Evergrande owed Ah Tiong Bu 8 million but got her arrested for protesting

Our Chinese subsidiary won the best performing country every year in the last 5 years, with CAGR of 30%. On the contrary it is very hard to make good money elsewhere in Asia. W
I think you have to be prepared for the day they move the regional HQ up north where the action is. Happened to me and I had to make some arrangements

Mao killed more chinese than japanese did.

Chinaman still prays to him.
Mao didn't "kill" Chinese like Stalin or pol pot did to their own people but he mismanaged the economy resulting in famine.

He was a brilliant military strategist but sucked at economics. And the communist party back then was full of uneducated porlumpas which caused the country to eat itself

Mao didn't "kill" Chinese like Stalin or pol pot did to their own people but he mismanaged the economy resulting in famine.

He was a brilliant military strategist but sucked at economics. And the communist party back then was full of uneducated porlumpas which caused the country to eat itself
Zhou enlai did all the planning and pave the way for him n ccp.

Mao in charge of womanizing and he is the spokesman .

CCP uses high-handed tactics against its political opponents, just like PAP. Their policies and decision making however are sound. What track record? Is there a single accusation against the CCP you have come to know from an unbias source, may I ask? What I can share with you is, the company I work for has several offices in China, I deal with real Chinese people every day, without the buying power of the Chinese conglomerates my company can’t grow. All the European companies with Asian presence want a piece of business with the Chinese conglomerates who have gone very global. In my decade in the company, we had no issues with the Govt, the customers nor the highly motivated staff. My colleagues from China as well travel overseas frequently, have not heard of any known restrictions. Our Chinese subsidiary won the best performing country every year in the last 5 years, with CAGR of 30%. On the contrary it is very hard to make good money elsewhere in Asia. When I look at the comments from this forum, I wonder if we’re talking about the same country.
I don't have any hard evidence. :roflmao:

Except for stuff like how private tuition is now curtailed there and gamers who spend too much time gaming can now expect to be arrested and such stuff. How Zhao Wei is now non-existent. Jack Ma and his ant group? I don't think these are political opponents...

Add to that what people who left China and won't return tell me. Your experience may differ.

Good for you that your company has done well. As a whole China has created a lot of wealth in a short time. If that's all your concerned about, then yes China's great!!

hm , i hope the price of property in China will fall like flies.
I hope the rich Tiong will fly into Singapore and buy all the condo from Singapore.
not a matter of whether but when, when tiongs finally realize their leases are only good for 69 years (69th year to apply for sextension or renewal). whether the ccp land admin bureau will sextend each lease at the 69th year, only the ghost of xia xuay xi knows as he’ll be long gone. most likely not and or never as ccp will take back the land to lease it at the highest bid to the next developer, leaving existing tenants and building owners in limbo. by then, every tiong “homeowner” should learn how to sing and dance the limbo rock.

some tiongs were already aware of their limited leases 6.9 years ago.
https://www.chinasmack.com/chinese-land-use-rights-what-happens-after-70-years

A better example of who cannot be trusted

I don't have any hard evidence. :roflmao:

Except for stuff like how private tuition is now curtailed there and gamers who spend too much time gaming can now expect to be arrested and such stuff. How Zhao Wei is now non-existent. Jack Ma and his ant group? I don't think these are political opponents...

Add to that what people who left China and won't return tell me. Your experience may differ.

Good for you that your company has done well. As a whole China has created a lot of wealth in a short time. If that's all your concerned about, then yes China's great!!
CCP does not pretend they have a democratic system. As and when there are excesses in certain sectors, they are not shy to exercise their authority to rein in. There are those who dislike the system and have left the country, and there are those who are happy with it. If you make money in their territory, you play by their rule. This is what they want Zhao Wei, Jack Ma etc to understand. ANT’s unsecured lending could lead to consumer/SME crunch, they don’t want a Fannie-Mae in China. Education should remain as basic necessity, the Chinese kids are atrocious in comparison of the haves and have-nots especially those from the single child generation. As for Zhao Wei she has reappeared. I don’t know how she pissed the CCP but several stars have been “slapped in the face” for tax evasions - why not?

no issues with the above

so in my case -- "There are those who dislike the system and have left the country"

if you like it good for you. :wink:

not a matter of whether but when, when tiongs finally realize their leases are only good for 69 years (69th year to apply for sextension or renewal). whether the ccp land admin bureau will sextend each lease at the 69th year, only the ghost of xia xuay xi knows as he’ll be long gone. most likely not and or never as ccp will take back the land to lease it at the highest bid to the next developer, leaving existing tenants and building owners in limbo. by then, every tiong “homeowner” should learn how to sing and dance the limbo rock.

some tiongs were already aware of their limited leases 6.9 years ago.
https://www.chinasmack.com/chinese-land-use-rights-what-happens-after-70-years
wat? they don't know it?

all commie countries that I'm aware of never allow private ownership of property. It's all for the collective good (read : for the government's benefit) :geek:

haha. amazing isn't it? are political leaders ever to be trusted?

The great big difference is that in messed up democracies you can still have a different point of view. Try doing this in a messed up communist dictatorship.
Why not? :biggrin:

entertaining! :roflmao: but really quite sad for those poor people at the same time... :cry:

well, you can't do that to the party itself. anyone doing the same in the presence of the party elders is asking to be disappeared pdq. oso, there's too much control of information. Difficult for the ugly truth to be spread. I guess that's their aim.

But the point remains, "great" leaders are usually anything but no matter where in the world they come from. I just wish the Chinese would not have to resort to hiding behind the identity created by some outcast Jew.

no issues with the above

so in my case -- "There are those who dislike the system and have left the country"

if you like it good for you. :wink:
Many PRCs have emigrated since the 90s until the early 2010s. But this is no longer the trend especially for the young mainlanders. Like to believe it or not Winnie the Pooh cleared up a lot of corruption and it restored the sense of hope in the party leadership. You can clearly detect this from speaking to the young people today - they are no longer envious of foreigners.

Seriously if you are still thinking I'm bullshitting then make a trip to Shenzhen or Shanghai one day when this pandemic is over. You will see how well the domestic economy is and how high tech they've become. Do it soon because China cost of living is going to be very high like HK, Tokyo in the 1st tier cities.

Many PRCs have emigrated since the 90s until the early 2010s. But this is no longer the trend especially for the young mainlanders. Like to believe it or not Winnie the Pooh cleared up a lot of corruption and it restored the sense of hope in the party leadership. You can clearly detect this from speaking to the young people today - they are no longer envious of foreigners.

Seriously if you are still thinking I'm bullshitting then make a trip to Shenzhen or Shanghai one day when this pandemic is over. You will see how well the domestic economy is and how high tech they've become. Do it soon because China cost of living is going to be very high like HK, Tokyo in the 1st tier cities.
Totally believe you. I've actually heard the very same from tiong youngsters. But the older generation doesn't share the exact same opinion.

But in my mind I think it's not because of winnie. I think it's because they actually see how crap it is in the West

My thoughts are that everyone had a super-idealized version of the West pre-2000s. Once they opened up and came over and saw the realities of how the Western world lives, they were kind of disgusted and decided to turn around to go home and build on the progress already achieved.

So how does this make sense that I've still wary of the system?

To put it in an analogy, how many CECAs think Singapore's the best place on earth whilst how many Singaporeans think they're getting screwed by the PAP. Singapore is to a CECA what China is to the youngsters. The older people with experience dealing with the gahmen will feel like how samsters feel re : the PAP.

Thanks for sharing your opinion. :thumbsup:

eh... whether killing through willful mismanagement or through willful murder is still deaths on his hands lah. It is through Mao's egocentric interference that they died. And how did you get all the uneducated porlumpas in charge? You guessed it, egocentric interference.

You do not want to be an educated person in Mao's presence. You will be re-educated.

eh... whether killing through willful mismanagement or through willful murder is still deaths on his hands lah. It is through Mao's egocentric interference that they died. And how did you get all the uneducated porlumpas in charge? You guessed it, egocentric interference.

You do not want to be an educated person in Mao's presence. You will be re-educated.
The Great Leap Forward was an epic mismanagement of the economy by Mao.

Mao had a perfect track record of winning wars throughout the years so he used the same 人海战术 strategy and mobilised the whole country to drive up steel production. When his orders trickled down to the countryside, they quickly became warped by bureaucrats and uneducated peasants just followed them blindly. Some of the old guards like marshal Peng Dehuai tried to sound out his concern but was quickly silenced. That's the danger of an authoritarian system.

The boomer generation mainlanders are still dealing with Great Leap Forward and cultural revolution as they had left a deep psychological scar on the nation. Just like how Germans have to deal with their own history of the Jewish Holocaust. It is something they have to overcome in time

Totally believe you. I've actually heard the very same from tiong youngsters. But the older generation doesn't share the exact same opinion.

But in my mind I think it's not because of winnie. I think it's because they actually see how crap it is in the West

My thoughts are that everyone had a super-idealized version of the West pre-2000s. Once they opened up and came over and saw the realities of how the Western world lives, they were kind of disgusted and decided to turn around to go home and build on the progress already achieved.

So how does this make sense that I've still wary of the system?

To put it in an analogy, how many CECAs think Singapore's the best place on earth whilst how many Singaporeans think they're getting screwed by the PAP. Singapore is to a CECA what China is to the youngsters. The older people with experience dealing with the gahmen will feel like how samsters feel re : the PAP.

Thanks for sharing your opinion. :thumbsup:
I think the real decline of the west began in 2008 at the Lehman bros subprime crisis. It just highlighted the failure of neo liberal capitalism.

Politics is a swinging pendulum. No system is perfect

The Great Leap Forward was an epic mismanagement of the economy by Mao.

Mao had a perfect track record of winning wars throughout the years so he used the same 人海战术 strategy and mobilised the whole country to drive up steel production. When his orders trickled down to the countryside, they quickly became warped by bureaucrats and uneducated peasants just followed them blindly. Some of the old guards like marshal Peng Dehuai tried to sound out his concern but was quickly silenced. That's the danger of an authoritarian system.

The boomer generation mainlanders are still dealing with Great Leap Forward and cultural revolution as they had left a deep psychological scar on the nation. Just like how Germans have to deal with their own history of the Jewish Holocaust. It is something they have to overcome in time
No disagreements from me. I boldfaced what my personal concerns are. :thumbsup:

As you rightly said, the tiong boomers are still grappling with those two craptastic events. The current young generation of tiongs has no inkling of it like how young singaporeans don't know how terrible the japanese could be, I guess that's a good thing.

I think the real decline of the west began in 2008 at the Lehman bros subprime crisis. It just highlighted the failure of neo liberal capitalism.

Politics is a swinging pendulum. No system is perfect
I think it actually began before that. I would even point to the 70's as the start of the decline, although there was a good run in the 80s because the boomers came of age and drove the west forward.

When the western boomers started getting old, then the cracks reappear and this time more difficult to stop.

As you say, no system is perfect, but I have personal preferences despite how crap the western system results can be.