• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Finally they admit that there is more immgrant !

congo9

Finally this Malaysia FT minister admit that the influx of immgrant is causing the strain on our health care system ! I thought singaporean are hogging A&E for the slightest reason accroding to ST !

If he has the foresight , he would not have this problem ! Million Dollar salary for him ? Or PAP sensing the ground is not sweet any more , and need to be in tune with the ground , trying to sweeten the ground a bit. All these has been happening for all to see in the NET and it all oveer the place , but why only admit now ?

Same as not going to turn on the NEW 6 ERP gantry ! But beware, something is up in their sleeve !

Finally he said that the budget for Health care is not enough any more, So what has to go ? I think the budget for MINDEF has to make way !

==========================================================
Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan has said that Singapore's budget on healthcare will have to increase.

But individuals must also be prepared to foot the bill if they want better care.

The recent crowding of the emergency services at hospitals could have been anticipated, according to Mr Khaw.

He said with a sharp increase in immigrants, plans to build more hospitals should have been put in place earlier.

Speaking at a forum on Wednesday, Mr Khaw said: "If Khoo Teck Puat hospital were to be opened already this year, I think life on the ground would have been a lot better. But we cannot change history, and that is why we are going all out to make sure we open on time in early 2010. And we are also beginning to plan for the Jurong Hospital in the West."

The other hot topic at the forum was the national healthcare budget.

Singapore currently spends about 4 per cent of its gross domestic product (GDP) on healthcare and some doctors feel this number is too low compared to other developed countries.

The US spends 16 per cent of its GDP on healthcare, while in Japan, the figure is 9 per cent.

Responding to this, Mr Khaw said the healthcare budget will have to be raised to about 5 per cent.

He said: "Are we individually not prepared to spend up to 15 per cent of our income on health for ourselves and our family? And if at the individual level (it is) 15 per cent, at the national level it will probably translate to about 8 per cent, 9 per cent, and I think that is a fair allocation of resources.

"But the fear is that expectations can overshoot, and when you do not have to co-pay some of the costs, it can overshoot even faster. We are different from the American and British system in that we emphasise a lot more on personal responsibility. We will pick up the bulk of the bill, but forcing you to pay even 10 per cent, 20 per cent of the bill makes a huge difference to behaviour."

The forum took place at the launch of a SingHealth book on the medical profession. - CNA/ms

nexus

Got all the money to invest here and there, selling off the power stations but how come builidng a hospital must wait till so long? Are the lives of sporeans so worthless?

So much so that a local singaporean feels like a 2nd class citizen in their own country. with such a govt in power, this country does not need any opposition to ruin it. The smart ass who are paid lots will ruin it.

when the country sink who will be the ones to run road? No need to guess the elites and million dollar smart ass will be the first to go.

Dun blame him. Yes, he is incompetent. But he is there becos of sinkie voters. Blame the sinkies.

Loofydralb

Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan has said that Singapore's budget on healthcare will have to increase.

But individuals must also be prepared to foot the bill if they want better care.

KNN this idiot talk like a snake.

Want to increase budget but want you to pay.

Is he implying that Singaporeas have no sense of responsibility when he says that US and UK systems are different?

madmansg

you can spend zero percent on health care by keeping fit and eating sparingly like a only one package of maggee mee for lunch and dinner. THis is the okinawa diet singapore style.

Wobble

eat like that kidney later got problemm...hehe

but really...everytime i send my kids to KK its $75 charge...damn sianz