• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fire Alarm for PAP....

I've tried out a few of these PMETs and by and large it hasnt been a success. Those who have held high posts before expect to be delegator in chief and never get their hands dirty. Can't forget their glory days. I am happy the WP won but nobody can help people like these. The reason they do not have a job is not cost. They are just useless. I'd only hire for specialized skills.

In the good old days of MNC, when profits were thick and good. The PMETs that were with them were given a free hand to run, with the onset of globalisation, those days are gone. Delegator in chief, or not, are also expect to roll up their sleeve and get their hands dirty. The glory days are over, if you ask me.

The reason they do not have a job is not cost. They are just useless: While it seems harsh with this statement, employers expectation are now totally different.

Nevertheless, I am still sure there are those that are willing to put in a hard day's work. If Singaporeans do not help one another, who else will. FTs, let's not kid ourselves.

The question often asked, "whom did they vote for", the gates were opened after the recession in 1985, & then turned into a deluge; without a 'safety net" for the PMET's, I was 'drowned' in the 'deluge' & never will forget the MIW for this, after putting my faith , heart & soul in them & serving & placing sacrifices for the nation. Who you think I vote for?, what do you think?

They sting people's basic needs, like the opportunity to earn a decent living an ability to put square meals on the table, an affordable head over our heads, a conducive environment to raise children, we expect to see most or all our savings, when we retire, and have faith in that government whom we have placed the custody of our money with.

They must not take the people for granted anymore, the old ways of forcing policies, declaring all the time they are clean not enough & always championing meritocracy is not enough. There must be transparency in what they do & accountability in what they have done. There must be changes, a change for the better of the common man, not just only for themselves, but for all.

The ground is shifting, people of different age groups & era are fed up & they will & have already channeled this frustrations into "whom do you think, they vote for"????

Yes, I do understand what you mean when you put in Ï was drown in the deluge of gate opening and relentless in flow of FTs. Now is 2013, a good 28 years ago when it hit you, the irony is, Singaporean are getting hit again, this time round, it is their children, to compete, with the relentless inflows of FTs and now coupled with sky high hdb price and cost of living.

Talk about triple whammy!!!

Political observers say the Workers Party’s win in Punggol East has dealt a huge blow to the PAP and indicates rapidly growing resentment on the ground.

Describing PAP’s loss as "devastating" for the party, associate professor Bridget Welsh said that it showed a "massive downturn in support".

“It is not just about demographics but a national erosion of support sustained over the last four elections. The trends indicate that the PAP is in deep trouble – it’s efforts to win over the electorate are not working,” said Welsh, who is from Singapore Management University’s Political Science faculty.

“This is more than a wake-up call, it’s a fire alarm.”

In the end, Workers' Party candidate Lee Li Lian finished with 16,038 votes against PAP's Dr Koh Poh Koon’s 12,856 to become the first female opposition member to win a single member constituency since 1965.

Former Nominated Member of Parliament Siew Kum Hong was also surprised at the nearly 11 per cent winning margin, saying that it sent out a clear message that the ground was shifting – and not in favour of the PAP.

“The size of the margin emphasises how unhappy voters continue to be. It’s clear that voters continue to be angry about issues like housing prices, public transport, COE prices, and the AIM issue,” he said.

He admitted that he had thought it would be too close to call but "the size of the swing was a surprise”, considering that WP's Lee Li Lian managed only 41 per cent of votes when she contested the same ward at the 2011 General Elections.

Eugene Tan, assistant law professor at Singapore Management University, said the "stunning" margin of victory would have surprised the WP itself.

"A 13% increase in votes for the WP in a mere 20 months does suggest that all is not well for the PAP," said the current NMP.

'Demographics helped swing votes'

The demographics of Punggol East voters, mostly young families with children, drew crucial votes to the Worker’s Party, said the analysts.

“The fact that the electorate in this constituency is young only highlights the serious gaps the party faces in connecting with the electorate in future. The policy tinkering and elitist materialist approach is not working,” said Welsh.

Tan said many Punggol East residents are also part of the post-independence generation and therefore "less enamoured of the PAP".

"The message of a strong opposition as a safety net appealed strongly. And then there is the by-election effect in which voters were less constrained in their choices because the outcome would not result in any change of government," he added.

On the other hand, Singapore Democratic Alliance Desmond Lim's and and Reform Party K Jeyaretnam's poor vote shares, at 168 and 353 votes respectively, was "not a surprising result" for Siew.

“I think the fact that SDA and RP also contested didn’t make a difference,” he said.

What now?

All three analysts also said PAP will have to have a good, hard think about the policies they have lined up since their poor showing at the General Election in 2011.

“They still have up to three years until the next GE, so there is definitely enough time for them to make a difference. The question is whether they have learnt the right lessons from GE2011 and this by-election,” said Siew, who added that key issues like public housing and transport would have to be tackled and solid policies introduced.

Tan said the PAP had much to do to stem the "political bleeding" and that the ruling party had to find a way to "excite" the voters vis-a-vis their vision and policies for the country.

"How to stop the PAP's political vulnerability from being seen as normal is a key matter that it needs to deal with. Once electoral defeats of the PAP become normalised and are seen as no big deal, then the PAP's political longevity will be severely challenged," cautioned Tan.

WP, on the other hand, will need to step up to make sure that they give their voters what they promises – a louder and alternative voice in Parliament. With Lee joining their ranks, WP will now have a total of nine representatives -- six from Aljunied and Hougang, one from Punggol East and two NCMPs.

It also "shortened the runway" for the WP to grow to contest in every seat in future elections, said Tan.

“They will have to be more active on issues, and this boost will likely give WP more confidence to set the agenda and engage issues,” said Wels

The term "FIRE ALARM" is too modest

It should be TSUNAMI instead

Never underestimate the political brilliance of LTK. He is an extremely shrewd politician - the kind that has cards up his sleeve. There is reason for everything he says and does.

He is 1 guy that I truly respect.

To me he is WP and WP is him

From a single seat, he struggled and fought his way to what is WP today

unlike that AUTO PROMOTE PEE AIM

The result of this PE BE is a fire alarm for the PAP. If it wants to continue to stay in power, it is better for the party to do a total over-haul and it should not continue to rest its laurel and be complacent. The fire alarm has been sounded for some time and if it goes unheeded, the whole house, the whole country will be on fire. That will be a catastrophe for all Singaporeans.

can start by clearing out the sycophants :p:p:p

The ground is shifting, people of different age groups & era are fed up & they will & have already channeled this frustrations into "whom do you think, they vote for"????
many are waking up to the rottenness of the pap.....the greed, hypocrisy, incompetence, leegalized corruption, complacency, cronyism, abuse of power and position, injustice, lack of accountability......feel free to add to the list.

Fire Alarm ? What is there to be alarmed about :confused:

It is obvious, because the citizens in their middle ages know that OUR hard-earned Cpf money is not given back to us at age 55 any longer !!!:mad:

The silly thing is, having the sex scandal and taking M Palmer down almost immediaely should have been a credit for the PAP in Punggol.

The result in Punggol has little to do with how the BE came about or even the so called River Vale Plaza saga.

It was a eroding support and increasing resentment of the ppl who wear white.

For the last few years, I had noticed a great embrassment for common folks if they are associated with the party in any way.

This can only be that what the party used to represent is not longer something worthy or proud to be associated with.

Their image at the ground in reality has been so eroded with each passing year that their own grass rooters and public media, who consistently present a false positive front made the leaders no longer WANT TO ADMIT or believe that how they have been running the country is not well perceived by the common folks,

High cost of living, foreigners invading every aspect of their lives and essential services like health care and transport being run like profit centres.

The PAP would have come to the same conclusion of such reasons after the May 2011 GE.

But apparently they don't learn or probably would not want to.

Fire Alarm ? What is there to be alarmed about :confused:

It is obvious, because the citizens in their middle ages know that OUR hard-earned Cpf money is not given back to us at age 55 any longer !!!:mad:

you are great! i just love your cpf slogan!!:)

They will never hear the fire alarm, let the fire burn down PAP

Maybe they just heard the alarm - the PM today said they lacked 20/20 foresight with the new developments. He stopped short of apologising.

bro,
how to check and verify?

Is it important to check or verify. No point in trying to figure out mentally damaged Leegime dogs. They cannot even verify what and who they are themselves. So who are you to even begin to try?

the threadstarter ilovesingapore aka kopiuncle is one of them...........................

another great intellectual disappointment
from the heights of the ivory tower
jw5 stumbles and plunges into the quagmire
with inflated ego and self-centred arrogance
his flawed perception has turned him into an idiot
his words become stale - cunning man and sycophant
even his profanity is bearing its ugly head
what an intellectual snob and an utter flop

bro,
how to check and verify?

you are very wise bro zhihau
one must check and verify
before accusing forummers here of fraud and hypocrisy
jw5 is the number one intellectual flop here
his ego and arrogance have destroyed his credibility
his profanity and vulgarity too have reared their ugly head
using expletives that are painful to the ears
he has gone senile with these passing years

my apologies, bro
occupational hazard, the inquiry method is the method me know :o:o:o

Scientific thing can disprove wan yes. You not like Pung Sai Yong Pung How who claim he can read your thoughts. I do not think you always know your interim or final thoughts are on every issue, but Pung Sai Yong can tell. Wah, he is talking religion in court man. Inquiry is better spent on studying the correlation of 8 million with GDP growth, COE prices, traffic jams, birth rates, unemployment of citizens, crime rate, health index, salaries, Leegime bonuses. This you do for us lah. I too lazy to enter into excel sheet to generate.