Even if Vote PAP...they are clueless how to recover Singapore economy..

sinkies have not been played out. They are getting exactly what they asked for.

You got it the other way around. It isn't the ceiling. It is the strong foundational base you need to set.

And this is minimal wage.

With minimal wage, the lure of cheap foreign labor doesn't exist anymore. You can't hire maids for $700 a month to work 18 hours a day 6 days a week. Same for bangla construction workers.

With miminal wage maybe $2500 a month, local sinkies with low education may consider going into the trades. Doing construction. Hard work. In fact maybe hard work should pay even more because it is stuff no one wants to do.

With minimal wage, the income disparity will drop. Less of a gap. It might or might not increase the wages of some white collar type jobs like receptionists. Or it might not.

Minimal wage is at the ground. The floor.

Downside.....it will raise business costs. But it will benefit the MAJORITY OF THE AVERAGE PERSON.

So do Singaporeans see that? No they don't.

They fall for stories about how prices of food will go up! Die lah! They worry no maid! Die lah! They fall for stories about how the businesses will collapse and close! No jobs! Well if these companies were only in business because of cheap cheap labor those jobs were never for SINKIES they were for foreigners.

Anyway I have said this many times. No sinkie here can see it. All blind and deaf , set in their own ways.
We were talking about the natural progression of having foreign manual labour, and how foreign labour eventually spreads to other jobs and industries. Hence, ideally there needs to be a cut off point as regards what kind of jobs they can do. It's rather protectionistic I know. That's something not found in the government's DNA. They would rather sacrifice sinkies first.

Sinkies have been played out. In the sense that two generations placed their trust in the government, to look out for their best interest. Only to realise their HDB flats are not investments, jobs going to FTs, new citizens competing for places in schools. Which is why it puzzles me that the majority still give them their support. It does not help that the pap controls almost everything here, using the blank cheque to ensure their survival. And taking the easy way to ensure the country's survival.

Minimum wage, union representation, higher business costs, higher cost of living etc are all by-products of a functioning democracy. And we are not a functioning democracy.

"No sinkie here can see it. All blind and deaf , set in their own ways."??? If you're referring to this forum, then you are not aware of how most of us here feel. Those of us who are pissed with the system, but are still here.

We were talking about the natural progression of having foreign manual labour, and how foreign labour eventually spreads to other jobs and industries. Hence, ideally there needs to be a cut off point as regards what kind of jobs they can do. It's rather protectionistic I know. That's something not found in the government's DNA. They would rather sacrifice sinkies first.

Sinkies have been played out. In the sense that two generations placed their trust in the government, to look out for their best interest. Only to realise their HDB flats are not investments, jobs going to FTs, new citizens competing for places in schools. Which is why it puzzles me that the majority still give them their support. It does not help that the pap controls almost everything here, using the blank cheque to ensure their survival. And taking the easy way to ensure the country's survival.

Minimum wage, union representation, higher business costs, higher cost of living etc are all by-products of a functioning democracy. And we are not a functioning democracy.

"No sinkie here can see it. All blind and deaf , set in their own ways."??? If you're referring to this forum, then you are not aware of how most of us here feel. Those of us who are pissed with the system, but are still here.

The whole narrative of simply voting out PAP seems to be the "answer".

But it isn't. You need to choose the alternative policies.

Instead of saying I want this guy out, should be thinking what do we want to replace this shit?

So it is all kpkb.

I dont hear many sinkies at this forum clamor for minimum wage. They want to keep their maids and have dirt cheap hawker food still.

So I am sorry. Perhaps you are different. But I think many of the pissed off are just angry. And want PAP gone. But really just want someone else to keep the same system and somehow give them higher paying jobs.

ie no sacrifice just gain. Dream on guys.

The whole narrative of simply voting out PAP seems to be the "answer".

But it isn't. You need to choose the alternative policies.

Instead of saying I want this guy out, should be thinking what do we want to replace this shit?

So it is all kpkb.

I dont hear many sinkies at this forum clamor for minimum wage. They want to keep their maids and have dirt cheap hawker food still.

So I am sorry. Perhaps you are different. But I think many of the pissed off are just angry. And want PAP gone. But really just want someone else to keep the same system and somehow give them higher paying jobs.

ie no sacrifice just gain. Dream on guys.
There are no alternative policies to choose from, there are no champions of minimum wage in the government we can offer our support to, we do not have any choice at this moment in case you haven't noticed. And this will probably go on as they are in the foreseeable future. It is not a level playing field, so baby steps are needed. We just need to get more opposition into parliament first.

Perhaps you've been in Canada too long, and you see things through a set of different lens now. I would too, if I were in your position. But if you were to recall the frustration and disappointments you had when you were here, you would understand how we feel.

And one more thing if I may. And I don't mean to offend. If I were to be pissed off with my country, migrate overseas and give up my citizenship on my own freewill, I wouldn't give a shit what happens to my ex-country. But that's just me. It buffers me why one would willingly migrate overseas but still want to maintain a connection. As if life in my new country is not fulfilling enough? Want to make sure I haven't made a wrong choice? Want to see my ex-country fail and my ex-fellow countrymen wallow in misery? :biggrin:

There are no alternative policies to choose from, there are no champions of minimum wage in the government we can offer our support to, we do not have any choice at this moment in case you haven't noticed. And this will probably go on as they are in the foreseeable future. It is not a level playing field, so baby steps are needed. We just need to get more opposition into parliament first.

Perhaps you've been in Canada too long, and you see things through a set of different lens now. I would too, if I were in your position. But if you were to recall the frustration and disappointments you had when you were here, you would understand how we feel.

And one more thing if I may. And I don't mean to offend. If I were to be pissed off with my country, migrate overseas and give up my citizenship on my own freewill, I wouldn't give a shit what happens to my ex-country. But that's just me. It buffers me why one would willingly migrate overseas but still want to maintain a connection. As if life in my new country is not fulfilling enough? Want to make sure I haven't made a wrong choice? Want to see my ex-country fail and my ex-fellow countrymen wallow in misery? :biggrin:

Exactly. Schadenfreude.

Why are there no champions of minimum wage? Because that's not what sinkies want.

Actually it was SBF that helped me think of migration as the option. And I got a lot of good advice and turned my head around to think differently accept different systems eg higher taxes, minimum wage etc.

Those people who posted good ideas have disappeared.

If the emigration folder was more active I would spend more time there too but it is dead.

So I still hang around SBF. It is nice to catch up with Sam. And see what the sinkies are still kpkb about. Still same things. LOL!

It also helps me realize how lucky I am to have got out. And I am very thankful for SBF and the bros here who helped me before. Pity most are no longer around.

Now the discussions are mostly cheeko pek hum sup man type. Fuck here KNNN do your mother ....some sick sexual fantasies.....insult women.......racist..........that sort of stuff.

Singaporeans are rather arrogant bunch. They see themselves as superior.

You want a sinkie to praise PAP just start insulting the country. They will list all the things why you are wrong and inadvertently praise and exclaim PAP policies. LOL!

@glockman sorry bro I think I must have hit a raw nerve when I said something about sinkies blind and deaf.

I know what you mean lah. What can one person do right? You seen the light. But everyone dowan to see the light. How?

It is like the Matrix the movie. Can you imagine if waking up from the matrix meant just living in that Slum city? No special upload into the matrix got powers shit? If upload all kena killed like flies by the machines? Then in real world also all kena killed by the machines bloody bloody? Who would want to wake up from the Matrix?

That's sinkieland lor.

Which is why I am took the advice of the bros and I migrated. It was tough but at least there was something worthwhile fighting for.

I do hope that some people out there read what I post. And it makes them think differently and get them to think about leaving Singapore.

The long term future of Singapore is unstable in my view. Many social ills are on the horizon.

Exactly. Schadenfreude.

Why are there no champions of minimum wage? Because that's not what sinkies want.

Actually it was SBF that helped me think of migration as the option. And I got a lot of good advice and turned my head around to think differently accept different systems eg higher taxes, minimum wage etc.

Those people who posted good ideas have disappeared.

If the emigration folder was more active I would spend more time there too but it is dead.

So I still hang around SBF. It is nice to catch up with Sam. And see what the sinkies are still kpkb about. Still same things. LOL!

It also helps me realize how lucky I am to have got out. And I am very thankful for SBF and the bros here who helped me before. Pity most are no longer around.

Now the discussions are mostly cheeko pek hum sup man type. Fuck here KNNN do your mother ....some sick sexual fantasies.....insult women.......racist..........that sort of stuff.

Singaporeans are rather arrogant bunch. They see themselves as superior.

You want a sinkie to praise PAP just start insulting the country. They will list all the things why you are wrong and inadvertently praise and exclaim PAP policies. LOL!
Yeah, like I mentioned if I were to emigrate elsewhere I wouldn't bother anymore with my ex-country. I was taught to never look back, and this is how I live my life. The bros who helped you probably felt the same, hence they are no longer around. They are probably too busy and happy with their lives overseas to bother with this shit-hole.

I get that you are happy with your decision, and I have mentioned I am happy for you too. I really am. Just remember that we, as the 30%, are still here and remain hopeful. Imagine that! I am an old fart but still a hopeful one. :biggrin:

@glockman sorry bro I think I must have hit a raw nerve when I said something about sinkies blind and deaf.

I know what you mean lah. What can one person do right? You seen the light. But everyone dowan to see the light. How?

It is like the Matrix the movie. Can you imagine if waking up from the matrix meant just living in that Slum city? No special upload into the matrix got powers shit? If upload all kena killed like flies by the machines? Then in real world also all kena killed by the machines bloody bloody? Who would want to wake up from the Matrix?

That's sinkieland lor.

Which is why I am took the advice of the bros and I migrated. It was tough but at least there was something worthwhile fighting for.

I do hope that some people out there read what I post. And it makes them think differently and get them to think about leaving Singapore.

The long term future of Singapore is unstable in my view. Many social ills are on the horizon.
No worries lah bro. I know where you are coming from, and I have mentioned I wish I were in your shoes!

There are many things wrong with this country. This covid-19 situation has exposed even more ills. But what to do? Just hope sinkies can see how incompetent and arrogant some ministers are. How clueless the government is. And allow alternative voices to represent us. To give the opposition a chance. Then perhaps we can start to see the country put on the right path.

Yeah, like I mentioned if I were to emigrate elsewhere I wouldn't bother anymore with my ex-country. I was taught to never look back, and this is how I live my life. The bros who helped you probably felt the same, hence they are no longer around. They are probably too busy and happy with their lives overseas to bother with this shit-hole.

I get that you are happy with your decision, and I have mentioned I am happy for you too. I really am. Just remember that we, as the 30%, are still here and remain hopeful. Imagine that! I am an old fart but still a hopeful one. :biggrin:

Actually, the real reason why I am still here perhaps is because I DID end up becoming a doctor again in Canada.

Dont know if you are aware but I hate being a doctor. When I went to Canada I was totally happy to leave medicine and start all over.

In fact it seemed like a good thing that it was so hard to be a doctor again in Canada.

But my heart and head told me that I should still do the exams and give it a shot albeit somewhat half hearted. That way say down the road things did not go well I could say I did try and medicine did not choose me.

But despite only just taking exams and applying for residency and not doing any volunteer work, they STILL CHOSE ME!!!!

Sigh. Life is like that lah. What to do? But on hindsight it works well financially because if I had stayed in oil and gas I would be out of a job now. Would it have pushed me to learn other things? Trading? be like Asterix? Who knows. This is somewhat one of my regrets. That I never had enough time to explore what else I could do. I came to Canada 2010. By 2013 I was back in medical residency. People told me takes years and years to get residency. In 2013 I became a project manager but had to give it up. Maybe I could have done something else? Maybe I could have been a total failure too

But the fact is I hate being a doctor. But it is a good job to have pays the bills well enough is stable etc. So I will take it. But I really do not like having to deal with people. All their idiosyncracies whims and fancies and you have to grit your teeth and smile and go with their agendas. Sure it is the same with other work. But at least with some other type work you deal with a handful of personalities get to know them well, do the deals and move on. With medicine it is literally tens of people every single day!!! And so what if you invest in one person? pays you $14

Oh well. so I would say being in medicine reminds me of being in Singapore. So I have not really left Singapore in that sense because I am STILL A BLOODY DOCTOR!!!

Actually, the real reason why I am still here perhaps is because I DID end up becoming a doctor again in Canada.

Dont know if you are aware but I hate being a doctor. When I went to Canada I was totally happy to leave medicine and start all over.

In fact it seemed like a good thing that it was so hard to be a doctor again in Canada.

But my heart and head told me that I should still do the exams and give it a shot albeit somewhat half hearted. That way say down the road things did not go well I could say I did try and medicine did not choose me.

But despite only just taking exams and applying for residency and not doing any volunteer work, they STILL CHOSE ME!!!!

Sigh. Life is like that lah. What to do? But on hindsight it works well financially because if I had stayed in oil and gas I would be out of a job now. Would it have pushed me to learn other things? Trading? be like Asterix? Who knows. This is somewhat one of my regrets. That I never had enough time to explore what else I could do. I came to Canada 2010. By 2013 I was back in medical residency. People told me takes years and years to get residency. In 2013 I became a project manager but had to give it up. Maybe I could have done something else? Maybe I could have been a total failure too

But the fact is I hate being a doctor. But it is a good job to have pays the bills well enough is stable etc. So I will take it. But I really do not like having to deal with people. All their idiosyncracies whims and fancies and you have to grit your teeth and smile and go with their agendas. Sure it is the same with other work. But at least with some other type work you deal with a handful of personalities get to know them well, do the deals and move on. With medicine it is literally tens of people every single day!!! And so what if you invest in one person? pays you $14

Oh well. so I would say being in medicine reminds me of being in Singapore. So I have not really left Singapore in that sense because I am STILL A BLOODY DOCTOR!!!
I was not aware, so thank you for sharing with me (with us). I know it is cliche but I believe that life is too short to be doing anything we don't enjoy.

But as far as I know from what you have written, you have done things the correct way, and you should be proud of it. I am sure your family is proud of you. You are a responsible provider. Look, not many of us are gifted with the ability and opportunity to become a doctor. To help people that way. And now you specialise in medical marijuana which is a novel way to help people. You can't do that in Sinkieland!

I have two buddies, one is a GP and the other is a gynaecologist. Both are in private practice. Both are also staunch christians (argh!:FU:), dedicated fathers and husbands, and I can confirm they love their job. They have so much passion for what they do, that I sometimes fine damn annoying!:biggrin: I also see a common trait in them. They are apolitical and don't bother much with other things beside their job. They are also nerds, measured, don't smoke, drink a little, and I have never heard them utter profanities. They fit the stereotypical image of what a doctor is. But you do seem different, so I believe your "internal conflict" and general unhappiness with your job. Your personality does seem different.

Hey, being a doctor does not mean you can't dabble with other things on the side. If anything, having a stable income should give you the confidence and financial security to start other projects, investments, etc. Even immerse yourself in new hobbies (maybe guns!). Try to find ways to make your life more fulfilling lah. Only you can do that for yourself.

Whenever I was in a doctor's office in Singapore and the doc answered a phone call (i assume it had been screened by the receptionist) it was always their broker. :)

Whenever I was in a doctor's office in Singapore and the doc answered a phone call (i assume it had been screened by the receptionist) it was always their broker. :smile:
Yeah, they like to make their money work for them. Stocks, properties and even race horses! BTW it seems your life revolves a lot around doctors, med science and vaccines. I suspect you are a bloody hypochondriac. Why? Scared to die arh boss?:biggrin:

I have a shitload of doctors in my family, cousins, aunts, uncles all in various branches of medicine. It what was one of the reasons why I didn't ever want to be a doctor because I saw what awful lives they had.

Why awful lives? I would think when one has the passion and calling, one would find one's profession a rewarding and satisfying endeavor. As for me, I only appreciate doctors when I am ill. And I don't fall ill often. However, if marijuana treatment were legal here, I would happily visit the doctor often. :biggrin:

Dr Chee and the SDP have proposed good alternatives.

But the government has gone all out to prevent their message from being heard and have demonized the man.

Dr Chee and the SDP have proposed good alternatives.

But the government has gone all out to prevent their message from being heard and have demonized the man.
I had him and the SDP's proposals in mind too. Which is why I lamented we don't have a level playing field. The government is at fault, and sinkies too.

The one party system masquerading as a Westminster style democracy will be the death of the nation, exacerbated by the insidious intervention by Temasek at all levels of our economy.

We stopped having a Westminster system a long time ago when GRCs were introduced, opposition were tracked and hunted down, etc. It's been a farce ever since. If we had stayed true, we would have a functioning democracy today, like Canada and Australia. Sinkies were unwittingly played out, yet most still do not see it today. But I remain hopeful. Will remain so until the day I die.

I share your hope.