• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Foreign talent: Having a singapore pr was the biggest mistake

First, he's a foreigner but not a talent. Earning 6.2k PM after working for 7 years or so means he is just a normal PMET that any sinkie with a degree can match.

Second, after working in Singapore for 8 years with a decent salary and opportunities in two property bottoms in 2006 and 2009, this neh still can't make it. I have seen poorer paid PRs who came to Singapore, saved up like hell and bought first resale flat after 3 to 5 years. Yet this neh was paid well, a bachelor, and still can't steel himself to save up and buy a roof of his own after 8 years.

Talent? Pui!

Bros, don't underestimate this pundek. From what he has written, noticed, his savings habit has been maintained all these years. Rough estimate :
1 $2.5K savings per month X 4 years x 12 months = $120K
2 $1.0K savings per month X 4 years X 12 months = $ 48K
3 Total + $156K, not counting bonus contributions.
If this amount has been diligently maintained in a bank account or used to buy property back in India, he is a rich landlord by now. Together with his withdrawal of CPF moneys upon abondoning his PR, he should live a very good life back in India!

How many Singaporeans can be a land and property owner in Singapore, even after slogging over 30 years?

Pundek, you don't have to wait for the middle of the year to go back to India..

You can fuck off now..

Thanks..

1. bro, bingo!
2. pls don't wait till the mid-year thing.
3. i could easily sponsor the snake a no-return airtkt to india.
4. go & jump into the ganges, drown there:D

I don't understand how his PR status has anything to do with it. He still get's the same amount of money, instead of him saving it, it goes directly into his CPF account. It's just a cashflow thing. Other than that he has to deal with the increasing costs of living like everybody else who lives here.

His way of dealing with it is to go home, his choice.

I don't understand how his PR status has anything to do with it. He still get's the same amount of money, instead of him saving it, it goes directly into his CPF account. It's just a cashflow thing. Other than that he has to deal with the increasing costs of living like everybody else who lives here.

Hey German,
Are you a PR?
You are new here in Singapore?
If you are, wait a few years more and when the CPF thingy starts to bite into your arse, don't kpkb ok?

Hey German,
Are you a PR?
You are new here in Singapore?
If you are, wait a few years more and when the CPF thingy starts to bite into your arse, don't kpkb ok?

If you don't like to pay CPF don't apply for PR, simple. What happens after a few years?

He probably has the same amount of faith in HC & TH as the rest of singapore.

All foreigner-PRs can enjoy the CPF. Yes, enjoy.

For them, the CPF is like a constant return rate investment, which they can cash out anytime when they balik kampung.

Having a PR also grants them the convenience of not needing to constantly renew their work permit/e-pass. Many of the govt perks are accorded to Singapore residents = pink cards and blue cards.

Don't be fooled by the 'I regret having a Singapore PR' talk. They knew what they were getting into.

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=59444#1

FOREIGN TALENT: HAVING A SINGAPORE PR WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE

I came to Singapore at age 25 earning $5K a month in 2005. The money was more than enough for a bachelor sharing a 5-room HDB apartment with 2 other bachelor friends whom I knew from India. I always had enough to go out for parties at CQ, trips with friends, the odd date now and then (unfortunately few and far between) and yet still able to save $2.5 k a month. Of course rent and cost of living were low then. Difference between my life in India and Singapore is that I had more disposable income to spend but in India by spending 25% of the salary I could afford to get someone to cook for me, someone else to clean the house and do the laundry and a third person to wash my car once a week. Fast forward to 2011, I make just under $6.2k, I’m married and my wife is unemployed. I am still renting an HDB, but the smallest possible configuration.

Taking a PR was the biggest mistake. Company reduced my salary by the amount they need to contribute. On top of that employee contribution from my salary.

Now I barely save 1K a month, that too by penny pinching to an extraordinary degree. Barely go out now to save money. Travel only by bus/MRT. No cabs for personal purposes. Eating out is now restricted to the food court. Only 1 trip a year and that too back home to visit our parents.

My college friends in India (in the IT industry) earn roughly around $3.5k to 4k in SGD terms. They live in posh apartments which they own (still have to pay the mortgage). Have servants, can afford to take vacations to places like Phuket, Bali, Egypt, Dubai and are basically enjoying life.

So my new year resolution is to leave Singapore by the middle of this year and try to get a job in India to chase the Indian dream. My Singapore dream has turned sour in the last 3 years.

So the point is…. $5.5 K is not enough for an Indian family living an upper middle class life similar to India. 3K SGD will go a long way in India. Its only just above penury in Singapore.

To add further injury to insult, why are we Indians working in Singapore? India is a resource rich country and booming.

We must develop India and stay there and not develop Singapore. In summary, Singapore isn’t well suited for living. Everything here is just hype, overly reliant on foreigners and nothing much compared to bigger countries.

I am appalled to see many talented Indians working like slaves and coolies in Singapore to support the aging local population. We expect to be treated better. We foreigners, may even need to pay more in the future for this purpose. My suggestion to all Indians is to just take whatever Singapore offers, use it as a stepping stone and spring board to other countries where quality of life seems to be better and cheaper too.

Singapore is not only dying , it will not last long economically.

FT Regret

the problem with this guy is that he move to another country being an employee.. if he invest in business in another country.. he will only deal with problems of how to channel his profits to avoid paying too much taxes. This is just a typical indian-kie who is not happy with his life and never check the whole sinkie system before getting a PR.. too bad.