England locked down as PM lives in Downing street.

Covid-19: PM announces four-week England lockdown
Published4 hours ago
Related Topics

media captionPrime Minister Boris Johnson: "Now is the time to take action"
Prime Minister Boris Johnson has announced a second national lockdown for England to prevent a "medical and moral disaster" for the NHS.
He said Christmas may be "very different" but he hoped taking action now would mean families can gather.
Pubs, restaurants, gyms and non-essential shops will have to close for four weeks from Thursday, he said.
But unlike the restrictions in spring, schools, colleges and universities can stay open.
After 2 December, the restrictions would be eased and regions would go back to the tiered system, he said.
Mr Johnson said: "Christmas is going to be different this year, perhaps very different, but it's my sincere hope and belief that by taking tough action now we can allow families across the country to be together."
The prime minister told a Downing Street news conference that he was "truly, truly sorry" for the impact on businesses, but said the furlough system paying 80% of employee wages will be extended through November.
"No responsible prime minister" could ignore figures which suggested deaths would reach "several thousand a day", with a "peak of mortality" worse than the country saw in April, Mr Johnson said.
He said hospitals even in the south-west of England, where cases are among the lowest, will run out of capacity in weeks.
"Doctors and nurses would be forced to choose which patients to treat, who would get oxygen and who wouldn't, who would live and who would die," Mr Johnson said.
Under the new restrictions:
  • People are being told to stay at home unless they have a specific reason to leave, such as work which cannot be done from home and education
  • And people are also allowed to leave home for exercise medical reasons, food and other essential shopping and providing care for vulnerable people or for volunteering
  • Meeting indoors or in private gardens will not be allowed
  • But individuals can meet meet one other person from another household outside in a public place
  • Pubs, bars, restaurants and non-essential retail across the nation will close but takeaways and click-and-collect shopping can remain open
  • Leisure and entertainment venues, including gyms, will also close
  • Construction sites and manufacturing workplaces can remain open
  • People are still allowed to form support bubbles
  • Children can move between homes if their parents are separated
  • Clinically vulnerable people are asked to be "especially careful" but people are not being asked to resume shielding
I suppose no premier league football.

this is end time for all the anmohs in the world
enough of bullying
enough of plunderienng
enough of cheating
enough of robbing
now karma demands they all pay back
england is dying
the angmoh empire collapsing
time to run road for those non angmohs
get threatened the world over
covid19 is the great leveller of manking
cobid19 is mr karma

The lockdowns are not going to make a scrap of difference. In fact it will make matters worse because the virus spreads more easily indoors in confined spaces.

If this is what you honestly believe to be so, you should not be staying at home. I would suggest that you sleep at a park from now onwards or even at a public busstop. Please do not stay at home.

Bugs spread more easily in winter because everyone is huddled in confined spaces. In summer respiratory infections are far lower.

The other reason is that vitamin D levels in the general population are lower in winter because people stay indoors and therefore get less sunlight.

When I first arrived in NZ I used to get the winter bug at least once or twice during the winter months despite staying indoors as close as possible to a warm fire or heater. I wondered why this happened despite staying out of the cold as much as possible.

One evening I happened to be at a dinner function and was sitting next to a Kiwi doctor. I took the opportunity to grumble about the damned winter bug. What he told me was counter intuitive but after understanding the root cause of the winter sniffles it all started to make sense.

He explained that the lack of sunlight caused vitamin D deficiency and Vitamin D was crucial in supporting the immune system. Supplements helped but absorption levels were not sufficient and the body did a far better job of converting sunlight to Vitamin D.

He also explained that hanging around indoors increased the chances of catching a respiratory infection because the rhino and corona viruses remained in the air long after an infected person had left the room. You don't have to be sitting next to a coughing and sneezing person in order to catch what they had.

I followed his advice and from then on I made it a point to get as much sunlight as possible during the winter months and also chose outdoor seating at cafes and restaurants whenever possible. To keep warm I simply put on more layers and if there were outdoor heaters I'd ask for them to be turned on.

The results were dramatic. I hardly ever get sick in winter anymore and if I do I seem to get better a lot faster.

So in conclusion I don't have to sleep in a park but I do have to spend as much time as possible in the sun and away from confined spaces.

There is an excellent article on this very subject at http://sitn.hms.harvard.edu/flash/2014/the-reason-for-the-season-why-flu-strikes-in-winter/

The flu season in the U.S. can begin as early as October, but usually does not get into full swing until December. The season generally reaches its peak in February and ends in March (2). In the southern hemisphere, however, where winter comes during our summer months, the flu season falls between June and September. In other words, wherever there is winter, there is flu (3). In fact, even its name, “influenza” may be a reference to its original Italian name, influenza di freddo, meaning “influence of the cold” (4).

A common misconception is that the flu is caused by cold temperatures. However, the influenza virus is necessary to have the flu, so cold temperatures can only be a contributing factor. In fact, some people have argued that it is not cold temperatures that make the flu more common in the winter. Rather, they attest that the lack of sunlight or the different lifestyles people lead in winter months are the primary contributing factors. Here are the most popular theories about why the flu strikes in winter:
1) During the winter, people spend more time indoors with the windows sealed, so they are more likely to breathe the same air as someone who has the flu and thus contract the virus (3).
2) Days are shorter during the winter, and lack of sunlight leads to low levels of vitamin D and melatonin, both of which require sunlight for their generation. This compromises our immune systems, which in turn decreases ability to fight the virus (3).
3) The influenza virus may survive better in colder, drier climates, and therefore be able to infect more people (3).

Bugs spread more easily in winter because everyone is huddled in confined spaces. In summer respiratory infections are far lower.

The other reason is that vitamin D levels in the general population are lower in winter because people stay indoors and therefore get less sunlight.

When I first arrived in NZ I used to get the winter bug at least once or twice during the winter months despite staying indoors as close as possible to a warm fire or heater. I wondered why this happened despite staying out of the cold as much as possible.

One evening I happened to be at a dinner function and was sitting next to a Kiwi doctor. I took the opportunity to grumble about the damned winter bug. What he told me was counter intuitive but after understanding the root cause of the winter sniffles it all started to make sense.

He explained that the lack of sunlight caused vitamin D deficiency and Vitamin D was crucial in supporting the immune system. Supplements helped but absorption levels were not sufficient and the body did a far better job of converting sunlight to Vitamin D.

He also explained that hanging around indoors increased the chances of catching a respiratory infection because the rhino and corona viruses remained in the air long after an infected person had left the room. You don't have to be sitting next to a coughing and sneezing person in order to catch what they had.

I followed his advice and from then on I made it a point to get as much sunlight as possible during the winter months and also chose outdoor seating at cafes and restaurants whenever possible. To keep warm I simply put on more layers and if there were outdoor heaters I'd ask for them to be turned on.

The results were dramatic. I hardly ever get sick in winter anymore and if I do I seem to get better a lot faster.

So in conclusion I don't have to sleep in a park but I do have to spend as much time as possible in the sun and away from confined spaces.

There is an excellent article on this very subject at http://sitn.hms.harvard.edu/flash/2014/the-reason-for-the-season-why-flu-strikes-in-winter/
That explains why Chinese get the virus first and spread it worldwide.

I've learned a lot after becoming a far more worldly person. :)

I've also realised that in order to find out the facts behind the rhetoric it is necessary to analyze any issue with an open mind rather than to simply swallow the content of articles which are invariably written by someone who has to abide by an edict or has an agenda to push.

Old wives tales don't help either. When I first arrived in NZ as a sinkie I brought my sinkie preconceptions and misconceptions with me. In SG I was always told to stay out of the cold and the rain or else I would catch a cold. I believed that this was true for more than half of my life! :roflmao:

As far as lockdowns go you can see the vast difference between the UK (constantly masked and locking down) and Sweden, with no masks and no lockdown... schools never closed... businesses all remained open.

Deaths in the UK up to 30th Oct.

Screen Shot 2020-11-01 at 5.46.52 PM.png

Deaths in Sweden up to 30th Oct.

Screen Shot 2020-11-01 at 5.46.30 PM.png

Just look at the graphs and tell me which strategy is better.

Its a old folks tale that you will fall sick in the rain. We used to play football during the rain. But only if there is no lightning.

Another interesting graph from Swedish Covid statistics. It shows that after the covid spike in March/April daily deaths returned to pre covid levels by the end of July and by the end of Aug the overall daily mortality was actually lower than the average of 2015 to 2019.

The way I interpret this data is that Covid shortened the lives of many by a few months. Yes of course that is tragic for the families concerned as death is more than just a statistic for them.

However when it comes to public health policy measures taken to combat Covid-19 should not result in an overall decline in the health of the whole population. Policies need to ensure a net gain or maintain the status quo.

If the mortality remains lower than average in Sweden throughout winter and into next summer it could well mean that overall mortality over the 2020/21 time frame did not increase whatsoever. Only time will tell but if this does come to pass it will mean that Covid is no worse than a bad flu season.

Screen Shot 2020-11-01 at 6.31.55 PM.png

See how well our govt has handled the crisis? Sinkies u don't know how lucky u r to have the Pap! :smile:

That's true, I would say the SG gahmen has done well overall in this pandemic.
Luckily we also have the money n resources.

this is end time for all the anmohs in the world
enough of bullying
enough of plunderienng
enough of cheating
enough of robbing
now karma demands they all pay back
england is dying
the angmoh empire collapsing
time to run road for those non angmohs
get threatened the world over
covid19 is the great leveller of manking
cobid19 is mr karma