[h=2]Minister pledges to ensure dental healthcare remains affordable[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
April 21st, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

Gan_kim_yong-200x300.jpg
Health Minister Gan Kim Yong

Speaking at the Singapore’s Dental Association’s 75th anniversary gala dinner yesterday (20 Apr), Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said his ministry will continue to ensure that dental healthcare remains affordable and accessible to all Singaporeans.
He said he was heartened to learn that Singapore’s Dental Association is working with the Agency for Integrated Care on the Community Health Assist Scheme (CHAS), which allows Singaporeans to seek subsidised treatment at private dental clinics.
Mr Gan said, “The list of dental treatments covered by CHAS has been expanded to include more tertiary dental procedures, such as crowns, dentures and root canal treatment.”
“This could help reduce waiting times at our public hospitals and polyclinics, as eligible patients can enjoy government subsidy even if they are treated at the participating dental clinics. This would bring about greater convenience for Singaporeans.”
CHAS [Link] is one of the Ministry of Health’s programmes to help provide accessible and affordable medical and dental care to Singaporeans. Under CHAS, members receive subsidies for outpatient medical treatments for chronic and/or acute conditions as well as selected dental services at participating CHAS General Practitioners (GPs) and dental clinics near their homes. CHAS members will also enjoy subsidised referrals to specialist outpatient clinics when required.
The qualifying age for CHAS is 40 years old and the qualifying income criteria is $1,500 per capita household monthly income. For instance, a family of four with a total gross monthly household income of $4,500 (per capita household monthly income = $4,500 ÷ 4 = $1,125) will qualify for CHAS, provided that they are Singapore Citizens above 40 years old.
Since the 2011 General Election when the PAP Govt garnered the lowest percentage of winning votes in the history of Singapore and since its consecutive losses in 2 by-elections after the GE, the PAP Govt has been trying to move its policies towards the “left” in its attempt to appease an angry electorate.
This is confirmed by a recent interview DPM Tharman had with the mainstream media. He said, “Now I would say the weight of thinking is left-of-centre. You still get diversity of views in Cabinet, but the centre of gravity is left-of-centre.”
It remains to be seen if such “goodwill” from the PAP Govt will help gain more votes for itself come 2016 GE.
What do you think?
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus

<CITE class=fn>RDB:</CITE>
April 21, 2013 at 9:54 pm RDB(Quote)
The Dental Centre in SGH is a private enterprise. Appointments can go for waiting as long as 1 years for serious tooth ache which can be due to gum and root infections! And wait till gum sugery is imminent? Pay also no can handle? Pay less then can handle faster. So go to private dental clinics lor and pay for instant day service!
Like HDB flats are affordable but take 30 or more years to pay up! So what is meaning of Dental Care Affordability then Gan Kim Yong? You also got another likle nearly 30 other commitment you had bragged in your blog hen you wer MOM minister right! What do ou think of your credibility rating as Health minister now with Singaporeans?

<CITE class=fn>ah kong:</CITE>
April 21, 2013 at 10:06 pm ah kong(Quote)
I read an article from the Straits Times this morning and I was shock that NUS only took in 48 students/year for dentistry knowing very well that there is an acute shortage dentists in Singapore. Is the MOH merciless or ignorante. I would like to know why this is so? Why is it not possible to increase the enrolment?
Low enrolment will result in few dentists serving the society creating a monopoly. This results in high fees charged to patients.
Would the government address this issue? What the F##k the government is doing all these years. Really don’t understand why do we need to wait until 2020, as claimed for NUS to increase the enrolment to 80 per year. We claim that our university is 2nd best in Asia and yet we are only able to produce merely 48 dentists a year for a society of more that 6 millions people. Shame, shame, shame.

<LI id=li-comment-932378 class="comment even thread-even depth-1">

<CITE class=fn>Singapore fooled:</CITE>
April 21, 2013 at 10:11 pm Singapore fooled(Quote)
I cannot accept the word “affordable’. Do they base on Minister’s salary (of nearly $2,000,000, excluding huge perks) on affordability or based on us pleasant, whom earn around $2000 to $3000 a month mostly?

<LI id=li-comment-932385 class="comment odd alt thread-odd thread-alt depth-1">

<CITE class=fn>Kachang Puteh:</CITE>
April 21, 2013 at 10:17 pm Kachang Puteh(Quote)
Rather bogay than bolui.

<CITE class=fn>tc:</CITE>
April 22, 2013 at 12:02 am tc(Quote)
For children who have crooked teeth braces cost abt 4k. Is this affordable ?

Glad this tread came up. Wifey got quoted 1.2k to surgically remove a wisdom tooth in peesai. She did it in less than 10 minutes in JB for 700 ringgit. A taxi driver told her that the polyclinic in JB would cost locals 5 ringgit but maybe they use construction tools like a jigsaw and pliers to remove it.

The govt is doing its best. Blame those who does not take care of their own oral hygiene! Why blame PAP?

The taxi driver is about right. I too was shocked when I heard about it. The gov subsidy is very high. Know a colleague whose Malaysian dad who stays here as a dependent goes back to Malaysia for medical drugs. 15 ringgit compared to SGP 82.

Glad this tread came up. Wifey got quoted 1.2k to surgically remove a wisdom tooth in peesai. She did it in less than 10 minutes in JB for 700 ringgit. A taxi driver told her that the polyclinic in JB would cost locals 5 ringgit but maybe they use construction tools.

The govt is doing its best. Blame those who does not take care of their own oral hygiene! Why blame PAP?

As though PAP supporters don't need oral care. Some PAPies got bad teeth also, but then again they get paid millions and can replace all their teeth with NASA space shuttle ceramics.

Another utter piece of rubbish post. PAP ministers deserve the millions for the excellent job they do for the people of this country who have zero resouces.

Yup they have their millions and still zero resources and your point is?

Another utter piece of rubbish post. PAP ministers deserve the millions for the excellent job they do for the people of this country who have zero resouces.

If Spore has zero resources then the PAP MPs are obviously over paid ;)

The taxi driver is about right. I too was shocked when I heard about it. The gov subsidy is very high. Know a colleague whose Malaysian dad who stays here as a dependent goes back to Malaysia for medical drugs. 15 ringgit compared to SGP 82.

How else smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY got 800++ billions of our money into his Stinkapore sovereign funds to play play with?

EVERYTHING IS EXPENSIVE IN SINGAPORE SO LKY CAN GET HIS FUCKING BILLIONS FROM ALL OF US

Better take care of your oral hygiene..

Too much blowjobbing your PAP idols will make your teeth decay faster..

Maybe you can use your Passion card when you visit the National Dental Centre for your next appointment..

Better take care of your oral hygiene..

Too much blowjobbing your PAP idols will make your teeth decay faster..

Maybe you can use your Passion card when you visit the National Dental Centre for your next appointment..
There is zero logic in your argument. It seems that all Oppo supporters are devoid of sanity.

My Taiwan, Korean and Aussie colleagues will only go to the dentist when they are back home for the holidays as its too expensive here.

I was quoted $5k for a tooth implant here. I think that if I were to fly to any of these countries above to have a tooth implant, I will still have spare change for shopping after deducting all the expenses.