• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forget Orchard Rd! Shopping is so much cheaper at JB's Tebrau City

SamuelStalin

Finally we get something constructive from that forum.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/viewContent.jsp?id=54696

Forget Orchard Rd! Shopping is so much cheaper at JB's Tebrau City

getFullSizePhoto.do

If you enjoy shopping but do not want to pay expensive parking charges, STOMPer Kungfu Babe suggest you go to Aeon Tebrau City Shopping Centre in Johor Bahru.

Said the STOMPer:

"Shopping at Tebrau City Shopping Centre in Malaysia is very enjoyable and fun.

"There are three levels with so many shops and I myself was not able to finish in one day.

"Can forget about going to Orchard Road, Chinatown, Marina Centre, Bugis where parking charges are so expensive.

"Also don't forget there is also ERP charges.

"In Malaysia, 100% free parking.

"You don't have to pay a single cent even if you do not buy anything.

"In Malaysia, shopping and eating is so much cheaper compared to Singapore.

"There are also other exciting things to do in Malaysia.

"One thing I also wish to highlight is that watching movies in Malaysia is cheap.

"They also cater to children prices.

"In Singapore, children have to pay adult price.

"Watching a movie as a family would set you off SG$50.

"In Malaysia, it only costs RM$50.

"The extra savings can still be used to have a nice meal.

"Can come here if you don't have enough money to spend in Singapore."

Aeon Tebrau City Shopping Centre is located in Jalan Desa Tebrau, Johor Bahru.

getArticlePhoto.do

silverfox@

That's what MM LKY told the press some years back.

It's true lah. You should read the mugging press reports and the numerous that were not reported. Even the malaysians admit that these carmugging and robbery rate is very high.

The robbers even prowl on kids, old women and pregnant ladies.

Yoshitei

But Lee Kuan Yew said going to JB one may get car-jacked, robbed or killed. I wonder if it is worth the while to save the few bucks.

I've been driving into Malaysia for over 10 years and have yet to get into any trouble with the locals.

It's not to say I've never been pulled over for speeding, but typically, short conversation tends to resolve the misunderstand.

Personally, I believe it really depends on how you behave when you're overseas. You behave like a monkey, you''ll be treated like one.

silverfox@

I've been driving into Malaysia for over 10 years and have yet to get into any trouble with the locals.

It's not to say I've never been pulled over for speeding, but typically, short conversation tends to resolve the misunderstand.

Personally, I believe it really depends on how you behave when you're overseas. You behave like a monkey, you''ll be treated like one.

You don't even need to drive into Malaysia, now the robbers get on the BUS and rob. This is Malaysia. If you go to the Malaysia towns and talk to the locals, they can tell you even robbers act on local schoolchildren rob them of their pocket money.

If you don't get robbed, its not because you don't behave like a monkey, its because you are just plain lucky that's all.

congo9

You don't even need to drive into Malaysia, now the robbers get on the BUS and rob. This is Malaysia. If you go to the Malaysia towns and talk to the locals, they can tell you even robbers act on local schoolchildren rob them of their pocket money.

If you don't get robbed, its not because you don't behave like a monkey, its because you are just plain lucky that's all.

10 yrs and he is still lucky ? Man , when his luck going to end ? I have been frequenting JB late night this few months. Been there eating , drinking , pumping petrol .....watch movie.

BTW , i even drive a car even the great Robbers of malaysia will think that this Singapore car is not even worth a 2nd look inside.

allanlee

I must be among the luckiest people that frequent JB........ I've spent my whole life of travelling up and down M'sia and have yet to encounter any robbers........ the only "robbers" that gave me trouble are always the Polis Di-Raja MaLaysia :(

Wobble

came back from there last weekend....movies cheap at RM8 for adult and RM6 fo children...ate at the restaurant less than RM100 for 4...10mins jam when returning to SG...no jam at all goin there

Thank you forumer for your JB update. Those PAP agents are just here to create all nonsense to brainwash thinking that JB is a horrible place.

How horrible can it gets when it is unpolluted by sinkies. I believe those who are so unlucky to get rob are those arrogant sinkies who like to show off using their sinkie behavior.

Malaysian see liao tulan and go and hammer them.

I must be among the luckiest people that frequent JB........ I've spent my whole life of travelling up and down M'sia and have yet to encounter any robbers........ the only "robbers" that gave me trouble are always the Polis Di-Raja MaLaysia :(

You are just unsinkified. Unsinkified person are very lucky indeed as you dun offend pple with you behavior.

Been to JB & KL countless of times and the only "robbers" I've encountered are SOME taxi drivers who don't want to use the meter. :p

numero uno

It's true lah. You should read the mugging press reports and the numerous that were not reported. Even the malaysians admit that these carmugging and robbery rate is very high.

Bullsh!t. I just went to Jusco and it was packed with Singasporens. No problem there. In fact when I get back to singpore on BKE a SUV taligated me and horned me for no reason(i was travelling at 100 kph). I have travellled freq into JB and no problem. in fact I heard more people get beaten up or robbed in singaspore.

Agree with you. Behave yourself all the time.

sunny302

Be humble and don't be flashly in order not to attract unwanted attention and all should be well when u go to mudland to de-stress and relax:p

SamuelStalin

People also prowl on fat, ugly and stupid Sporns, trust me.

metalslug

As long as you are in a open and partially crowded area, you will be very safe. But stay away from the quiet and cul-de-sac areas. Stay away from the night as well...

10 yrs and he is still lucky ? Man , when his luck going to end ? I have been frequenting JB late night this few months. Been there eating , drinking , pumping petrol .....watch movie.

BTW , i even drive a car even the great Robbers of malaysia will think that this Singapore car is not even worth a 2nd look inside.

Let make a list price compare Malaysia to Singapore.
1. Movie ticket Malaysia on average price RM8 and Singapore $9( save about 60%)
2. Petrol price Malaysia garde 97 RM1.80 Singapore grade 98 on average $1.50 after discount ( save about $0.70/litre)
3. Fast food KFC/Mcdonald/Starbuck about 30% cheaper.
4. For seafood restuarant and other food stall cheaper from 30% up to 50% compare to Singapore on same standard class.
5. Parking some shopping place are free. Don't be misunderstood from info above all are free. But Compare to Singapore parking charge are 50% cheaper.
6. Now going out and in custom are quite smooth. The only jam are most probably is Singapore custom when you back from JB because only one lane out from custom after car booth check and many hump.
7. Currency exchange SG$1 range from RM2.36~RM2.40.

Any esle please add ON. Even ours MPs are supporting JB eg. nursing home.