Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee at ABC market

Char_Azn

I was away for the better part of the last 2 months, now that I am back in the country I went down to one of my fav stalls at ABC Market, TiongSeng Fried Hokkien Mee at ABC Market. They've seem to have put up an article about the stall. I didn't bother reading the whole thing but the title suggests the Stallholder's son isn't interested in taking over. Kinda sad actually, I've been a customer of the stall since I was a kid. The queue was long as usual and I didn't had a chance to talk to the uncle about his retirement plans but he isn't getting any younger, I don't think he'll be around for more than a few more years. For those of you who likes fried hokkien mee, go down and try it out before it's gone forever. There are at least 2 stalls at the market selling the same thing, make sure to go to the right one. It's only open in the evening, and should be the only Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee stall with a long queue.

ah good good ...like that stuff altho its bad for my cholesterol.

always sad to read about disappearing trades and stalls. the young ones will not like to continue the trade - too much hard work. those stalls where the young have taken over, the standard has dropped drastically because of short-cuts.

the famous bakchomee stall in AMK 628 is also having shortcuts. they have reduced their soup. now less livery. they have done away with the finely chopped parsley ( too much work the auntie told me ). they have upped the price - minimum $4. and the standard has dropped. soon it will be another disappearing trade.

i love the hokkien mee at ABC....the famous charsiew rice is still very busy...and it is still very good....hope it does not disappear.

Any bros tried the Hokkien hay mee along Serangoon Rd, off Beatty Rd? Opposite many many HFJs. I tried. Expensive. Standard so-so only.
But, great location to bio singers.

Any bros tried the Hokkien hay mee along Serangoon Rd, off Beatty Rd? Opposite many many HFJs. I tried. Expensive. Standard so-so only.
But, great location to bio singers.

Yes tried before few times.. Think its called the Original Serangoon Fried Hokkien Mee.. Taste ok lah.. Crowd can be quite alot during the nite..

They are famous coz they use charcoal to fry the noodles and not to kill themselves?

I first tried this stall many years ago when they were at a nearby location. I think that old man gone liao. Son took over the biz.

Famous not always = Good. Need to make sure U can tell good from famous. Asking someone living in the area is helps

Fried Hokkien prawn mee at Changi Airport T2 strongly recommended. The belachan goes well with the noodles.

There are basicaLLy 3 pointers to Look out for in an authentic Char hae mee:
1. SmaLL prawns.
2. Thin bee hoon.
3. Lard oiL.
Not fuLfiLLing the usuage of any of these 3 criticaL ingredients, is an uLtimate FaiL to me.:cool:

Wah, you are back, we miss you fatty, LOL

I was away working in Australia for a month than went to South America for vacation for about a month. Just got back a week ago.

They are famous coz they use charcoal to fry the noodles and not to kill themselves?

I first tried this stall many years ago when they were at a nearby location. I think that old man gone liao. Son took over the biz.

yes brother, it was the old man now i remember. he used charcoal. very crowded always. at the junction coffee shop between lavender st and serangoon road....every night damned shiok!

I was away working in Australia for a month than went to South America for vacation for about a month. Just got back a week ago.

Which parts of South America and got any interesting happen?
Never been there but always thought of going....................

yes brother, it was the old man now i remember. he used charcoal. very crowded always. at the junction coffee shop between lavender st and serangoon road....every night damned shiok!

They used to packet their noodles in some white/beige coloured wrapping? Leaves?

i think they used the "opeh leaves".....some stalls still use these " opeh leaves"....seems to taste better than plastic packs.

Which parts of South America and got any interesting happen?
Never been there but always thought of going....................

Peru, Ecuador, Chile, Argentina, Brazil, all over the place actually. I wasn't sure if I was going to have a chance to go back there again so I took super long leave(close to a month) and visited all the places that interest me. Basically the highlights of each country. Maybe I'll start a separate thread on this.

Most welcome to do so. :)

Btw, I always thought the fried hokkien mee at geylang lorong 27 (or 29 or one of the high number lorongs) is not bad, the one at the coffee shop.

Eh brother, you got try the Samba chicken there? :D