Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee at ABC market

always sad to read about disappearing trades and stalls. the young ones will not like to continue the trade - too much hard work. those stalls where the young have taken over, the standard has dropped drastically because of short-cuts.

the famous bakchomee stall in AMK 628 is also having shortcuts. they have reduced their soup. now less livery. they have done away with the finely chopped parsley ( too much work the auntie told me ). they have upped the price - minimum $4. and the standard has dropped. soon it will be another disappearing trade.

i love the hokkien mee at ABC....the famous charsiew rice is still very busy...and it is still very good....hope it does not disappear.

The super meepok from Siglap now moved to MP oso cut corners n jacked up prices.... Old man died biz now in hands of money hungry son... dish used to be made by father or mother or son but now done by hired hands n taste like longkang chui................ so shitty quality, rediced quantity n increased prices..........WTF

try the stall near Margarita at East Coast Road, is called Food'R'Us if not mistaken. touted to be geylang hokkien mee, cooked over charcoal fire, and LPG of course.

This one run be elder bro Alex..... who also started Lor 27 n run by younger bro
Alex was food ambassador having gone to London n Manila to sell his hokkien mee under STB campaign or Makan Sutra roadshow.......... good stuff n hard fight with the Nam Shing in Old Airport road - Nam Shing is darn expensive!! It may be good but not worth the price $6 you get six small prawns and slivers of cuttlefish.

Some will say the chilli plays an important part too....there is one stall in bukit batok that charge 50 cents if you ask for extra chilli.

there's sliced red chilli (olden days) & there's sambal belachan type chilli sauce these days & not to forget the lime. these are all extras & up to you to garnish, if eating freshly made from the tzechar, i like fresh sliced red chilli & just enough lime juice to cut back. not so long ago during a family outing, there was a extra packet of hokkien mee left behind so i took it home, wasn't expecting much from it as i heated it up for breakfast the next day but i was very surprised how well it tasted, the flavours were deeper but the nooldles were dry so maybe have to fry it up with a bit of water. as they say, some food always tastes better the next day :)

good stuff n hard fight with the Nam Shing in Old Airport road - Nam Shing is darn expensive!! It may be good but not worth the price $6 you get six small prawns and slivers of cuttlefish.

agree that Nam Shing is expensive... me would rather take a plate of Lucky Char Kuey Teow at 3 bucks :p:p:p

Old Airport Road's Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee is still the best. I remembered the good old days when me and my friends would eat at the hawker centre before going to the National Stadium at Kallang for a football match. Bloody good times.

agree that Nam Shing is expensive... me would rather take a plate of Lucky Char Kuey Teow at 3 bucks :p:p:p

pay first.wait for a long time. howlian stuff....hokkien mee only so so lah...use disposable plates...very mercenary attitude...i give this a miss.....too howlian!!!

Quick shout out to everyone. Those of you planning to go down to ABC Market this 2 days, please don't. I just realize the market is close for cleaning today and tomorrow. OT work late than made a wasted trip down myself. My sincere apologies for those who went down today.