bcus ur stuck. Ur govt needs to think about all possible options.
Again, converting into a Singapore Citizen cannot be forced. It is a lot easy to say that such PRs should become singaporeans. Maybe they will become, maybe not. Ur govt wont care giving benefits to PRs unless there is an advantage for them. Citizenship is a big decision from which there is no going back. So most people cannot be coerced or give a deadline. Singapore just has to hope that so of these nice people will like Singapore enough to make it home. But if u make things tougher for them, why will anyone. People like u dont care, but the govt cares bcus it has to plan for the next 10-20-50 years. Unlike u guys, who need to think about the next 1-2-5 years.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
For PRs the choice is pretty obvious.

Singapore is not the place to set up and enjoy family life & to bring up the children

So,only two groups are likely to convert fr PRs to Red passport:
(1)Young one who married very patriotic SPGs.
(2) very old men aiming for retirement,to escape fr the cold.

<table class="msgtable" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="96%"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%"> </td><td>
</td></tr><tr><td class="msgleft" rowspan="4" width="1%"> </td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">
</td></tr><tr><td height="8"></td></tr><tr><td class="msgtxt">Author: ILikeSG
Comment:

But if you deny the choices of buying a house and leading a good life, u will actually loose the good PRs.

</td></tr><tr><td> </td></tr></tbody></table><table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="msgopt" nowrap="nowrap" width="24%"> Options</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

Should be "... you will actually lose the good PRs.".

Someone with a PhD should know the difference between "lose" and "loose".:rolleyes:

For one with a PhD, the std of written English is so spotty. And he wants us to think he is talented?

I can almost be sure this is the work of a PRC.... the style of writing is like that of conversational Mandarin....

icon.aspx
Comment:

I think the writer, if its written by a PR and not some pissed off sporean, needs to get a grip on reality. PhDs are a dime a dozen nowadays, having a PhD doesn't necessarily mean he's a talent.

Furthermore, high housing costs are not just faced by PRs, it's a real problem for citizens too. If we open the floodgates and let them freely buy HDB (as though current regulations are not laxed enough), it will push HDBs to new highs, and no citizens will be able to afford (not that we are able to afford them now!).

The writer seems to think the govt is right and is thinking long term in trying to retain PRs, and us plebians are only thinking of next 1-3-5 years. Come on, if we can't even survive for the next 1-3-5, who will think of next 10-20-30 years ?

But one thing is for sure. I'm really chaffed that we are losing this stupid PR, cos he is definitely not a talent, can't arrange his thoughts, and can't write a bloody sentence properly ! People like him have definitely overstayed their welcome.

I can almost be sure this is the work of a PRC.... the style of writing is like that of conversational Mandarin....

hahaha...doctor, u very free lidat leh....better look after the nurses ...i mean patients properly.....
...this 1 my serious advice hor.
Also pse pardon my Singlish...