• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

EDMWers discuss buying online from Shopee vs Lazada vs AliExpress vs TaoBao vs PinDuoDuo

UltimaOnline

1769976086841.png

XiaoChilli :​

Alot of sellers in shopee get their supplies from taobao

I usually buy from taobao if Im not urgent for the goods. Cheaper than shopee and wait 1 week for air shipment.

I buy from shopee and their sg sellers when I need the goods almost immediately. More expensive than taobao but 1 or 2 days later I can collect at collection point liao.

What about you?

1769976133283.png

MoeLanYong :​

Shopee. Not keen to wait for taobao. Language barrier too. I dunno how to scold the taobao seller in mandarin. He may think it is a greeting.

1769976086841.png

U might think the CSO want to kiss you.

Coz they alway greet you by 亲亲here and 亲亲there.

swenson :​

Shopee for knick knacks
Lazada Redmart for groceries
Aliexpress for cheaper versions of shopee
Taobao for larger qty of cheap stuff, not found in aliexpress/shopee or household spare parts

Alphafire :​

Good general strategy. I prefer to buy from PinDuoDuo as I can use rmb to pay for it and it’s even cheaper than taobao. Also for taobao there is a credit card charge for currency conversion. Like you if it’s urgent I use shopee or lazada after comparing prices. Sometimes there is a 5 times price difference between shopee and PDD. The most ridiculous are those youtube or tiktok advertisements which at times price difference can be as much as 30 times!

1769976086841.png

PinDuoDuo cam't buy on website, have to buy using app, and not in google playstore, dont dare to dl apk file.
Taobao I use alipay instead of credit card

1769976953539.png

neutralph :​

savoirex :
Taobao ish cheap but the packaging ish really rubbish, moi quite often received dented/damaged gds but sua lah~
Pay for the wooden crate. It really helps and you will be shock how much damages it is done to the crate...

1769977022672.png

ninelives :​

Reading chinese on TB and PDD very difficult lah. last time bought at aliexpress. now got shopee liao, i usually just buy from there.

1769977079416.png

PrinceY :​

Taobao app not designed to best use in English?? This is the only thing turned me off from using

Recently signed up with email, then ask me to link mobile number, but OTP forever never come one.. then I sign up with mobile and change language to Chinese then delete that account and sign up with the earlier email and then ask me to link mobile number, the OTP came instantly..

Why Chinese language only show RMB currency despite me selected SGD? Don’t like they auto translate the Chinese to English product name, sounds so weird wonder will affect searches or not..

My Chinese is good and have no problem reading and using, but I really rather see in English and if they offer such options, then at least work better on it

1769977146374.png

foreveru13 :​

i found shopee more expensive than lazada.
then sometimes both shopee and lazada can be even cheaper than TB!
so. always compare before buying lor, with the screenshot and search by image feature, super easy.

1769977232207.png

Jian19 :​

Taobao sometimes quite troublesome and expensive

Got one time I try to buy a chair , it's $15 from tb but shipping $30

I buy from Lazada total only $20!

iosnewbie :​

Taobao has more variants of the same item. Sometimes can ask the seller to specially configure a certain combination of sizes/colors of the same item. More importantly, the sellers are very patient with answering questions about their products. Shopee sellers seldom answer my chat messages.

1769977388178.png

Ya sometimes Shopee can be even cheaper than Taobao but didnt state the measurements.. I end up buying from taobao cz need the exact measurements.

1769977480681.png

coyote :​

Pinduoduo is better than both Taobao and Shopee.

Taobao is RMB199 for free shipping to Singapore.
Pinduoduo is RMB99 for free shipping to Singapore.
Pinduoduo is cheapest because of consolidated shipment which also means slow sea shipping. Taobao is faster and thus not the cheapest.
If you want the fastest, can't beat shopee.

Price wise,
Pinduoduo>>Taobao>>Shopee

Speed wise
Shopee>>Taobao>>Pinduoduo

1769977631580.png

JonWeak :​

Tabao is good cos got more variety. But one thing I don't like is need pay customs before they ship item(s). Not sure how this works cos I normally 2-3 items nia

Shopee I like cos can use moi coins. And I no need take screenshot for translation. But less variety and some items slightly more ex than TB.

1769977480681.png

coyote :​

Shopee incorporated the 9% GST in their prices. You just didn't see it breaking down on the details.
Taobao, showed you the 9%, made sure you paid first before shipping.
Pinduoduo will ship to the consolidation warehouse first. Once all of them reached the warehouse, you pay 9% GST together and they will consolidate all into one package and ship to Singapore. So pinduoduo is cheapest in shipping fee and take longest by sea shipment.

Taobao will sometimes not consolidate and if you buy say > RMB199 in one item and qualify for free air shipment it be much faster than sea shipment.

Fastest is by shopee as item already in Singapore warehouse. GST is prepaid by the wholesaler, probably why we don't see that. It's included.

messidona :​

taobao no english version, cannot pay by credit card, always kena error. sucks.
Shopee is good.