• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee at ABC market

Btw, I always thought the fried hokkien mee at geylang lorong 27 (or 29 or one of the high number lorongs) is not bad, the one at the coffee shop.

try the stall near Margarita at East Coast Road, is called Food'R'Us if not mistaken. touted to be geylang hokkien mee, cooked over charcoal fire, and LPG of course.

Still prefer to eat the famous + delicious chicken rice at golden mile food centre basement level !

They used to packet their noodles in some white/beige coloured wrapping? Leaves?

i think they used the "opeh leaves".....some stalls still use these " opeh leaves"....seems to taste better than plastic packs.

Hokkien is Or-Pay-Hio, got these two pix from the internet

OpehLeave1.jpg

OpehLeave2.jpg

Most welcome to do so. :)

Btw, I always thought the fried hokkien mee at geylang lorong 27 (or 29 or one of the high number lorongs) is not bad, the one at the coffee shop.

For years the Beo Crescent (Or Gio Tau) Hokkien Mee is my favourite. Its fried with lard and uses charcoal to fry. Damn shiok. Here's a link

http://www.soshiok.com/article/17884

http://ieatishootipost.sg/2008/10/yang-zhou-fried-hokkien-mee-perfect.html

If you don't like I chop. Guarantee la bro this one.

They are famous coz they use charcoal to fry the noodles and not to kill themselves?

I first tried this stall many years ago when they were at a nearby location. I think that old man gone liao. Son took over the biz.

Yeah the old Man no more liao.. My dad also used to buy from the Old Man years ago and brought it back home for the family.. Last year, I brought him there.. He also said the standard kind of drop since since the son took over.. When I told him the present standard was also quite good, he disagreed and he still prefer the Hokkien Mee done back then by the Old Man.. I seems to observed, old timers really got good taste buds..

Yes tried before few times.. Think its called the Original Serangoon Fried Hokkien Mee.. Taste ok lah.. Crowd can be quite alot during the nite..

crowded meh? i neber taste b4 but everytime i drove by i didnt see big crowd. but one thing, the location good as it free parking after 5pm.

Certain nites can be quite crowded.. Usually would makan there with a collegue who is staying near Boon Keng MRT.. On the way to send him back, will drop by the place to makan the Hokkien Mee.. But I still prefer the one at 88 Bedok North.. But too bad the ambience not that shiok anymore ever since the Hawker Ctr underwent upgrading..

i cannot remember which lorong liao as i 7-8yrs never go liao but there a charcoal fried prawn mee at gayland, either lor 11 or 13, in a shophouse that only sell the prawn mee and drinks.

Most welcome to do so. :)

Lor 29 is the famous one with the satay stall in the same coffeeshop.
Lor 19 sims drive side got one charcoal fried one.
Old Airport road near my place got 2...Jackson and Nam Xing.
My favorite stall is the original Mang Kar Kar near petain road.

I missed the one near pertain road where the old man will sit and fried his hokkien mee, but later taken over by his disciple operating opp the road at one of the coffee shop, standard drop.

Fried Hokkien prawn mee at Changi Airport T2 strongly recommended. The belachan goes well with the noodles.

thanks i will tarpau with extra extra belachan next time i fly from T2 & makan on the plane, if you see news got one plane kena emergency landing becos of noxius smells you who know :D

There are basicaLLy 3 pointers to Look out for in an authentic Char hae mee:
1. SmaLL prawns.
2. Thin bee hoon.
3. Lard oiL.
Not fuLfiLLing the usuage of any of these 3 criticaL ingredients, is an uLtimate FaiL to me.:cool:

you forgot good stock & opeh leaf for those who like that special flavour, must wrap steaming hot at least 5mins to get flavour, wrap too long buay song liao, too wet & tzechar flavour all gone.

Should be lor 29. The boss reported to have struck lottery not too long ago. The satay at the same kpt also not too bad. Duck rice too. Many singers stay at the walk-up apartment opposite, just above another kpt.

try the stall near Margarita at East Coast Road, is called Food'R'Us if not mistaken. touted to be geylang hokkien mee, cooked over charcoal fire, and LPG of course.

This stall always long queue. If not wrong, Sheng Siong used to run the kpt. Parking always a problem. Hotel above Margarita looks charming.

thanks i will tarpau with extra extra belachan next time i fly from T2 & makan on the plane, if you see news got one plane kena emergency landing becos of noxius smells you who know :D

Go ahead bro. I doubt there is any criminal charge for that.

you forgot good stock & opeh leaf for those who like that special flavour, must wrap steaming hot at least 5mins to get flavour, wrap too long buay song liao, too wet & tzechar flavour all gone.

Some will say the chilli plays an important part too....there is one stall in bukit batok that charge 50 cents if you ask for extra chilli.

The 2 big hawker center place, Blk 17+ i think.

Now the neighbour kopi tiam also have photocopy one, serving same dish, same price, same leaf and also charges for extra chilli.

Most of the time I go there for the lor mee or kway chap.