• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Everyone looks down on . . . . . .

No this is not a krafty sad thread about people looking down on him.

Last trip to Singapore and my recent trip to Japan and also because of the flood in Bangkok, I had a chance to travel in trains (MRT, JR etc etc) and buses. When I look around I find it very strange as everyone is looking down, on their mobile of course. I mean its like no one looks around anymore and everyone is in their own world. Things had changed.

Rule of thumb: the poorer a collective entity, the more collectivist its constituents. Be glad that everyone's in their own world. It's a sign of affluence and progress :)

If I dont look down on my ipad then how to reply your thread

Last trip to Singapore and my recent trip to Japan and also because of the flood in Bangkok, I had a chance to travel in trains (MRT, JR etc etc) and buses. When I look around I find it very strange as everyone is looking down, on their mobile of course. I mean its like no one looks around anymore and everyone is in their own world. Things had changed.

Good morning boss.... :)

Vannakam Mama

3995013-young-indian-beauty-giving-the-namaste-greeting-from-india.jpg

Pretaining to your thread, personally I think ppl are so into their own world, losing the human touch been replaced by technology. Just like older generation use to said, last time kampong style, all very freindly, be it any races, but now living in HDB, all closed door. So is this good or bad, its for u to view.

Whether mobile phone or iPad, it's a strange phenomena I've observed too, not only in Thailand or Japan but also Singapore and everywhere else. Since young, I was taught to walk with head held high. Some of my girlfriends have even remarked, don't walk like that, that's like looking for a fight.

I made one of my best friends in my life through that too. This gangster guy was my brother's friend but didn't know me. One day he was at a coffeeshop drinking with my brother and saw me passing by, or in his words, swaggering by. He said I wasn't supposed to walk like that in his territory and challenged me to a fight. My brother broke out laughing asked us all to sit around and introduced each other over another round of beer. We became buddies thereafter.

Rule of thumb: the poorer a collective entity, the more collectivist its constituents.

Cruxx sorry for my poor engrish I think I have difficulty to understand, you are quite cheem ;)

Pretaining to your thread, personally I think ppl are so into their own world, losing the human touch been replaced by technology. Just like older generation use to said, last time kampong style, all very freindly, be it any races, but now living in HDB, all closed door. So is this good or bad, its for u to view.

Yes I agree. You see I rarely take train or buses so this time round it was a surprise to me, I mean those not looking at their phones are like the odd ones out :D

Looks like a Chindian leh :confused:

Not sure cruxx I just googles namaste and I thought this will be a nice greeting with mama Muthu LOL

Whether mobile phone or iPad, it's a strange phenomena I've observed too, not only in Thailand or Japan but also Singapore and everywhere else. Since young, I was taught to walk with head held high. Some of my girlfriends have even remarked, don't walk like that, that's like looking for a fight.

I made one of my best friends in my life through that too. This gangster guy was my brother's friend but didn't know me. One day he was at a coffeeshop drinking with my brother and saw me passing by, or in his words, swaggering by. He said I wasn't supposed to walk like that in his territory and challenged me to a fight. My brother broke out laughing asked us all to sit around and introduced each other over another round of beer. We became buddies thereafter.

Those days don't have mobile phones or iPads to condition you to look down :D

Whatever it is, it's just a prop to signal, I'm minding my own business. In the old days, reading books on buses were common too. I've never did that. To my mentality, it's kind of dangerous to mind my own business in public. I never even sleep on a bus unless long distance above 10 hours. Losing alertness and awareness spells possibility of danger and accident.

Cruxx said:
Rule of thumb: the poorer a collective entity, the more collectivist its constituents. Be glad that everyone's in their own world. It's a sign of affluence and progress :)

Is its corollary: the richer a solitary entity, the more solitary its solitude?

Psychologists here can confirm that this phenomenon is an assertion of personal space in a over-crowded environment?

Is its corollary: the richer a solitary entity, the more solitary its solitude?

Psychologists here can confirm that this phenomenon is an assertion of personal space in a over-crowded environment?

Fook Seng you are also quite cheem but then I can understand. Some times I think what happens if we are equally prosperous like now but then mobiles are still only the basic ones like the old trusted 8210

Nokia_8210_1.jpg

Rule of thumb: the poorer a collective entity, the more collectivist its constituents.
Cruxx sorry for my poor engrish I think I have difficulty to understand, you are quite cheem ;)

Ok, for the bo tak chek...

The poorer you are, the more your want to share with your neighbours. The richer you are the more you want to hide from your neighbours.

Of course lah, the more poorest got nothing to share what, so they fake it and pretend to be more kawan.

The poorer you are, the more your want to share with your neighbours. The richer you are the more you want to hide from your neighbours.

Of course lah, the more poorest got nothing to share what, so they fake it and pretend to be more kawan.

Thank you Glaringly, now I understand. thumbsup.gif

Glaringly said:

There goes my corrollary.

Spot on. Kum sia for the free translation. ;) Especially the "fake it and pretend to be more kawan" part. Took the words out of my mouth. Those who tout the kampong spirit as somehow less selfish and more moral than what we have today is talking out of their arse. :)