• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-Army Chief to be Permanent Secretary for Education Development

actually, I known some nice scholars. But given their good attitudes, they wont be selected as PS or Ministers or make it to BG.

I do know several independantly successful scholars (relative to the rest) - two SAFOS left SAF and have actually made it in the US. Both left at age 31, self funded their MBAs, networked and got high paying jobs in consultanciesin the US .

Another MFA scholar I know, schooled in France, also left MFA and is now working for the World Bank, having made it from competitive interviews in the YPP (The Young Professionals' Program - where they select 3-4 candidates worldwide from over 6000 applicants annually).... persons emerging from the YPP are like "SAFOS" in the world bank for the first 2-3 years of work, but after that promotion is fair competition...... Heard rumours that World Bank paid for the remainder of his scholarship bond

In fact, the scholars who stay in the SAF etc until retirement are those who never got good lobang outside and continue to be spoonfed by the Sg government - look at KEE CHIU and TCJ

Being treated like king after getting the scholarship, how could they ever empathize with the average sinkee? These $68-million men/women have it so good. Darn, I should have studied harder when young.

One SAFOS, ex schoolmate of mine... KNN arrogant guy but like to act humble in gatherings. e.g. "whoa the last exercise siong you know, slept only 4 hours a night at MINDEF and only ate cup noodles for 5 days!"

I suspect that it is only partially true - 4 hours a night appears realistic, but not only a cup of noodles.

should eat combat ration lah....wtf eating cup noodles......

I agree.

But if during the exercise, that officer is in MINDEF (or is TEWT, tactical exercise without troops),
then I believe there must a way to obtain more delicious and nutritious food.

I suspect that it is only partially true - 4 hours a night appears realistic, but not only a cup of noodles.

Didn't say A cup. Said he ate cup noodleS. Which in all interpretations can be one cup or 20 cups - up to him.

My friends in banking and finance in their heyday went with 4 hours a night for months. For the sheer love of money.

should eat combat ration lah....wtf eating cup noodles......

Then you haven't been to the cosy combat planning rooms in MINDEF building, where combat rations are nowhere to be seen.... .....

My "friend" said he ate cup noodles only for days and had to sleep in those rooms, cannot go home to stimulate real conflict .... what terrible suffering our scholars endure! No time during those stressful exercise to go to MINDEF canteen!

Then you haven't been to the cosy combat planning rooms in MINDEF building, where combat rations are nowhere to be seen.... .....

My "friend" said he ate cup noodles only for days and had to sleep in those rooms, cannot go home to stimulate real conflict .... what terrible suffering our scholars endure! No time during those stressful exercise to go to MINDEF canteen!
when i was in service mindef was still in present day dempsey road....

look at KEE CHIU and TCJ[/B]

Both these jokers are very useful to Pinky and FamiLEE. If and when they need sicko-fans (read: sycophants) to help them set up trusts abroad in the BVI, Cayman, Cook Island, etc. the services of Kee Chiu and TCJ will be needed.

I do know several independantly successful scholars (relative to the rest) - two SAFOS left SAF and have actually made it in the US. Both left at age 31, self funded their MBAs, networked and got high paying jobs in consultanciesin the US .

Another MFA scholar I know, schooled in France, also left MFA and is now working for the World Bank, having made it from competitive interviews in the YPP (The Young Professionals' Program - where they select 3-4 candidates worldwide from over 6000 applicants annually).... persons emerging from the YPP are like "SAFOS" in the world bank for the first 2-3 years of work, but after that promotion is fair competition...... Heard rumours that World Bank paid for the remainder of his scholarship bond

In fact, the scholars who stay in the SAF etc until retirement are those who never got good lobang outside and continue to be spoonfed by the Sg government - look at KEE CHIU and TCJ

Working for the World Bank is actually the same mindset as the PAP--neoliberalism. But congrats to him.

I know scholars who refused rapid military promotion. So they got bunked to lousy units.

Both these jokers are very useful to Pinky and FamiLEE. If and when they need sicko-fans (read: sycophants) to help them set up trusts abroad in the BVI, Cayman, Cook Island, etc. the services of Kee Chiu and TCJ will be needed.

TCJ not so bad--can speak. CCS is the worst example of a scholar ever. Wonder how he survived Oxford

Well at least he made it to PS at 49. Ex-CP at age 55 was only made Sr DS. What a shame!

And he's not from a top JC too. Usually they choose the brightest from ACS or RI or Hwachong.

He was lucky to stay in the SAF till late 40s. Last time it was 45 and out.

Nowadays can stay till 50. If you made the mistake of being a regular - would you leave at 45 or 50? (probably depends if you are scholar or not)

TCJ not so bad--can speak. CCS is the worst example of a scholar ever. Wonder how he survived Oxford

Able to speak slightly better that fellow military chiefs Lui Tuck Yew and Kee Chiu doesn't mean he is not so bad. TCJ is only slightly better than the worst. You should watch more internationa lnews programs. The afghanistan foreign minister and speaks far better than him.

I didnt say comparing to international warriors. But look at it, TCJ speaks even better than his BG boss, LHL

However much Neo is part of the scholar clan, he's not so terrible as his counterparts--CCS, TCH, Ng Yat Chung (the North Korean CDF), or others before him. At least he's ranger qualified, did some service in East Timor.

Watch the British parliamentary debates, and see how ministers answer questions off the cuff, with facts at their finger tips. Here, the minister wants questions submitted before hand, get his staff to work overnight to write the answers and then parrot them off in parliament.

Yakult's latest gaffe over the NZ internet regulations is another example - just read off the facts without challenging the paper given to him by his underlings.

Watch the British parliamentary debates, and see how ministers answer questions off the cuff, with facts at their finger tips. Here, the minister wants questions submitted before hand, get his staff to work overnight to write the answers and then parrot them off in parliament.

Yakult's latest gaffe over the NZ internet regulations is another example - just read off the facts without challenging the paper given to him by his underlings.

I know but the British parliamentary system also gets Written Answers too. Ministers also have a detailed folder of issues in front of them when answering questions.

And they have personal assistants giving them info.

However much Neo is part of the scholar clan, he's not so terrible as his counterparts--CCS, TCH, Ng Yat Chung (the North Korean CDF), or others before him. At least he's ranger qualified, did some service in East Timor.

Yes he is the most soldierly of all them paper generals. All the more he should remain in SAF. Likely he will be out of depth in his new job....pappies probably knew this....thus he got a buddy to guide him with OJT period.