• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious FAS & Gahmen can't even agree on basics of 2034 World Cup approach

SINGAPORE — The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) has said its ambition to qualify for the 2034 World Cup must be the “goal of the country”, and was surprised that the Government did not feel the same.
The association was responding to comments in Parliament on Friday (March 6) that the government does not share its ambition to have a team qualify for the 2034 World Cup.

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/fas-surprised-2034-world-cup-ambition-not-goal-government

And we all sit here and wonder why football is not making headway.
For perspective, we are now ranked 162nd

Hello....we have not even settled the Lau Goh Swiss Standard of Living and we are now talking about 2034 World Cup?

Not sure if it was a typo.
Were they referring to 2304?

hello dun just set goals for the sake of shiok shiok , knowing full well it will never be achieved. dun sia suay ownself. go hoard toilet paper also not so sia suay

why the obsession ? sg will not succeed when the national players pool depends on just m&ds, 12% of the population. foreign players scheme again ? they have to be of higher standards to supplement the locals unlike last time when those players were simply not good enough against the better asian teams.

PAP will associate themselves with Football (or anything) only after we actually achieve something; Joseph Schooling is a great example. For as far as football is concerned, this will never happen.

2034 I think 75% of world population kenna wipeout by covid19 liao

Politicians and bureaucrats should stay out of sports. Particularly those from totalitarian shitholes. Too much meddling and red tape.

Look at Tiongland. They got Lippi as the coach. Even he left his job in disgust.

Chinaman claimed to have invented Football but among the billions can’t even have a decent team

Can't blame them. Parachute from army go there no budget for rnr jiak hong and Herman miller chairs very lao qwee. :unsure:

You have to start them young and send them overseas to countries with established academies if you're aspiring to attain world class level. The Japs and Koreans are doing it and I don't see why Sin City can't do the same. You have to widen the catchment for promising talent between the ages 12-16 and not confine it to locals. It's a long term investment. IMHO, they don't have the will to achieve lofty goals. they just want quick fixes and instantaneous gratification.

You can't depend on PAP government to push for sporting glory. We are only good at Rental seeking , taxing our own citizen.
Anyway kids or adult to be in future will be good for only NS and pay tax. If not they aren't any good.

You can't depend on PAP government to push for sporting glory. We are only good at Rental seeking , taxing our own citizen.
Anyway kids or adult to be in future will be good for only NS and pay tax. If not they aren't any good.

They will push for it, but only as a means to demonstrate how wonderful its rule is. And it will be the same top-down bureaucratic approach again, the usual method of dictatorships.

big deal skolars oredi c 2 steps ahead dat sinkielan cannot make it ...

if dey say iz 'gol of cuntry' n den later cannot achief gol, gahmen no face ... so dey say iz fas gol lor ...

ofcos, if late fas achief their gol, den gahmen wil b double quik 2 jump out n craim credit ...

The biggest interests in FAS is to run jackpot machines.
The biggest interests in Sports Singapore is to hire army officers, do nothing but play women.

How to that alighn to achieving World Cup qualification?