• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Electricity prices go up because of natural gas prices - really?

Firstly, I am going to plead total ignorance on the relationship between oil and natural gas prices.

In a strange moment of synchronisity, whilst surfing the net at Hong Kong airport, I came across two articles. One article in TODAY headlined: "Electricity to cost more from tomorrow.". The justification for the increase was reported as follows:

The average fuel oil price over the last three months - between Jan 1 to March 15 - increased by 7.3 per cent from S$127.07 to S$136.37 per barrel. "This increase in fuel oil prices saw a corresponding increase in the price of natural gas which is used for power generation in Singapore," said SP Services.

The second article I read is from CANADIAN BUSINESS pertaining to oil prices. But in that article the following is stated:

Natural gas prices fell to a 10-year low amid a glut of U.S. supplies.

- http://article14.blogspot.com/2012/04/electricity-prices-go-up-because-of.html

I thought we gonna have a competitive prices when they privatized our energy sector.Use natural gas..but pay according to oil prices...Good job...

Bloody hell.

Just ordered another standard Esso gas tank.

Last price ( 2 months ago ) $34 and now $39.

That is more then 10% increased within 2 months, how do they derived that, something must be wrong with the control or the source that we are buying from. Next, I can imagine the basic food prices are going to go up even further.

They want to increase the price because of profiteering & not because of costs going up.

Since the price increases are unjustified they have to find some excuse. Same thing happened when they wanted to increase the bus fares. Excuses such as phantom fare cheats, replacing the bus fleet, for better service, etc was used.

I thought we gonna have a competitive prices when they privatized our energy sector.Use natural gas..but pay according to oil prices...Good job...

Their salaries are based on competitive prices, whereas the consumer have no choice by pay, what the monopolist say, oil prices increase, gas prices increase, coal prices increase...the people employed to paddle the turbines, salaries increased too...:D what to do, the 60.1% just love to repeat this...decades after decades...same old shit, after the electection..."sorry seems to be a weirdest word":mad:

Do we get our natural gas from the US? I didn't think so, but surely it's natural that cheaper natural gas prices in the US, caused by various local factors that should have a dampening effect on natural gas prices here right? Right?

You all don't want to pay high prices? Not happy? Learn from the Indo's lah, come here kpkb for what?

Jialat liao...next time maybe have to go pick tree branches and coconut husks to fuel my stove :(

Then the RC will go after you because the tree planted by them.

Jialat liao...next time maybe have to go pick tree branches and coconut husks to fuel my stove :(

Do we get our natural gas from the US? I didn't think so, but surely it's natural that cheaper natural gas prices in the US, caused by various local factors that should have a dampening effect on natural gas prices here right? Right?

You all don't want to pay high prices? Not happy? Learn from the Indo's lah, come here kpkb for what?

Learn what from indonesia?we buy our natural gas from indon lah

Firstly, I am going to plead total ignorance on the relationship between oil and natural gas prices.

In a strange moment of synchronisity, whilst surfing the net at Hong Kong airport, I came across two articles. One article in TODAY headlined: "Electricity to cost more from tomorrow.". The justification for the increase was reported as follows:

The average fuel oil price over the last three months - between Jan 1 to March 15 - increased by 7.3 per cent from S$127.07 to S$136.37 per barrel. "This increase in fuel oil prices saw a corresponding increase in the price of natural gas which is used for power generation in Singapore," said SP Services.

The second article I read is from CANADIAN BUSINESS pertaining to oil prices. But in that article the following is stated:

- http://article14.blogspot.com/2012/04/electricity-prices-go-up-because-of.html

It clearly shows that it sucks being a sinkie and staying in sinkieland..

You are screwed daily and harder and harder each year.. you wanna know why?..... check my signature!!!!

They want to increase the price because of profiteering & not because of costs going up.

Since the price increases are unjustified they have to find some excuse. Same thing happened when they wanted to increase the bus fares. Excuses such as phantom fare cheats, replacing the bus fleet, for better service, etc was used.

what can you do beside posting in the forum and sounded so enlightening and intelligent and expound the truth for all......????

Sounded so enlightening is better than sound like a Sinkie fucktard like you, Sinkie loser no. 1

All these years, it's up and up and away. Every three months, they screw their citizens with the increase. As someone had said, the 60% really love it.

privatized liao of course more expensive what.......................the power stations all sold to foreign companies so they want to recoup back their costs.....................

then SingPower jack up prices to make money merely as opeartors of those power stations..................

oil or gas dosent matter 1 ...

all dey want is 2 ensure private coy make obscene profits from daft peasants ...

c how dey anyhow gif moni 2 smrt? ... smrt got no moni meh? ...

At least I've had the opportunity to vote for the opposition. However as long as the 60% still support the regime very little will change. I predict that real change will only take place when the opposition takes at least 51% of the seats.

buy natural gas yes from Indon, but i suspect the supply is totally unreliable.

and we have sold off almost all power stations to Mudland or Ah tiongs..

thot they are looking at:

- buying from Mudland
- nuclear?

If nuclear how to price the electricity? To the price of uranium in the black mkt? LOL