• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

food court (kopitiam) job re-design - req input frm guys

lightblue77

hello, i'm helping a friend to 'redesign' job scope for his opening soon neighbourhood kopitiam. the business is not owned by some investment holdings coy/group, jus individual operate.

we re planning to engage total of 5-6 kopitiam asst to handle the drink stall (e.g. make coffee, order) and clearing of used utensils (dont need wash). these workers work 3-4 days a week (alt day: m-w-f-sun; t-thur-sat-sun) but 12hrs (6am-6pm). and OT about $4-$5/hr (6pm-11pm). budget each staff shld cost the coy about $1500/mth (inc medical, cpf etc).

Will spore citizens consider it? cos we may not have enough quota to employed PRC and also since we are small coy, would prefer to help local s'poreans to b employed.

serious feedback only. thank

I think its a good and fair proposition, even you ask them to wash the dishes, i think its reasonable, good luck

would prefer to help local s'poreans to b employed.

serious feedback only. thank

No Singaporean wants to wash dishes for a living!:eek: It would be beneath their dignity. :rolleyes:

but seriously, what is it that you want to know _ I can see only one question "Will spore citizens consider it?"

so you want to know whether spore citizens will consider this job or you want to find out any forumers here want to apply for this job ?

3 to 4 days only ?

12 hours shift ? 6pm to 6am and 6am to 6pm ?

$1500 ?

Quite ok mah, work 3 days earn $1500. Where to find ?

but seriously, what is it that you want to know _ I can see only one question "Will spore citizens consider it?"

so you want to know whether spore citizens will consider this job or you want to find out any forumers here want to apply for this job ?

sorry... just want to know is such conditions easy to find local to work in? and what the mkt rate those coffee shop asst are getting?

of course the gross we cant pay $1,500 lah... including OT and allowance. rem not 8hrs is 12 hours/day, and 3-4 days a wk

I think you can attract people staying nearby. Don't need to spend on transport to work and probably free drinks (?) and cheaper meals from stalls in the same kopitiam would save them some money monthly.

No Singaporean wants to wash dishes for a living!:eek: It would be beneath their dignity. :rolleyes:

Funny. You must have been out of Singapore for too long. Practically all dish collecting cart pushers and dishwashers are Singaporean aunties and uncles. No sane foreigner would buy air ticket to come here and work at this for S$500 per month. They work as cooks or serve drinks or beer promoters etc. Poor old Singaporean aunties and uncles have to accept it, they're stuck here. The tough able-bodied Bangla and Thai males also won't. They work on tougher jobs for higher pays. The younger and prettier foreign girls without regards to morality or chastity knows where to look for even easier and faster money.

lightblue, god bless you.... i hope more singaporeans will make an effort however small to help fellow sporeans

we re planning to engage total of 5-6 kopitiam asst to handle the drink stall (e.g. make coffee, order) and clearing of used utensils (dont need wash). these workers work 3-4 days a week (alt day: m-w-f-sun; t-thur-sat-sun) but 12hrs (6am-6pm). and OT about $4-$5/hr (6pm-11pm). budget each staff shld cost the coy about $1500/mth (inc medical, cpf etc).

Dun worry bro lightblue77....... if you really intend to pay what you have posted here....... you'll have a queue of people wanting to work for you. :D

You are paying almost 3 times what MacDonald's are paying to our aunties...... some more got CPF and medical benefit. :)

Btw, the market rate for kopi kia / kopi soh is about $800 rising to $1200 for the more experienced workers..... gone are the days of $1.8K - $2K pay....... the influx of PRCs into this industry has brought the wages down.

God bless you for wanting to employ Singaporeans. :D

P.S - Do you mind telling us where is your kopitiam located? Since you support Singaporeans......... we will come down to your kopitiam to support you. :p

if u die die must employ FT, make sure its sweet and cute prc mei mei

Great and encouraging post bro.
Dun worry bro lightblue77....... if you really intend to pay what you have posted here....... you'll have a queue of people wanting to work for you. :D

You are paying almost 3 times what MacDonald's are paying to our aunties...... some more got CPF and medical benefit. :)

Btw, the market rate for kopi kia / kopi soh is about $800 rising to $1200 for the more experienced workers..... gone are the days of $1.8K - $2K pay....... the influx of PRCs into this industry has brought the wages down.

God bless you for wanting to employ Singaporeans. :D

P.S - Do you mind telling us where is your kopitiam located? Since you support Singaporeans......... we will come down to your kopitiam to support you. :p