For aLL the hypes about smart phones, do you reaLLy bother..

Fishypie

Not me.Hand phones to me are just for that basic caLL-and-taLk use; unLess you are a geek,
a how Lian,or reaLLy someone so imp to be contacted whiLe on the move..:cool:
I am just contented with my 2+ yo Nokia N8..:)

paiseh....I do. Not just talk and SMSes but emails, games, appt, surfing, sbf-ing.....:D

Young people these days prefer to SMS or use Whatsapp to chat instead of making phone calls.

U are a normal phone user.

People who chase after iPhones for brand purposes.

Geeks love androids.

And the rest prefer simple to use phones like Nokia.

last time, hp got oni basic features ... n me oso dun haf nid 2 use other hp features ...

now, me oso find ze following useful ...
- gps ... in case got lost ...
- taking fotos ... u show ppl foto ppl noe wat u toking about ...
- surf net ... cheq stok market, gan cheong prices la ...

all other features me never bother 2 noe how 2 use la ...

Me same, using my hp as your 1st 3 items Listed onLy..the rest too big a headache for me to Learn.:o

I never own any Apple product or buy any apple product until now.

Not me.Hand phones to me are just for that basic caLL-and-taLk use; unLess you are a geek,

The nokia n series has tons of features in it. If you just need a phone to call and sms a phone that was released in the late 90s or early 2000s would be sufficient in fact it would be a better choice cos they would be smaller in size. Since you only use it to call you don't even need a color screen phone in fact therefore a late 90s phone like the nokia 8910 would be perfect for you.

precisely.....................the more functions hp have, the more people want...................most of the functions are totally not needed..............

i virtually never use the camera even..................

precisely.....................the more functions hp have, the more people want...................most of the functions are totally not needed..............

i virtually never use the camera even..................

You never use the phone's cam to take self shots and post on FB?

never leh....................i no have FaceBook also..................

i don't play games on hp also..................

i only use.............. call, sms, alarm, notes, calendar, converter, radio and music player...........

If you hold the view that's the device is a phone first and foremost, then I'd agree wholeheartedly that the hype is ridiculous.

However, smart phones aren't actually phones anymore. They're actually mobile computing devices with literally thousands of uses which happen to include the ability to make phone calls.

As a photographer, I find the device extremely useful. I use it to trigger my camera with capture pilot. I use it as a paperless way of getting the models I hire to sign model releases with iRelease. It's also used to adjust my studio lighting without having to walk to and fro and clamber up ladders to reach the monoblocs.

When I snap a picture, the image that I have just taken appears almost instantaneously on the screen and I can tweak parameters and click the shutter again to see what effect the change has on the overall look.

The power of the smart "phone" is in the apps for just about anything under the sun. If you have a hobby, there are hundreds if not thousands of apps dedicated to making the pursuit of that hobby a lot more fun.

They should drop the word "phone" I didn't get one. I use the iPod touch instead.

If you hold the view that's the device is a phone first and foremost, then I'd agree wholeheartedly that the hype is ridiculous.

However, smart phones aren't actually phones anymore. They're actually mobile computing devices with literally thousands of uses which happen to include the ability to make phone calls.

As a photographer, I find the device extremely useful. I use it to trigger my camera with capture pilot. I use it as a paperless way of getting the models I hire to sign model releases with iRelease. It's also used to adjust my studio lighting without having to walk to and fro and clamber up ladders to reach the monoblocs.

When I snap a picture, the image that I have just taken appears almost instantaneously on the screen and I can tweak parameters and click the shutter again to see what effect the change has on the overall look.

The power of the smart "phone" is in the apps for just about anything under the sun. If you have a hobby, there are hundreds if not thousands of apps dedicated to making the pursuit of that hobby a lot more fun.

They should drop the word "phone" I didn't get one. I use the iPod touch instead.

I tot you mentioned you only have a basic cell phone to make phone calls and if you want to take pictures you would get a camera or a portable mp3 player to listen to music? So you actually own a smart phone now to use it as a remote control for your camera?

You need an eye test. I specifically said that "I use the iPod touch instead". I have highlighted the sentence for your benefit.

If you really want to look cool, get one of those satellite phones. They make you look like a Special Forces guy like CTU agent Jack Bauer in 24. Again, you might get shot at.

My oLd workhorse..MotoroLa Startac 2 :

startac.jpg

AvaiLable for $1,025 nett then..:)

Motorola sucks. Flimsy housing. Moister easily can penetrate it. I work as a chef and had to send my past motorolas to service alot cause of the high humidity in peesai kitchens.

Sorry boss. I blue collar worker one. My english only 7 on the stupid ielts test. Neber listen to mummy and to stay in school.