[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
August 3rd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

lhl2013-300x186.jpg

PM Lee Hsien Loong

This is the title of a very depressing post (‘Only 6 interviews for jobless PMET, 53, since Dec 2011‘) in TRE
that I recommend Hsien Loong and all his ministers to read. And I would
recommend that Hsien Loong throw away the National Day Speech he is working on
at the moment and write something with the issues raised in this post. The
comments following the article by a lkh are cries of despair and hopelessness,
and very resentful of the PAP and the govt. And if more and more people are
feeling this way, the PAP is a goner come 2016.

The issue is about the plight of Sinkie PMETs above 45 years old, very
qualified, very experienced, used to earning 5 figure salaries, but who now
cannot find employment. To make matter worse, many have growing up children to
feed and some may also have mortgages to service. Many have been jobless for
years and had to downgrade to cheaper homes.

What makes them angrier is that the country has jobs for more than a million
foreigners, many of whom are less qualified and with a big number having fake
qualifications. A govt that cannot provide jobs for qualified professionals who
are citizens, who are willing to work, who are able, will not last long, not
longer than the next election. The call to ‘Vote Them Out’ is getting
louder.

The problem of the PMETs is a very serious one, a clear and present crisis,
as every PMET has a family and extended family who will know of his plight. If
the Govt still continues to be yaya papaya and tiada apa, and refuses to
acknowledge and deal with this problem immediately, the end of its rule will
come much faster than they think.

With a life expectancy of 80 or even 90 years, and with good medical care and
good quality of life, many are healthy and can continue to work till their 70s.
And many must continue to work as not many have enough savings to retire when
their nest eggs are eaten up by high inflation. 50 or 60 is the prime of their
lives and they should not be cut off from the job market just like that and be
replaced with foreigners.

Is the govt listening? Is Hsien Loong listening? Do they bother? Do they
really think that the people will vote for them again in the next GE while they
keep ignoring the people’s jobless problem? Do they think it is ok to send these
PMETs to be cleaners and security guards or taxi drivers or whatever part time
agents? Is it just a matter of mismatch that their skills and experience can
find no takers and they need to be retrained to be cleaners and security guards
while the questionable skills and experience of foreigners can find a few
hundred thousand jobs here?

Hsien Loong better make his National Day Speech count and address the
unemployment of PMETs now while there is still time to make amends, how to get
them decent jobs that befit their qualifications. An easy task is to freeze all
ministries, stats boards and GLC hiring of foreigners right away and take in all
the Sinkie PMETs immediately. No Sinkie can afford to be unemployed living in
this very expensive city.

I urge Hsien Loong and his ministers to read this post in TRE and the
comments again and again personally. Or is it that they are so used to such
matters that they are no longer sensitive to them, just treat them like all the
patients waiting outside the Emergency units of the hospitals, all equally ill,
desperate and needing immediate medical attention. Just let them be. There are
better things to do, like bringing in more foreigners to replace the older
Sinkies.

The two most important and urgent matters for the govt to deal with are jobs
for jobless PMETs and a home for every Singaporean without all the silly
disqualification rules. Every Singaporean deserves and is entitled to buy his
first flat direct from the govt. This is a social contract the govt owes to the
citizens. With the unbearable high cost of private housing, not allowing Sinkies
to buy from HDB is as good as telling them to move out, unwanted, Singapore has
no place for them.

There is no need to waste the people’s time with a 2 or 3 hour speech that
makes the listeners feel good for a moment but not solving the dire problems of
the people. A short half an hour speech with concrete measures to make the lives
of Sinkies better, get them their jobs and their homes, is more important,
useful and welcome than a long and grandiose speech of
nothingness.

Chua Chin Leng aka
redbean

* The writer blogs at http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com.

[h=2]Only 6 interviews for jobless PMET, 53, since Dec 2011[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
August 2nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

depression_istock_000004741362xsmall-300x280.jpg
Thank you for a well-argued, well-referenced report. Kudos, in
particular, for using info fr “official” sources.

I’m 53, out of job since Dec 2011 I’m more than prepared to work for a
4-figure or half of my previous 5-figure salary. For 19 months now, and
counting, I could only managed around 6 interviews; 4 of which were through
personal references. My guess is that no employer or HR mgr gives my application
letter a second look when they deduce fr my Cv that I am at least in my late 40s
or early 50s.

And I NEVER EVER receive a single response fr any of the govt or statutory
boards where I felt tt my private sector experience would benefit their
organization’s goals. Here, my guess again is that those heads of dept in govt
bodies are mostly still wet behind their years…. and are not confident to hv
someone older reporting to them. The govt, in pushing for continuous
self-renewal, have indirectly built a cult of youth.

Is there any place in my country for someone my age, i wonder?

Yes, i hv one vote. But my wife shares my dilemma. And I HAVE 3 CHILDREN WHO
WILL ALL BE 21 IN 2016. I encourage them to learn from my personal situation…
and vote for their own future such that they do not have to live their lives
under leaders who look after foreigners better than their own father or
themselves.

lkh

Comment first appeared in: Stagnant wages? It’s your own fault according to ST

fxxk those losers, if they have a single grain of intelligent, they would have ship out of singapore years ago, when pap just open the floodgate. Now, they start to complain about it. It is like living next to an volcano and wonder why lava flow into their house.

let these losers live in poverty, serve them right.

<cite class="fn">Haiz:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 6:03 pm
Haiz(Quote)

I am no better. Being 41 years old and having sent out 300 resumes for 1.5
years, I was only given 3 job interviews. These jobs are SO FAR from home!

My friend was a Snr VP in a Bank and was jobless for 6 years, too. Luckily her son is able to give her as mum $500 per mth, by divorcing his own wife.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+27 (from 29 votes)

==
<cite class="fn">Alamak!:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 6:11 pm
Alamak!(Quote)

My friend holds a recognised diploma and in his late 20s now. After searching
high and low for a full-time job for 6 years, he still ended-up being a
part-time instructor. How can he support his baby boy? Luckily, his wife has a
job in the Stat Board to bring home the bacon.

Even my present neighbour who used to be a Snr Engineering Manager, told me
he had to sell his condo in East Coast 5 years ago, to downgrade to a HDB flat
because he has 2 sons (one was 8, the other was 11 years old then) and a wife
who has not been working since marriage.

Believe me! None of them nor their family members would ever vote for
PAP.

Rating:
+39 (from 41 votes)

======

<cite class="fn">RL:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 6:19 pm
RL(Quote)

It is a reality for all Singaporeans, once you are unemployed and aged over
40, it is going to be very difficult t for you to get another job even if you
are prepared to take hefty pay cuts. There are always PRs or FTs who are younger
andvqualified to take over your place. We must have our government to thank for
as no efforts are put in place to put Sporeans first, employers are left to pick
and choose whoever thet want to employ. Percentages of unemployed citizens
increased but immigration of foreigners also increased, what does this tell
you?Gilbert Goh should know many sad stories of how unemployed Sporeans are
struggling with their lives , depressed and stressed. Advice to these poor chaps
are to lower expectations and take up any job that comes along, but even one
would want to , there are always cheaper FTs to beat you to such jobs! With such
a somber situation who would have the mood to listen to LHL’s ND speech which
most know would be empty promises.

========
<cite class="fn">Grr. h . .:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 6:20 pm
Grr. h .
.(Quote)

Useless nincompoop governing this country!

It is a Employers market for the past 5 years. My best friend in the Stat
Board has 2 babies due to late marriage and applied for part-time job in the
legal department. Her boss refused and even threatened her!

So she asked for a transfer since she was in the legal department for more
than 15 years. Her Director was just oo happy to replace her with a
foreigner!

Even my friend from a prestigious Legal firm in Raffles Place had a hard time
applying for a job as a lawyer. He searched high & low BUT manged to find
something lousy in the Stat Board after 8 mths!!!

VA:F [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
+22 (from 24 votes)

=====
<cite class="fn">Yep!:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 6:27 pm
Yep!(Quote)

Got to know a lady in her 40s also jobless for the many years, like me. She
goes around attending talks organised by Calibrelink to know many more jobless
citizens hanging around, too.

If MoM includes the actively searching for jobs people like us as Unemployed,
I am sure the figures would be 20% for those above 40 years old.

======
<cite class="fn">fadingsingaporean:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 6:31 pm
fadingsingaporean(Quote)

Dear lkh, I share the same plight, experience n sentiments. Let us vote the
MIWs out in 2016! Hopefully in 2016 I will be able to exercisey right to vote as
I m in Tanjong Pagar Constituency.

Yes. I hve also tried lower level positions (salary below $1500) but non
successful. Not even a chance for face-to-face interview!

I m now working as a security guard. This one-n-a-half year, I hve seen many
middle age educated Singaporeans (with qualification n vast experiences) joining
the security industry. They r in the same ship! Alas! We middle age Singaporeans
hve a hobson’s choice under the influx of FTs.

Every night when I travelled to the CBD to transit to work. It made me more n
more determined to vote against the MIWs! At the bus stop, u can see a lot of
Indian, PRC n Pinoys FT office workers.

R they really so talented that they overshined our local talents? A lot of
them r staying in rented condominium apartments. They add spice to our lives as
a security guard.

Angmoh FTs
- they will party on weekends getting drunk n bringing
prostitutes back overnight.
- swimming naked in Jacuzzi pool.
- mating in
Jacuzzi pool, steambath n stairway.
- when Angmoh FTs bring their dog for
stroll, they dun bother to pick up their waste.
There is a Angmoh from a
Fortune 500 company in his late 60′s keeping a Vietnamese on student pass as his
kept mistress.

Indian FTs
- dun understand why they must talk so loudly n listen to loud
music.
- allowing their spouse n children swimming in pajamas. Bathing in
Ganges River?

PRC FTs
- even though u can speak their language, they will insist
speaking broken english to u.

A lot more…so called FTs that eventually become part of the 6.9 millions in
Singapore.

======
<cite class="fn">old rocker:</cite>

August
2, 2013 at 7:47 pm
old
rocker(Quote)

All those government talk about employing older workers is pure propoganda. I
am sixty…no white hair, not fat and still very healthy. I have 4 ‘O’ levels
& all the requirements that they need. Yet, when I applied for the post of a
Environmental Health Officer with the Ministry of Environment, they never call
me back. But they keep on advertizing in The Straits Times again & again.

So what happen? All these jobs may just go to young PRs.

For Singaporeans above the age of 45, life is very tough. My vote is reserved
for the opposition in 2016.

======

[h=2]National Day celebration at Hong Lim Park: Reclaiming S’pore for
S’poreans
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
July 30th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

Natonal-day-1-1024x741-300x217.jpg
Transitioning.org is organising a national day celebration
event on August 9th from 4pm to 7pm at speakers’ corner entitled
Reclaiming Back Singapore for Singaporeans.

We hope that this event will gather back the thousands who came for our two
historical events on 16th Feb and 1st May – you came because you love your
country and not anything else.

I know that many Singaporeans are also away for the super long weekend but
those who stay behind hopefully will support our event on national day – we need
your support as always.

We also want to reiterate here that this is not a protest event but an
occasion to celebrate our nation’s birthday – we hope that this event will bring
together thousands of Singaporeans who want to celebrate the occasion with us
together as one nation and have nowhere to go as the NDP celebration is limited
to only the few thousands with tickets.

Our guest speakers include Mr Tan Jee Say, Mr Leong Sze Hian and Mr Ravi
Philemon among others.

We also want to take this opportunity in our event to support
our local cartoonist Leslie Chew who has been charged by the authorities
and
will announce more details later on this
matter.

We hope to celebrate Hari Raya Puasa with our Muslim friends on
that day as well and encourage them to bring along their delicious food so that
we can share of the delicacies together. We will have stalls set up for this
purpose.

Those who are keen to support this Muslim food gallery can email
us at [email protected]

During these few years, Singaporeans have been battled hard due to the flawed
foreign influx policy and many young Singaporeans I spoken to have seriously
considered the path of emigration. Some have already left the country for
greener pastures.

Many have also lost the love for the country as they saw waves after waves
of foreigners coming by to replace and displace them at all levels. Many
preferred the old Singapore of the eighties whereby we have enough jobs to go by
and people simply are more caring for one another.

The weak Singaporean identity we have all along is now been foreshadowed by
this overwhelming heavy foreign presence in our country. Many felt sold out and
replaced.

Moreover, Singaporeans have all along resented the tag of Singapore Inc as
it monetises everything that we do – from profiteering from the sales of our
homes due to the inflated price to taking advantage of low-cost foreign workers
by exploiting their easy availability.

Hopefully, the event will be able to reunite all Singaporeans together as we
saw how divided the country is right now.

Now is the time for Singaporeans to stand up and be
counted…

People are struggling to get by with depressed wages and broken families and
they are now no longer competing with one another but the heavy foreign influx
for jobs and space.

Polarisation is also the by-word nowadays as we saw how the huge wage gap is
getting bigger and how it severely alienates the rich from the poor especially
when wealthy foreigners are welcome with open arms by the government.

There is never a time that I saw my country as disunited as now and its
saddening…

We hope that Singaporeans from all walks of life will gather together as one
and attend our celebration event.

We want to bring back the love to the country by asking those who are
keen to speak on that day to email us at [email protected]

You need to speak on the topic “What can we do to renew the love for
my country once again?”

We will be limiting each speech to ten minutes only. There will also be other
speakers lining up on that day and details will be made known later.

We hope that the event – organised by another alternative group on national
day – will bring back the love for the country again.

All along, national day events are organised by the ruling party and they are
often used to publicise the achievements of the ruling party. It’s time that an
alternative group organises national day event for Singaporeans.

Thank you Singapore and please support our event if you are free on that
day - hope to see you soon. We all need to stay united together in these dark
days.

Though we may disagree with the government, it does not mean that we
don’t love our country.

Singapore for Singaporeans.

Gilbert
Goh

President
Transitioning –
unemployment support services

A recent survey shows that 6 out of 10 are happy with their jobs and a further 3 out of 10 are content so that makes 90% who have no problems whatsoever with the way the country is being run.

The survey also reveals that any concerns regarding the future of Singapore are a result of the younger generation of Singaporeans having a poor work attitude. You can't blame foreigners for that!

A Straits Times job survey throws up some surprises, with six in 10 people saying their jobs are good and holding the view that a university degree is not needed to snag a good post. -- ST FILE PHOTO: JOYCE FANG

By Goh Chin Lian And Andrea Ong

A Straits Times job survey throws up some surprises, with six in 10 people saying their jobs are good and holding the view that a university degree is not needed to snag a good post.

They associate a good job with pay and benefits, work-life balance, good bosses and colleagues, and career advancement.

As for the future, the people polled are less certain about what it holds for the next generation of workers. There are as many pessimists as there are optimists among the 501 surveyed, with the majority citing competition from foreigners and
the young's poor work attitude as the two biggest obstacles between future workers and a good job.

If pap govt ftrash policy can get ppl to vote against pap, then I support more ftrash to come. These sporeans only wake up after their lives were screwed by pap. These the same bunch who voted for pap in the first place and agree pap shd not upgrade PP and hougang because SPP and WP won there. It about time these idiots are punish by their blind fate in pap.

Lee Hsien Loong should just ignore this bunch of losers. They're useless, they pull the economy down, they can't make it, and they will vote for the WP anyway. If people keep trying to pander to the 5% who don't have jobs rather than the 95% of this age group who do, the 95% are going to get pissed off sooner or later.

Can always go into Hawker Academy to become street hawker

Lee Hsien Loong should just ignore this bunch of losers. They're useless, they pull the economy down, they can't make it, and they will vote for the WP anyway. If people keep trying to pander to the 5% who don't have jobs rather than the 95% of this age group who do, the 95% are going to get pissed off sooner or later.

The 5 percent you refer to is actually 85 percent ....we shall see in 2016.

A recent survey shows that 6 out of 10 are happy with their jobs and a further 3 out of 10 are content so that makes 90% who have no problems whatsoever with the way the country is being run.

The survey also reveals that any concerns regarding the future of Singapore are a result of the younger generation of Singaporeans having a poor work attitude. You can't blame foreigners for that!

It is National Day lah ...feel good factor ....do you know that the survey has a sample size of 500? And it is conducted by SPH ...let's call all the PAP supporters for this survey, yah!

Why Sinkies like to say 2016?

Not happy then go to the street to throw out the PAP lah...luckily I dun hang around with Sinkies. Look at how pathetic Sinkies become....very amusing and a delight to see sinkies' own cowardice landed themselves to such pathetic stage.

Why Sinkies like to say 2016?

Not happy then go to the street to throw out the PAP lah...luckily I dun hang around with Sinkies. Look at how pathetic Sinkies become....very amusing and a delight to see sinkies' own cowardice landed themselves to such pathetic stage.

they say 2016 today, after 2016, they will say 2020, then 2024, the never ending fantasy of opposition members.

It is National Day lah ...feel good factor ....do you know that the survey has a sample size of 500? And it is conducted by SPH ...let's call all the PAP supporters for this survey, yah!

All SPH-led surveys are predictable. Waste money.