• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-NUS Graduate: I’m a failed product...

Forvendet

I have heard of foreigners earning $5000 when I could barely earn above $2000 and I hailed from the prestigious world-classed National University of Singapore! Something must be wrong somewhere…

Ant U Ass is world class? Maybe he needs to learn the names of the following unis...

Oh I'm so sorry, you actually went to the same university that produced Goh Meng Seng and Chia Ti Lik. :rolleyes:

cooleo

Me and my wife run a small biz hiring a quite few employees - all females, since heavy manual works not required. Sorry to my fellow NSmen, we can't afford to hire you, need not apply. Me under reservist is bad enough. High key, low ley, IPPT and mob, set aside 20 days per year. Reasonable leave period 14 to 21 days per year, not counting MCs and emergencies. I'm the boss and I'm struggling to afford that myself. Do you think I can afford to pay you for that? Dear fellow NSmen, don't blame me.

Fuck u la. Don't hire local Singaporean men still so much excuses. You are the type of asshole who will comprain swimming trunks too loose when u cannot swim. Comprain bed too hard, when your dick is too soft. Comprain weather too hot, but too cheap to buy air-con. :rolleyes:

Forvendet

Fuck u la. Don't hire local Singaporean men still so much excuses. You are the type of asshole who will comprain swimming trunks too loose when u cannot swim. Comprain bed too hard, when your dick is too soft. Comprain weather too hot, but too cheap to buy air-con. :rolleyes:

Not complaining. Small biz. Can't afford. How to hire?

KNNBCCB

heard from kopitiam drinker ah pek..
son qualified for NUS but no place.
They only take the bestest. dun care you local or FTs..
Sinkies... go eat grass...

cass888

heard from kopitiam drinker ah pek..
son qualified for NUS but no place.
They only take the bestest. dun care you local or FTs..
Sinkies... go eat grass...

"Qualified?" *choke*

2 Es and 2C6s including GP already qualify. Do we want to waste our tax money on this kind of students?

Forvendet

Frankly, I couldn't qualify for NUS as a Singapore citizen without a 2nd language. For heaven's or hell's sake, my mother tongue is English. Nevermind, I wasn't that bright to go to Oxbridge or Ivy League too. I went to a US smalltown brandless university. It was quite a fulfilling and satisfying experience, though a bit expensive still but worth the while.

holyman

currently in the same plight as well...33 years old with double degrees ( recognised Australian universitities, same as several ministers) in business and health science (GPA about 3.3 out of 4), obtained 2 scholarships and rated mostly "a" for performances during my past 9 years in 2 different industries (4 years in banking 5 years in healthcare)...applied for 6 entry positions in the last week of December 2010 and until now, 0 interviews...and I am only asking $3K plus and change (willing to accept 15% pay cut)...had to quit current job as the working conditions were very similar to the dealers in MDS and RWS...

I think its easier for specialists (e.g. FX trader, engineers) to switch and find jobs rather than for jack of all trades (like me)...nowadays civil service like mindef and moe offer mostly contract jobs (unless honours degree)...banks like cs and ubs that pay high salary can retrench you anytime (and still retrenching, though in very small numbers), especially those financial consultants (team manager basic $4K and $2.6K for credit card sales at citibank, but they dont tell you your monthly quota, just axe as and when)..

Its really becoming very stressful to live in SG nowadays...it dosent make sense to have pinoys manning the bank's helpdesk when nobody can understand their English, why not pay a bit more to the locals, or if they are so afraid of locals job hopping, make it a yearly contract thing...how to have babies, much less plan for retirement...its a bloody mess

cass888

Frankly, I couldn't qualify for NUS as a Singapore citizen without a 2nd language. For heaven's or hell's sake, my mother tongue is English. Nevermind, I wasn't that bright to go to Oxbridge or Ivy League too. I went to a US smalltown brandless university. It was quite a fulfilling and satisfying experience, though a bit expensive still but worth the while.

They scrapped all that already?

yellow_people

Do you know the number of local native grads working under FT bosses who are being bullied.

I've noticed this too.

Ah Beng is used to abusing maids and menial foreign workers for a long time, making them work under poor conditions for 12-18 hours a day with little or no rest and poor compensation. Did Ah Beng spare a thought for the poor pinoy maid or bangala worker? Fast forward to today and Ah Beng's kids are now reporting to Pinoy and Ah Neh supervisors who bully these pampered kids left, right and centre at the workplace.

Remember, what goes around comes around.

patrickv

I think its easier for specialists (e.g. FX trader, engineers) to switch and find jobs rather than for jack of all trades (like me)...nowadays civil service like mindef and moe offer mostly contract jobs (unless honours degree)...banks like cs QUOTE]

hi bro,

u started applying in dec 2010. so now only 1 mth plus. don't be so disheartened ok. hang on there. becos now near cny holidays etc, so maybe hiring and HR dept idle a bit.

anyway all the best for coming year. take care.

Goldendragon:

If this guy say he is a "failed product" I just wonder where those "N" level graduates stand in Singapore. No matter how they upgrade, they cannot even get a degree like this guy.

What is worse, these lower educated "N" level graduates are fast being replaced by Pinyon FT who are younger, speak better and most have a college diploma.....but willing to accept lower pay like Sin$1,300 compare to these "N" level mid 30 years old ladies who are drawing $1,800 + CPF.

Would the employer retain the true-blue Singaporeans?

At mid 30s, these Singapore single ladies are too old to be "expensive" whores and even in this "profession" at a low rate of $30 to $50 per session "making love" with those FT workers (with stinking armpit smell and bear and smoke mouth), they face stiff competitions from those mid 20 year old PRC, Pinyon and Thai FT. In fact it is like out of the frying pan into a fire situation.

Even the "N" level Singapore spinsters want to marry an Ang Mo to immigrate, they need to compete with the FT PRC and Pinyon who are younger, more pretty and more lady like.

Poor thing, they are so depressed tht even given a help and chance to immigrate, they will not dare and give all kinds of excuse not to leave Singapore! Other groups flare not much better.

One of the solution is after work (if they still have one) to lock themselves inside their room and listen to old CD sounds to "protect" and shield themselves to the harsh Singapore society.

The whole bloody Singapore system has failed them these 10 years and the next 10 years it will be worse.....cannot even imagine the next 20 to 25 years. They will grow old "disgracefully".

Bro exSINgaporean:

We need to define what is a 'passed product' then. This is a subjective matter. It all depends on whether we are judging ourselves or how society judges us.

If a degree is needed, good salary and a promising future ahead, then the majority in society are failures. To me, a person is only a failed product if he neglects his parents and his family. Also, those who look down on others, cheats, boastful chaps especially when they themselves have no substance etc.

We look at most western countries and the difference in perception is very glaring. A plumber, brick layer, truck driver or even a fireman, they do not see themselves as failures. They make good, if not better money than graduates. They don't compare themselves with the Jones'. They are happy and satisfied with what they have. End of the day, whether we are a 'failed' or 'passed' product. it really depends on ourselves.

There is no point kpkb the predicament we are in. Adjusting and adaptabilty needed most of the time. Yes, I agree that the proliferation of FTs in S'pore doesn't help matters at all. If we allow ourselves to be trampled upon on home ground by our own leaders, we should blame ourselves. If they lose 1 or more GRCs and several single seat wards, those CCBKs will wake up. They are very complacent and my feel is, they wont be after the GE.

Goodendragon:

By the way, could you recommend me a good Hakka restuarant in Singapore?

A Singapore lady told me she needs to reserve a place in that Hakka restuarant; she has stop emailing me so I do not know which restuarant she is refering to. I would like to birng my 90th year old dad to eat.

Since you have own nightclubs before, I am sure you know this Hakka Resturant which is so good that we need reservation.

Thanks.

Bro, paiseh to disappoint you. I makaned Hakka food not more than thrice. Let me check this up for you. My friends may know.

Watchman

Its really becoming very stressful to live in SG nowadays...it dosent make sense to have pinoys manning the bank's helpdesk when nobody can understand their English, why not pay a bit more to the locals, or if they are so afraid of locals job hopping, make it a yearly contract thing...how to have babies, much less plan for retirement...its a bloody mess

There was a time no body gives a damn about the help desk position . It is only in time of desperation . Singaporeans grudgingly accept the fact of lower
pay and backend jobs .

BusNo64

There was a time no body gives a damn about the help desk position . It is only in time of desperation . Singaporeans grudgingly accept the fact of lower
pay and backend jobs .

Havia um momento onde nenhum corpo dá uma nada sobre a posição do serviço de atenção. É somente a tempo do desespero. Os singapurenses aceitam grudgingly o fato de mais baixo pagamento e trabalhos backend. Resposta com citações

babachai

This shows that you don't need a degree to be successful. I barely clear my O level, going to poly to a course where nobody wants to go and after 20 years, still doing good running my own business.
Same thing hppening in Korea, those with without technical know how are being replace once they reach 45. Company can get younger staff cheaper.

yellow_people

Relentless marketing of so-called foreign talent by the PAP has reinforced the view that foreigners are better even though they may not be and their services are not actually cheap either. I have heard of foreigners earning $5000 when I could barely earn above $2000 and I hailed from the prestigious world-classed National University of Singapore! Something must be wrong somewhere…

Mr. Chua need look no further than himself to find out what went wrong. And so too should the average Ah Beng blaming FTs for their woes. Many an Ah Beng enters the job market with the "world-owes-me-living" arrogance wearing rose tinted glasses, firmly believing in the "high life" that comes with the so-called world-class NUS. How about proving oneself first?

At least Chua has the decency to admit that FTs aren't cheap; although he is in denial that they are indeed talented and can earn $5k while he struggles to earn $2k. Where Chua failed to realize is that FTs do not adopt the attitude of "high hope of a good life" that supposedly comes with a degree - that's an illusion. Many an FT are willing to work and are eager to prove themselves. With the right attitude, they carve out a niche for themeselves through specialization and double or triple their salary within 5 years, while the likes of Chua are, in his own words, "barely earn(ing) $2000" after ten years in the employment market searching for that elusive "high life".

What is for certain is Chua like his fellow local Chinese graduates are on their way to become just another statistic in the expanding unemployed middle-aged PMET segment.

Instead of taking destiny in his own hands, perhaps Chua like the "silent majority" is pinning his hopes the "conformist" opposition will win a GRC or 2 in the coming elections; and as a result "change" is inevitable. Winning perhaps. Change? FAT HOPE! With such feeble thinking and grand delusions, it must be no wonder why employers would rather hire foreigners over locals these days. Companies need thinkers, not dreamers.

patrickv

dumbfuck ah neh aka yellow_people. talk so much cock for what. u better go get drunk or go beat up your wife ok. ah neh best in that.