• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Elevating Pinky to God-like status

Goh Chin Lian
The Straits Times
Saturday, Feb 01, 2014

SINGAPORE - A day after Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong urged young Singaporeans to seize the day, MPs and academics gave their take on the significance of his message.

They said on Wednesday that his choice of venue shows he wants to directly assure the country’s youth that they have a future and a role to play right here in Singapore.

Mr Lee had made the call at a student forum at Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

The experts also said the message is timely because young people are worried about job security, cost of living and not being able to do better than their parents.

A large part of their anxiety, they said, is fuelled by their own higher expectations of success and their hurry to achieve it.

MP Irene Ng said: “As daunting as the future may seem to young people sometimes, we should help them acquire an outlook of optimism and hope. This positive attitude is crucial for them to succeed.”

This is not the first time a prime minister has delivered such a message to a young audience.

In 2002, then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong challenged young Singaporeans to rise above their mood of despondency about the country’s future amid competition from other countries and their fears of a brain drain to these places.

Don’t be quitters, but live up to the founding generation’s never-say-die spirit, he had told them.

On Tuesday, PM Lee’s call to the young centred on the exciting opportunities that are theirs for the taking in a globalised world. He urged them to build on the older generation’s achievements.

Sociologist Tan Ern Ser, however, feels they have cause for concern as “the goal posts seem further away, and there are few low-hanging fruits”.

He said: “I believe Mr Lee has a good sense of ground sentiments, and that as the leader, he needs to inspire and motivate the people.”

The PM’s positive tone also resonated with academics like NTU provost Freddy Boey, who said it addresses Singaporeans’ tendency to worry and fail to take pride in their successes relative to others.

Singapore Management University vice-president Annie Koh feels it “(ignited) the positive energy of the youth”, amid a pervasive disillusionment among youth worldwide.

MP Baey Yam Keng, chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Culture, Community and Youth, said: “Some people may say they have no opportunities and leave the country.

“PM’s message is to remind them that this is home, where there are many things they can do, and that they should be confident of the country.”

[email protected]

This is just one of the many speeches Pinky gives. So, why the analysis on a supposedly low-key speech?

All pre-planned beforehand lah. Long before the speech was made the talking heads and academics would have already received the key points of the speech.

It also enhances Pinky's legitimacy and authority, when the minions immediately respond to his speech. It's playing politics.

It is an excellent speech. I am proud of my PM and I am certainly inspired by his words.

You won't be so inspired if you ever return to Singapore. My bet is you will be arrested when you try to enter the country.

Why would the government arrest one of the staunchest supporters. :rolleyes:

I have been in and out of Singapore 3 times in the last year and have never had any problems whatsoever.

Don't be quitters, be upgraders
If you were meant to be rooted
Bipedal primate you wouldn't be
Be it South China or Sumatra
Your forebears were pioneers

Lightning wants obedient youth
All this talk about remake and new
Nothing but bullshit by White Scums
Bottom line is creative people
Won't vote for dictatorial Leegime
Nor turn blind eye to FIXing nonsense

Go West life is peaceful there
Come back every five years
Personally cast your vote
That's the best you can do
For your daft Sinkie compatriots
While enjoying Swiss life elsewhere

http://youtube.com/watch?v=SezoGW_z9w0

I be evenest more prouderest of Ah Loon when he makes hisself the Grand Field Marshallissimo and award hisself the First Class Victoria Cross made of platinum with the cheebye leaves seehum clusters and two crossed parangs

I can agree that eventually everyone must be able to afford their own homes but everyone wants to own a car is something else. If this is so, traffic will crawl and so 1,000 cc car is enough. If Gov't trying to maintain an efficient transport system, they better improve public transport dramatically.

Like spreading the myths of the "exceptional family and the heavyweight ministers". :rolleyes:

I can agree that eventually everyone must be able to afford their own homes but everyone wants to own a car is something else. If this is so, traffic will crawl and so 1,000 cc car is enough. If Gov't trying to maintain an efficient transport system, they better improve public transport dramatically.

When Spore had a population of 2+ million owning a car/motorcycle was more feasible. Now with so many rich foreigners here, the PAP can charge $$$ for the privilege of owning cars.

The problem is with the parasitic behaviour of the PAP which is controlled by one family. They will always find ways to profit from ALL residents of Spore e.g. water conservancy fee, worker's tax(CPF), ERP, COE, ......

Smart ones already quitted long time back. Including samboy.

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    37.2 KB · Views: 160