• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foreign workers to compete in 2014 Migrant Olympics

SINGAPORE: Workers from different countries will soon compete in a sports tournament specially planned for them.

The Humanitarian Organisation for Migration Economics (HOME) is organising the second Migrant Olympics this year.

The advocacy group hopes to lift the mental well-being of the workers through sports.

HOME piloted the Migrant Olympic Games last year.

Some 500 workers from India, Indonesia, Philippines and Myanmar competed in sports like volleyball, basketball, badminton and bowling.

HOME said sports is important as it helps to improve the mental well-being of migrant workers, and that workers need other diversions that can keep them physically and mentally fit.

Last year's Games was funded by MacQuarie Foundation, and HOME is hoping to get them to pledge its support again in 2014.

This year, HOME is planning a much bigger Games.

It aims to get 3,000 workers, and from more countries, to participate.

Last year, more than 100 workers from Indonesia participated in the Migrant Olympic Games. Two teams of women domestic workers, and two teams of seamen took part in volleyball.

This year, the Indonesian Embassy has pledged its support again.

Sukmo Yuwono, counsellor at the Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia, said: "The response was very good. They were very enthusiastic during the Games because they were able to develop the sporting spirit playing with other migrant workers in Singapore."

The Migrant Workers' Centre has also voiced its support for the Games, describing the scale this year as "admirable".

It believes such tournaments can pave the way for the workers to participate in the local community and even national games.

Bernard Menon, executive director at Migrant Worker’s Centre, said: "It might help open the door in terms of social integration, and give the opportunity… (for) Singaporeans… (to) notice the migrant workers as they play sports alongside (them) and start to make them more accepting, and understand the migrant workers if we started making them teammates first."

This year's Migrant Olympic Games is scheduled for September as part of HOME's 10th anniversary. - CNA/gn

CB I thought it's a joke when I saw the title...there really is such a thing....:*:

mickey mouse games.
loser should be send to qatar to work. (aka die)

The joke is on us Sinkies.

Foreigners come here to take local jobs. Use our resources. Buy the property to jack up prices. Now still have special events planned for them.

SOme of the events in the 2014 Migrant Olympics are:-

1) How fast can you burn a police car
2) How many times can you fuck in the forest before the Gurkhas arrest you.
3) How far can you spit
4) How many bodies can you squeeze into a HDB water tank
5) How many beers can you drink before pissing on the pavement
6) How close can you get to the train door before you pass out from too much alchohol
7) How many FTs can be squeezed into a MRT train before the sinkies run out due to the smell.

I think apunehs will win gold in many of these events.

Good chance for them to mingle and find boyfriends/girlfriends, and pollinate in the woods

If they have an Olympics for retards, Tonychat would win alot of Gold Medals and break many World Records..

He will surely win the Champion of Champions if they have a KPKB behind a PC category for retards

Firstly, they are not migrants.

Secondly, it defeats the purpose of the NIC's efforts to integrate them when all this event will do is consolidate and create their own identity in a foreign land. Instead of them being "teammates", it will be more the case of "them" vs "Us".

Some screwed-up scholar's idea and over-the-top optimistic perception of an idealistic concept which haven't been given the full thought-through.

unemployed Sinkies cannot go mend the stalls, cleaners and Sinkies SPF control traffic. Bring in NSFs to build tents for them.

This is really cheap sakes and throw a party for FWs and FTs that stole your jobs.

Sinkies should do 十五 when PAP do 初一。

CB I thought it's a joke when I saw the title...there really is such a thing....:*:

Simi lanjiao Olympic for ft shits? How come don't put the money help our poor and needy? Oh! Paiseh. Sinkees are suppose to be rich.

Hey anyone knows if taxpayers' monies are used to fund this treacherous event ? Any link with evidence is appreciated :)