• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Finding Strategy When there is none.

If there is opposition unity, there will not be a 3CF. As there is a MCF (presumably), there is no opposition unity, so you have to whack the rest. Incidentally I don't know whether Dr Chee realises that his two potential candidates are actually more appropriate for GRC then an SMC?

Obviously in-keeping with its ultra-idealism, demographics appears not to matter for the SDP even as one of its supporters has gone round SBF like a mad dog ranting about demographics.

If there is opposition unity, there will not be a 3CF. As there is a MCF (presumably), there is no opposition unity, so you have to whack the rest. Incidentally I don't know whether Dr Chee realises that his two potential candidates are actually more appropriate for GRC then an SMC?

Well that is true. When you have a 3CF, then the entire game changes. It is no longer about winning the seat. It's about verbally whacking the PAP, it is about battle practice for the parties, a test of doing what is required to put up a show, putting your people on a stage in front of tens of thousands of people and making a speech. Which I have never done before but is probably one hell of an experience. Then it is no longer a war, it is a war game in preparation for 2016.

These opportunities to practice are very rare. Ever heard of 养兵千日,用在一时?

Well that is true. When you have a 3CF, then the entire game changes. It is no longer about winning the seat. It's about verbally whacking the PAP, it is about battle practice for the parties, a test of doing what is required to put up a show, putting your people on a stage in front of tens of thousands of people and making a speech. Which I have never done before but is probably one hell of an experience. Then it is no longer a war, it is a war game in preparation for 2016.

None of this can be even remotely true. Speaking in front of thousands of people is no big deal when you are reading from a prepared script. It is when you are not reading from a prepared script that you are likely to trip up.

Then why dun you fucking go out there and do it?

It's the whole experience. The meeting people, the exposure, the organisation, the shaking 1000 hands a day, the kissing babies for the camera, the organising armies of volunteers, the setting up lights, writing the scripts. Getting feedback on how your message is received.

Everything. No amount of money can buy you this experience. They don't care about tripping up the other opposition parties. This is mainly about them growing and developing as a political organisation.

If it is more than 3CF, then the strategy from the other parties, besides PAP and WP, is for media exposure, party branding and preparation for the big one in GE2016.

PAP is the incumbent so they must be in. (Although no more incumbent becoz the fella resigned so it is vacant seat). WP is seriously thinking they could win being there before.

I don't think the other parties have any chance even SDP. Wondered if NSP and SPP dropped out would have cost them some media points? No one remember a nice guy, only winners, if you think they score a bit by showing opposition unity not to compete on WP turf. In fact, whose turf, isn't it PAP turf to begin with? Why got play chope meh?

Most people talked about having one opposition party to compete so all the opposing voters will vote them and not PAP. Maybe, maybe not. Not all opposition are the same.

However, first past the post voting will ensure MCF as detrimental to any alternative party, a preferential voting system will favour a multi-corner fight, as even getting a majority first choice votes will not ensure victory due to secondary preferential votes (voters are required to number all the candidates in order of preference).

Actually it is even harder to do it in parliament as you have to take questions on your script. What if your script is written by some expert and not yourself?