Finally some good news for the antivaxxers...

Aiyah. I am a dr. Trained to be spineless. Find common ground with every patient.

Consider each person ideas concerns and expectations. Must respect their individual choice. Acknowledge. Have empathy. Encourage. Work with them not against.

Must make SMC proud. Correct or not? Can ask SMC disciplinary committee lawyers members. ?
Lawyers probably make up 80% of the anti vaxx dimwits.

They control SMC. Meaning they control the ability of all drs to make a living.

Dun play play.
Indeed. Medical practice is now determined by lawyers and insurance underwriters.

Lawyers determines what therapy you can offer, insurance determines which cheap panel doctor and cheap therapy the client receives

The public has no idea how fucked they are. And still they pay insurance premium

Indeed. Medical practice is now determined by lawyers and insurance underwriters.

Lawyers determines what therapy you can offer, insurance determines which cheap panel doctor and cheap therapy the client receives

The public has no idea how fucked they are. And still they pay insurance premium
Yeah but public fuck drs when they not happy not lawyers that make the decisions. Lol!

No vaccine for HIV because retroviruses mutate as quickly as a KTV Vietbu changes customer

No vaccine for common cold for similar reasons, but there are yearly boosters

No vaccine for cancer because most cancers are caused by gene mutation and deletions, not by viruses. There are now vaccines available for cervical cancers caused by HPV.

yes this vaccine is rushed. the fact remains mRNA does not linger beyond a few seconds and does not alter DNA

Your point is what? Perpetual lockdown? Your lady PM is already crumbling under pressure.

mRNA technology advancements are for treating cancers and not just those caused by viruses.

The key to an HIV vaccine is in mRNA tech but it will never be as as lucrative as Covid so it will forever be on the back burner. Companies have figured that they can probably make more money from a treatment rather than a prevention strategy.

My point has never been about lockdowns or vaccines. I think we should just let it rip, kill off those that are susceptable and move on.

January 25, 2021

Can mRNA vaccines be used in cancer care?​

BY Devon Carter

The COVID-19 vaccines mark the first widespread use of mRNA technology. They work by using synthetic genetic code to instruct the patient’s cells to recognize the coronavirus and activate the immune system against the virus.

But researchers began exploring how to use mRNA vaccines as a new way to treat cancer long before this technology was used against the coronavirus.
We've known about this technology for a long time, well before COVID-19,” says Van Morris, M.D. Here, he explains how mRNA vaccines work and how a team of MD Anderson colorectal cancer experts led by Scott Kopetz, M.D., Ph.D., are testing the technology in a Phase II clinical trial.

What is mRNA?

Messenger RNA – known as mRNA – are genetic instructions for our cells. “mRNA serves as a code to make proteins,” Morris says. Proteins are needed for cellular functions inside our bodies, including growth, energy production and defense against illnesses.

mRNA technology is a strand of mRNA created in a lab that prompts the recipient’s cells to create protein fragments that are based on the “non-self” DNA characteristics of the vaccine’s target. When recognized, the protein fragments trigger a response from the patient’s immune system. “The protein fragments created from the mRNA signal are recognized by the immune system as foreign,” Morris says. “The immune system kills those cells and says, ‘I'm going to see if I can find any other cells in the body with these foreign proteins and kills those, too.’”

In the case of the COVID-19 vaccines, the mRNA causes the recipient’s cells to produce the spike protein from the SARS-CoV-2 virus. The immune system then recognizes the spike as “not self” and produces another type of protein called antibodies. These defend the body against the coronavirus.

Could mRNA technology prevent colorectal cancer recurrence?

A team of international researchers is working to test whether mRNA technology could prevent colorectal cancer from recurring.

The standard treatment for many colorectal cancer patients is surgery, but cancer cells can remain in the body after the tumor is removed. These remaining cancer cells shed DNA into the bloodstream, which is referred to as circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA).

A clinical trial led by Morris and Kopetz is following high-risk patients with stage II or stage III colorectal cancer who test positive for circulating tumor DNA after surgery.

The presence of circulating tumor DNA is checked with a blood test. “If there is ctDNA present, it can mean that a patient is at higher risk for the cancer coming back,” Morris says.

He says that the opposite can also be true: if there is not circulating tumor DNA present, the patient may have a lower risk of recurrence.

Personalizing an mRNA vaccine for mutations that cause cancer

In the Phase II clinical trial, enrolled patients start chemotherapy after the tumor is surgically removed. Tissue from the tumor is sent off to a specialized lab, where it’s tested to look for genetic mutations that fuel the cancer’s growth.

Morris says anywhere from five to 20 mutations specific to that patient’s tumor can be identified during testing. The mutations are then prioritized by the most common to the least common, and an mRNA vaccine is created based on that ranking. “Each patient on the trial receives a personalized mRNA vaccine based on their individual mutation test results from their tumor,” Morris says.

As with the COVID-19 vaccines, the mRNA instructs the patient’s cells to produce protein fragments based off tumor’s genetic mutations identified during testing. The immune system then searches for other cells with the mutated proteins and clears out any remaining circulating tumor cells.
“We’re hopeful that with the personalized vaccine, we’re priming the immune system to go after the residual tumor cells, clear them out and cure the patient,” says Morris.

A leader in circulating tumor DNA

MD Anderson researchers are hopeful for the future of circulating tumor DNA. “It’s an evolving technology,” says Morris. “It’s new and exciting, and we know it can help us predict which patients are at a high risk of recurrence.”

Morris says this clinical trial is one of many exploring this new approach. “MD Anderson is a world leader in colorectal clinical trials for ctDNA,” he adds. “No matter your stage of disease, we have a new trial potentially for you.”
Request an appointment at MD Anderson online or by calling 1-877-632-6789.

January 25, 2021

Can mRNA vaccines be used in cancer care?​

BY Devon Carter

The COVID-19 vaccines mark the first widespread use of mRNA technology. They work by using synthetic genetic code to instruct the patient’s cells to recognize the coronavirus and activate the immune system against the virus.

But researchers began exploring how to use mRNA vaccines as a new way to treat cancer long before this technology was used against the coronavirus.
We've known about this technology for a long time, well before COVID-19,” says Van Morris, M.D. Here, he explains how mRNA vaccines work and how a team of MD Anderson colorectal cancer experts led by Scott Kopetz, M.D., Ph.D., are testing the technology in a Phase II clinical trial.

What is mRNA?

Messenger RNA – known as mRNA – are genetic instructions for our cells. “mRNA serves as a code to make proteins,” Morris says. Proteins are needed for cellular functions inside our bodies, including growth, energy production and defense against illnesses.

mRNA technology is a strand of mRNA created in a lab that prompts the recipient’s cells to create protein fragments that are based on the “non-self” DNA characteristics of the vaccine’s target. When recognized, the protein fragments trigger a response from the patient’s immune system. “The protein fragments created from the mRNA signal are recognized by the immune system as foreign,” Morris says. “The immune system kills those cells and says, ‘I'm going to see if I can find any other cells in the body with these foreign proteins and kills those, too.’”

In the case of the COVID-19 vaccines, the mRNA causes the recipient’s cells to produce the spike protein from the SARS-CoV-2 virus. The immune system then recognizes the spike as “not self” and produces another type of protein called antibodies. These defend the body against the coronavirus.

Could mRNA technology prevent colorectal cancer recurrence?

A team of international researchers is working to test whether mRNA technology could prevent colorectal cancer from recurring.

The standard treatment for many colorectal cancer patients is surgery, but cancer cells can remain in the body after the tumor is removed. These remaining cancer cells shed DNA into the bloodstream, which is referred to as circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA).

A clinical trial led by Morris and Kopetz is following high-risk patients with stage II or stage III colorectal cancer who test positive for circulating tumor DNA after surgery.

The presence of circulating tumor DNA is checked with a blood test. “If there is ctDNA present, it can mean that a patient is at higher risk for the cancer coming back,” Morris says.

He says that the opposite can also be true: if there is not circulating tumor DNA present, the patient may have a lower risk of recurrence.

Personalizing an mRNA vaccine for mutations that cause cancer

In the Phase II clinical trial, enrolled patients start chemotherapy after the tumor is surgically removed. Tissue from the tumor is sent off to a specialized lab, where it’s tested to look for genetic mutations that fuel the cancer’s growth.

Morris says anywhere from five to 20 mutations specific to that patient’s tumor can be identified during testing. The mutations are then prioritized by the most common to the least common, and an mRNA vaccine is created based on that ranking. “Each patient on the trial receives a personalized mRNA vaccine based on their individual mutation test results from their tumor,” Morris says.

As with the COVID-19 vaccines, the mRNA instructs the patient’s cells to produce protein fragments based off tumor’s genetic mutations identified during testing. The immune system then searches for other cells with the mutated proteins and clears out any remaining circulating tumor cells.
“We’re hopeful that with the personalized vaccine, we’re priming the immune system to go after the residual tumor cells, clear them out and cure the patient,” says Morris.

A leader in circulating tumor DNA

MD Anderson researchers are hopeful for the future of circulating tumor DNA. “It’s an evolving technology,” says Morris. “It’s new and exciting, and we know it can help us predict which patients are at a high risk of recurrence.”

Morris says this clinical trial is one of many exploring this new approach. “MD Anderson is a world leader in colorectal clinical trials for ctDNA,” he adds. “No matter your stage of disease, we have a new trial potentially for you.”
Request an appointment at MD Anderson online or by calling 1-877-632-6789.
Wearing your doctor or researcher hat and putting down your pimp hat?

But you're not sending out the right messages..
You're doing more harm than good.
I keep telling him the same thing but he keeps thinking he is smarter than everyone in this world and even thinks countries are listening to his totally shit advice that even a 5 year old will know is wrong. :rolleyes:

This is starting to sound like a standard SGH morbidity & mortality round

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/edmo...fter-refusing-to-wear-mask-in-court-1.6138002

According to the official transcript, Carminati told Royal he would have to wear a mask. Royal told the judge he wouldn't:

Royal: I don't wear a mask in the courtroom.

Judge: You will have to wear one. We are not spending three days together in a small courtroom in a poorly ventilated building with counsel not wearing a mask.

Royal: Well I'm not going to wear one, so what are you going to do about that?

Judge: Well perhaps you can speak to counsel about whether you will be held in contempt of court ... I will adjourn to let you think about it.

Royal: I don't intend to follow your direction. We're more than six feet apart. I've been doubly vaccinated.

Judge: Are you saying you are free to disobey a ruling of the court or a direction of the court if you think the reasons for it aren't great?

Royal: I do.

You see how satki this lawyer is? Lawyer is the best lah. From all perspectives. When it comes to fighting disciplinary action and disciplinary hearing they are fucking TRAINED IT FOR IT.

And if they decide fuck this I am going to break some serious ethical shit and retire forever. Also CAN! Arrange some deal be trustee for some big sale of mansion or business maybe $10m......THEN FUCKING RUN AWAY WITH THE MONEY send it all over the world hide until damn shiok. See David Rasif......

Dr......you wanna cheat.....also how to cheat so solid until can retire boom beep beep? Talk cock lah.

The GS one right?

LOL! Yeah lor. Sam sound like Prof Soo KC.

All the egos.
SGH GS M&M was like gladiatorial combat. Mano a Mano. The bloodbath was pretty exciting to watch.

wonder if things are still the same

nowadays with the strawberry gen gooniang residents it’s probably a warm hug and a good cry before posting on Instagram

SGH GS M&M was like gladiatorial combat. Mano a Mano. The bloodbath was pretty exciting to watch.

wonder if things are still the same

nowadays with the strawberry gen gooniang residents it’s probably a warm hug and a good cry before posting on Instagram

Hmm during my time as an MO there......learned that M&M is highly political. The way it worked was Prof would look at list of cases and choose those he thinks got some problem one. Eg stay too long for simple lap chole..... or stay very long...or young patient with strange diagnosis not typical got learning value.

I presented a few times. Remember there was one case the consultant will check with me and said let me see your presentation first. basically the idea was to present in such a way that Prof Soo will NOT catch the mistake or the screw up make it look like it was not so bad etc. My strategy was to often highlight latest research or new development around the diagnosis and procedure so the discussion moved into that direction rather than focus on the specific patient and his or her outcome etc. It worked! I made a few consultants relieved and happy.

"Dont say ACTUALLY". Prof loved to catch MOs saying that word so many times.

Then I realized why we all MOs keep saying "Actually....." Cos I dont say the word myself usually but during some presentations I found myself saying it a few times!

Why?

When someone keeps saying "Actually......this.......Actually that....." They are trying to cover something up or trying to say something that is not quite the total transparent fact.

I know that Prof knows this.

So next time you hear someone keep saying "actually" he is lying a lot to you.