• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

For those who love Hokkien songs

littlefish

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/CMlb1nQuwUY"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CMlb1nQuwUY" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/0KD0XjIfqa8"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/0KD0XjIfqa8" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/FeLAkBGZHxw"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/FeLAkBGZHxw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/yOUR8hlBCOs"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/yOUR8hlBCOs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/xRzJ9p2N6yI"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/xRzJ9p2N6yI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/3h_fx95i-bA"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/3h_fx95i-bA" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/l4CgPSx5Js0"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/l4CgPSx5Js0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/12oFVQ_N9Lo"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/12oFVQ_N9Lo" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

Dedicated to all parents
<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/QBi8_wtvmg0"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/QBi8_wtvmg0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/9QQO_Zx9A8g"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/9QQO_Zx9A8g" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

littlefish

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/N52fWHCBGgc"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/N52fWHCBGgc" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/IqpRCYlGxXs"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/IqpRCYlGxXs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Lj3s-oZqDVU"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Lj3s-oZqDVU" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/70G_vHg5FPg"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/70G_vHg5FPg" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

Ash007

陈雷 also got some good songs ah.

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Z9qGmA5rHmc&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Z9qGmA5rHmc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/cLFg0e1fTvQ&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cLFg0e1fTvQ&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/9HWBLM6l_mg&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/9HWBLM6l_mg&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

and the classic 爱拼才会赢

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/wflMFaDSJDo&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/wflMFaDSJDo&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Ash007

This 1 funny

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/s3NWm6mYUsE&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/s3NWm6mYUsE&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

whahaha

littlefish

Dedicated to all parents
<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/QBi8_wtvmg0"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/QBi8_wtvmg0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

Maybe I am biased but I have always felt that a top Hokkien song will beat a top Mandarin song any day. There is no Mandarin song that can move me as much as the one above. For those who miss their parents, I highly recommend that you listen to it (you might be surprised to learn it was written by Jay Chou).

Ash007

You are right, I grew up not knowing much Hokkien, Teochew, father Teochew mother Hokkien. Under the sinkie system I hated mandarin a lot and always find mandarin songs bland and boring. I actually learned how to speak proper hokkien, Penang hokkien actually but its better then knowing just KNNCCB, when I'm in Australia and learned to appreciate Hokkien songs in a white country. Somehow it touches the "heart" more then mandarin songs. If you listen to mando pop, most of them have the same tune. Later on, I even found a CD with old teochew songs in them, its nice to listen to them. :biggrin:

By the way, Hakka songs not bad as well, found some in Chinatown a while back, while I'm a dating a Hakka moi.

Same thing with Canton-pop, if you listen to oldies like Jacky cheung, SAmmy cheng, their Cantonese songs are way superior then their mandarin ones. There is more "soul" in them.

Maybe I am biased but I have always felt that a top Hokkien song will beat a top Mandarin song any day. There is no Mandarin song that can move me as much as the one above. For those who miss their parents, I highly recommend that you listen to it (you might be surprised to learn it was written by Jay Chou).

littlefish

You are right, I grew up not knowing much Hokkien, Teochew, father Teochew mother Hokkien. Under the sinkie system I hated mandarin a lot and always find mandarin songs bland and boring. I actually learned how to speak proper hokkien, Penang hokkien actually but its better then knowing just KNNCCB, when I'm in Australia and learned to appreciate Hokkien songs in a white country. Somehow it touches the "heart" more then mandarin songs. If you listen to mando pop, most of them have the same tune. Later on, I even found a CD with old teochew songs in them, its nice to listen to them. :biggrin:

By the way, Hakka songs not bad as well, found some in Chinatown a while back, while I'm a dating a Hakka moi.

Same thing with Canton-pop, if you listen to oldies like Jacky cheung, SAmmy cheng, their Cantonese songs are way superior then their mandarin ones. There is more "soul" in them.

Yup, although to be fair, Mandarin probably sounds sweetest to native Mandarin speakers. I can't quite put my finger on it but the "soul" you are talking about may be knowing that the words are the same as those spoken by your parents and grandparents.

Ash007

Its not just that, the intonation are better for these Cantonese singers. Most of the Chinese from Sinkieland is from the south, what gets me really rilled up is the speak Mandarin campaign and the CL2 education we have to go through. Its a total failure on the PAPpies part. It produces sinkies with no "roots", not knowing their own languages and very mediocre language ability in English and Mandarin. Come to think of it, in my opinion, the SinkaPore education system has failed miserably with this.

Yup, although to be fair, Mandarin probably sounds most sweet to native Mandarin speakers. I can't quite put my finger on it but the "soul" you are talking about may be knowing that the words are the same as those spoken by your parents and grandparents.

RonRon

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/LFx5mBjjUCc&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/LFx5mBjjUCc&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

RonRon

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/A4WcUkE3AvM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/A4WcUkE3AvM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/6lmnFNNtCYM&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/6lmnFNNtCYM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

RonRon

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/gh4jEyGVDbI&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/gh4jEyGVDbI&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

littlefish

Its not just that, the intonation are better for these Cantonese singers. Most of the Chinese from Sinkieland is from the south, what gets me really rilled up is the speak Mandarin campaign and the CL2 education we have to go through. Its a total failure on the PAPpies part. It produces sinkies with no "roots", not knowing their own languages and very mediocre language ability in English and Mandarin. Come to think of it, in my opinion, the SinkaPore education system has failed miserably with this.

I still think learning Mandarin was beneficial but my view is that those who can't be proficient in Mandarin should not have been penalised. The government should also not have been over-zealous in clamping down on dialects. The loss of dialects made Singapore the sterile place it is today.

Soul_Reaper

Hakka songs.... my favourites! :p
Dint know they are still available here.... in which part of Chinatown did you manage to find them? Normally I buy them in Taiwan or Ipoh.
Btw, Hakka Mois oso my favourite..... sibeh heong in bed and anything goes :biggrin:

Ash007

If memories serves me right its one of the CD shop thats outside in this building.

<iframe width="425" height="240" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://maps.google.com/maps/sv?cbp=12,305.65,,0,-1.49&amp;cbll=1.281659,103.841073&amp;panoid=&amp;v=1&amp;hl=en&amp;gl="></iframe><br /><small><a href="http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&amp;source=embed&amp;hl=en&amp;geocode=&amp;q=chinatown&amp;sll=1.28186,103.841797&amp;sspn=0.003465,0.004313&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;radius=0.15&amp;rq=1&amp;ev=p&amp;hq=chinatown&amp;hnear=&amp;ll=1.28186,103.841797&amp;spn=0.003465,0.004313&amp;t=h&amp;layer=c&amp;cbll=1.281659,103.841073&amp;panoid=O60vPj5Z0SctXp0I-su-lw&amp;cbp=12,305.65,,0,-1.49" style="color:#0000FF;text-align:left">View Larger Map</a></small>

Yah, hakka mois very hiong in bed. They really will do anything. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Hakka songs.... my favourites! :p
Dint know they are still available here.... in which part of Chinatown did you manage to find them? Normally I buy them in Taiwan or Ipoh.
Btw, Hakka Mois oso my favourite..... sibeh heong in bed and anything goes :biggrin:

littlefish

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/K0gXdpqn5co"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/K0gXdpqn5co" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

<object style="height: 344px; width: 425px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/lVnzFaJNOHI"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/lVnzFaJNOHI" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></object>

Ash007

I think so, just walk from outram mrt towards chinatown, its one of the CD shops along the way. The CDs are kind of hidden so you might have to look a bit.

That's Pearl Centre isn't it?
Thanks a lot. Will drop by one of these days.

guess im like you ..i used to look down on hokkien song when i was staying in singapore ..now i stay in japan i started to appreciate hokkien song very much ..although most of the meaning in hokkien song i cant understand ( i cant even write my own chinese name ) but i find the music very smoothing to my ears ..especially this song 黃乙玲-愛到才知痛 . guess music is universal ....