• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Farming on State Land

Leckmichamarsch

Over-zealous SLA officers wasted our money by getting subcontractors stripping the forested land in my backyard of privately planted banana trees, coconut trees, tapioca, etc.....

In this case there was NO prior complaint of smoke from burning leaves and branches! The planted trees and shrubs give better looks & provide more oxygen than the previous bare grass patched land.
Why do we have dumbshits in SLA who can figure out the basic difference between the Clementi farms and ours? In Clementi why can the farmers be left alone esp when they are pledging no more burning.......???

We pay so much money to big wigs in gahmen to enforce stupid rules! Sad!

What is the difference of such practise from Tree Planting Day??? Isn't the objective the same?

LKY: you started tree planting day.... so it is appropriate now for you to open your big mouth else voters of Aljunied shall regret????

If you are driving along Marymount Road, take a look at Whitely Secondary School. Next to this school are private homes. There is a tiny strip of land separating the 2, around 1 to 2 meters. The PAP gov't has a sign to remind people that it's state land:eek:

I wonder why they bother wasting $ on the sign? In Spore "lesser mortals" know better than to take anything that is owned by the Lees:rolleyes:

Unrepented

Me think your banana tree cause the death of the rest of the trees. Because banana tree helps breed mosquitos. Once, they see banana trees, they came to chop, then see the rest also chop, otherwise how to cover their backside:confused:

Also some type of trees are not meant to be grown near each other. If govt plan for some type of trees, your tree and their tree conflict, you tree goes.:p

In a nutshell, this is what moi thinks.:o

Over-zealous SLA officers wasted our money by getting subcontractors stripping the forested land in my backyard of privately planted banana trees, coconut trees, tapioca, etc.....

In this case there was NO prior complaint of smoke from burning leaves and branches! The planted trees and shrubs give better looks & provide more oxygen than the previous bare grass patched land.
Why do we have dumbshits in SLA who can figure out the basic difference between the Clementi farms and ours? In Clementi why can the farmers be left alone esp when they are pledging no more burning.......???

What is the difference of such practise from Tree Planting Day??? Isn't the objective the same?

LKY: you started tree planting day.... so it is appropriate now for you to open your big mouth else voters of Aljunied shall regret????

Leckmichamarsch

Me think your banana tree cause the death of the rest of the trees. Because banana tree helps breed mosquitos. Once, they see banana trees, they came to chop, then see the rest also chop, otherwise how to cover their backside:confused:

Also some type of trees are not meant to be grown near each other. If govt plan for some type of trees, your tree and their tree conflict, you tree goes.:p

In a nutshell, this is what moi thinks.:o

Sehr gut but try thinking with dein kopf

Some one must bring this matter to parliament. If the land is not in use just let the resident nearby to plant some vege/fruit..........all small plant.

Leckmichamarsch

Some one must bring this matter to parliament. If the land is not in use just let the resident nearby to plant some vege/fruit..........all small plant.

LKY has same idea when he hatched National Tree planting day. Amongst others he has said fruit trees when planted provide fruits to Singaporeans............ nobody give a shit to him anymore????????

Govt to facilitate more long-term, long-lease sites for international schools
By Sharon See | Posted: 21 March 2012 2246 hrs
Photos 1 of 1<INPUT id=btnPrev disabled value="<< Previous" src="/images/butt_previous.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image><INPUT id=bntPlay value="Play - Stop" src="/images/butt_stop.gif" width=19 height=15 type=image><INPUT id=btnNext disabled value=" Next >> " src="/images/butt_next.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
dotline_240.gif

The Canadian International School's second campus in Lakeside

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!-- for social media sharing functions -->

<fb:like class=" fb_edge_widget_with_comment fb_iframe_widget" layout="button_count" show_faces="false" href="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1190446/1/.html" ref=".T2uD89-KAiE.like" action="recommend" font="arial" width="120"><IFRAME style="BORDER-BOTTOM: medium none; BORDER-LEFT: medium none; WIDTH: 130px; HEIGHT: 21px; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: medium none" id=f204539c3d45b56 class=fb_ltr title="Like this content on Facebook." src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?action=recommend&channel_url=https%3A%2F%2Fs-static.ak.fbcdn.net%2Fconnect%2Fxd_proxy.php%23cb%3Df17ba1c94b62663%26relation%3Dparent.parent&extended_social_context=false&font=arial&href=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1190446%2F1%2F.html&layout=button_count&locale=en_US&node_type=1&ref=.T2uD89-KAiE.like&sdk=joey&show_faces=false&width=130" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency name=f153feeeecc110e scrolling=no></IFRAME></fb:like>

<IFRAME style="WIDTH: 115px; HEIGHT: 20px" class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter Tweet Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.1332442903.html#_=1332446196248&count=horizontal&counturl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1190446%2F1%2F.html&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1190446%2F1%2F.html&size=m&text=Govt%20to%20facilitate%20more%20long-term%2C%20long-lease%20sites%20for%20international%20schools%20-%20Channel%20NewsAsia%3A&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.channelnewsasia.com%2Fstories%2Fsingaporelocalnews%2Fview%2F1190446%2F1%2F.html%23.T2uD8wDrfhg.twitter&via=AddThis" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no></IFRAME>

inShare0

<TBODY> </TBODY>
<!-- END social media sharing functions -->

SINGAPORE: The government will facilitate more long-term, long-lease sites for international schools. Opening the Canadian International School's second campus in Lakeside, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, S Iswaran, said international schools add diversity to Singapore's education landscape.

The Canadian International School may provide a global education but it is also looking for ways to connect with local schools.

Glenn Odland, head of the Canadian International School, said: "We put on a performance last night, the middle school had a dramatic performance, and we invited the Shuqun Primary School, they came over. We started a dialogue with our neighbours to see how we can share athletic spaces, and we look for ways like that where we can integrate with the Singapore public school system."

The Canadian International School has come a long way, having started with just six teachers and six students 22 years ago. The new campus in Lakeside now has some 1,800 students, and the school hopes to accommodate 3,300 students within three to five years.

At its opening, Minister S Iswaran commended the school for the vigour of the student body and the way it has engaged the Singapore community.

He said: "Many communities come here and live together in harmony and pursue their dreams. And that is an aspiration that we continue to nurture in our society. And you, as a part of that community, are contributing to the evolution of that tapestry in Singapore.

"We have focused a great deal on ensuring that we continue to be able to attract good people to come here to live, to work, to make it their home if they so desire. And the foreign system schools play a very important role in that regard for us, because we're an international hub, because we're a known global diaspora. We value diversity in the education system that we have."

Mr Iswaran said Singapore and Canada also share many commonalities, including the commitment to education, the pursuit of excellence and multi-culturalism.

Govt to facilitate more long-term, long-lease sites for international schools
By Sharon See | Posted: 21 March 2012 2246 hrs

SINGAPORE: The government will facilitate more long-term, long-lease sites for international schools. Opening the Canadian International School's second campus in Lakeside, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, S Iswaran, said international schools add diversity to Singapore's education landscape........

In land scarce Spore they must ration land. It's all about the PAP's & not the "lesser mortal's" priorities.

1. tsk tsk tsk.
2. elite sheep have nothing much to do mah!
3. must action to prove self-worthiness & productivity.
4. what's the big issue growing some trees & vegetables on such plot.
5. besides, most of such individuals are retirees & matured.
6. something meaningful, objective & communal! stupid sheep!

Many residents in Aljunied GRC who are staying on the ground floor unit are starting to plant fruit trees just outside their flat.

No complain and everyone is happy. The kids at least get to see how the plants grow and appreciate the food they eat.

Raiders

Told you all to learn from me to do hydroponics and aeroponics in your pigeon cage liao. Im trying to turn my utility room into a small garden :biggrin:

Nice-Gook

Excellent thread.Up your points.

Having traveled to extreme places on this planet; I had developed 2 keen interest.History and farming.My particular interest lies in horticulture.Hence whatever Sinkies are doing here is not farming but horticulture.Hence the SLA itself does not know what they are talking about.

In my free time,apart from arguing in forums like this,:biggrin:.....I wonder around Singapore looking for all kinds of flora and fona beneficial to humankind.My special interest lies in identifying uncharted plants/shrubs and etc used by TCM experts.And there are many right here in our own doors.Such as natural Viagra and cancer cure plants.Obviously these have not undergone rigorous research by scientists yet.But a few were done justice by NUS/NTU and Universati of Malaya on a thesis basis.Nothing more.

I also have some interest on Indian based Ayurveda medicinal plants found in Singapore.But far more research papers are available on these than those found in Singapore.

Teochew community must be particularly given credit for still growing these medicinal plants on potted plant basis and some on state-lands.But most cannot be grown out of a pot.Hence some land is needed;especially those that need ample sunshine whose roots need to go deep.

What PAP is doing is destroying the value and our heritage of these medicinal plants still remembered and grown by our pioneer generation..Since PAP's landscaping is only limited to growing useless wild trees and plants that is convenient for them to grow and cut.Once I seen these fucktards cutting away a fully grown neem tree and planting another useless,flowerless,fragrance-less,fruit-less tree.What a waste!

Without our older folks growing these rare and medicinal plants such a valuable records would be lost for ever.No thanks to PAP.

Now to the question of state land.The moment you step out of your HDB you are already on state land.In fact you just lease your HDB itself from the state.Hence the word state land is an anomaly.Because unlike other countries almost all the land you see here belongs to the state.Hence no avenue you to grow anything except on state lands.

Raiders

Excellent thread.Up your points.

Having travelled to extreme places on this; I had developed 2 keen interest.History and farming.My particular interest lies in horticulture.Hence whatever Sinkies are doing here is not farming but horticulture.Hence the SLA itself does not know what they are talking about.

Boss, is it possible to grow grapes and strawberries in our hot singapore? Are there any way to do it? I did see watermelon being grown using soil and hydroponics.

Nice-Gook

Boss, is it possible to grow grapes and strawberries in our hot singapore? Are there any way to do it? I did see watermelon being grown using soil and hydroponics.

Yes,that could be done.But Indonesia grows grapes as an industry.And I have personally seen an old teochew lady growing well rounded grapes and it's vines grown right out off her HDB common corridor.Did taste quite good too.Than the fuckinn town council came and cut it off.Not sure about strawberries.But all most anything can be gownure under a green house condition.The problem is PAP does not allow such a land for experimental use.

Sure,there are some small plots of lands allocated by town council for farming.But these are usually run by RC dogs.Who knows nut about horticulture.Everything for show only.

btw.i am just an amateur with keen interest in flora and fona....so pls take whatever i say with a pinch of salt.:smile:

Raiders

Not sure about strawberries.But all most anything can be gownure under a green house condition.The problem is PAP does not allow such a land

Are there any greenshouse in Singapore that is open to the public? There is one in 4 seasons park. Many years ago, when I was dating a indo chinese girl, we used to kiss inside that greenhouse :biggrin:
That greenhouse was nice with alot of beautiful flowers.

Nice-Gook

Are there any greenshouse in Singapore that is open to the public? There is one in 4 seasons park. Many years ago, when I was dating a indo chinese girl, we used to kiss inside that greenhouse :biggrin:
That greenhouse was nice with alot of beautiful flowers.

Are you talking about Cuscadean walk?I am not familiar with these area.

The fact is most older folks and ah peks of our pioneer generation hardly use green houses.They grow what is natural to our soil and climate.My interest is what is medicinal that grows naturally in our soil condition.