• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

dying alone

yellowarse

Dying alone is a widespread reality in all advanced societies. Low birth rates, small family size, demise of the extended family, cohabitation supplanting marriage, high divorce rates, ageing population, medical advances increasing lifespan ... how not to die alone - and lonely?

Singapore is just now facing the same phenomenon because of a rapidly declining fertility rate and the breakdown of the traditional family nucleus. A global trend, true, but one that's also exacerbated by myopic PAP socio-economic policies through the years.

At least in countries with strong social welfare the state takes over and provides the support. For instance, many old single folks in Sweden, even those with family, voluntarily check into nursing homes and hospices when their health fail. The healthier ones live in retirement communes. It's some consolation they get to die in an institution, surrounded by staff and inmates and fellow lone birds, not all alone and undiscovered and rotting in a decrepit old house.

Even in death people deserve some dignity.

my uncle say some people marry due to they scare to die alone. He say his old time friend did that and now he realised if his wife die first he also will die alone.
for those in their 70s and 80s who lost a spouse i understand. if their children don’t bother to look after them they will most likely die alone. best is for a 2-some or 3-some to rent a flat together, do good together and die together. like what i’m doing now.

PAP minister must be so PROUD that Singaporeans did not died alone recently. MOTHER & SON DIED SUICIDED TOGETHER! HUAT AH!

http://www.theindependent.sg/decomposing-bodies-of-mother-and-son-found-hanging-in-tampines-flat/

Decomposing bodies of mother and son found hanging in Tampines flat
November 29, 2017
Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

The deceased mother's son in law stumbled upon the gruesome scene on Monday

The decomposing bodies of 66-year-old Lee Gek Lan and her 27-year-old son Toh Boon Siong were discovered hanging in a locked bedroom in their apartment at Block 727, Tampines Street 71 on Monday, in what appears to be a double suicide.

According to the Chinese daily, the gruesome scene was discovered by Lee’s son-in-law when he returned to the flat after a three-day stay at the hospital for an operation.

Paramedics who arrived at the scene after 4pm on Monday, along with the police, pronounced the mother and son dead. No foul play is suspected at this time.

It is believed that Toh was suffering from severe depression but it is unclear if his depression is linked to their deaths.

Neighbours have told reporters that the family who moved into their Tampines flat two years ago were quiet and rarely seen. One neighbour, Madam Ho who has lived in the block for over 20 years, said, “Their door is always closed and we rarely see them.”

Another neighbour, a 59-year-old packer named Madam Gina, said she regularly walks past the unit but has never seen the deceased mother and son before: “The family is very quiet. We don’t know much about them.”

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/mother-son-found-dead-in-apparent-suicide

Mother, son found dead in Tampines flat in apparent suicide
Published
Nov 29, 2017, 5:00 am SGT
Ng Huiwen

A 66-year-old woman and her 27-year-old son were found dead in their flat on Monday, in what appeared to be a double suicide.

Madam Lee Gek Lan and Mr Toh Boon Siong were found hanged in a bedroom in their flat in Block 727, Tampines Street 71.

The police received a call at 4.21pm that day and paramedics who arrived at the scene pronounced them dead.

The Straits Times understands that no foul play is suspected.

The decomposing bodies were found in a locked bedroom by Madam Lee's son-in-law, who had returned home after a three-day hospital stay for an operation, according to Chinese evening daily Lianhe Wanbao.

Mr Toh is understood to have been suffering from severe depression, Lianhe Wanbao quoted a close friend of the victims as saying. However, it is not clear if his condition was linked to their deaths.

Neighbours told The Straits Times yesterday that the family moved into the five-room flat about two years ago, but that they did not know who else lives in the unit.

• HELPLINES
  • Samaritans Of Singapore: 1800-221-4444

Singapore Association For Mental Health: 1800-283-7019

Institute Of Mental Health's Mobile Crisis Service: 6389-2222

Care Corner Counselling Centre (Mandarin): 1800-353-5800

Silver Ribbon: 6386-1928

Tinkle Friend: 1800-274-4788
A neighbour who lives on the same floor, and who wanted to be known only as Madam Ho, said the family members often kept to themselves. "Their door is always closed and we rarely see them," said Madam Ho, who has lived there for more than 20 years.

Another neighbour, a 59-year-old packer who identified herself as Madam Gina, said she often walks past the unit but had never seen Madam Lee or her son before.

"The family is very quiet. We don't know much about them," she said, adding that the police were at the block until past 9pm on Monday.

Peasants pse DIED TOGETHER, NOT ALONE!
positive that comes out of this is that the flat will be freed up for sale or rent.

Anyone know where LKY was staying in the twilight of his years?

Wife was gone. Daughter living in Oxley Road, LHL & Ho Ching have their own home. So was LKY staying alone at the Istana with maids, body Guards, ...etc

without the so’s and gurkhas, he would have throngs of sinkie admirers willing to scoop his poop and wipe his arse. megalomaniacs and those exhibiting megalomania tendencies are alone all their lives because they are intolerant of others and insufferable. like one condenscending bitch and nut case here on sbf. everyone knows who, just don’t want to offend. but i’m like trump. shoot first think later.

58930045_SINGAPORE_3250047b.jpg

Many are single because they are too negative in their outlook. Always the wet blanket, always having nothing positive to say. People avoid them, and if they are still lucky enough to get married, have very few kids or no kids because they over think the costs of raising kids or their negativity affects their fertility.

You will be more positive about life if you support the PAP. Oppies are perpetual whiners and losers, just like terrorists. The good desi from smrt described oppie singletons aptly.
i have 2 in the family who are aged in their 60s and still single. never married. and never dated all their lives. yet they are pap supporters. work all their lives for the family business. it’s like a duty to carry the family torch. they claim they are burdened and busy with making money for the family but i call it sacrifice. they are like priest and priestess committed their whole lives to honor parents’ lifelong dedication to creating an enterprise in order for all in the family to live long and prosper. truly commendable. meanwhile the next generation are disinterested to carry the torch and are basically useless. many of them, especially spoilt princesses, are single and contented with living out their lives as spinsters. i have persuaded them to date, marry, have children, and groom them to support the pap. otherwise, pap will have no choice but open the flood gates (again) to groom new supporters. :p

Dying alone is a widespread reality in all advanced societies. Low birth rates, small family size, demise of the extended family, cohabitation supplanting marriage, high divorce rates, ageing population, medical advances increasing lifespan ... how not to die alone - and lonely?

Singapore is just now facing the same phenomenon because of a rapidly declining fertility rate and the breakdown of the traditional family nucleus. A global trend, true, but one that's also exacerbated by myopic PAP socio-economic policies through the years.

At least in countries with strong social welfare the state takes over and provides the support. For instance, many old single folks in Sweden, even those with family, voluntarily check into nursing homes and hospices when their health fail. The healthier ones live in retirement communes. It's some consolation they get to die in an institution, surrounded by staff and inmates and fellow lone birds, not all alone and undiscovered and rotting in a decrepit old house.

Even in death people deserve some dignity.

europeans are more considerate and prefer self-determination. they will die and someone will be notified early to collect the bodies before they becum a mess. asians however die and leave the mess for someone else to clean up, the so called “considerate” japanese included. all my euro buddies are already contemplating moving into retirement communities where maid and medical services are provided. not hospices yet. but convalescent homes are also in their plans after the age of 80. we share all our end of life plans. whoever outlive each other will attend to the dying days and funeral preparations.

They have wasted their lives in the illusion that they are working for the family.

By now, they have no family left and have to mooch on their surviving extended family for human affection.

Strange PAP supporters. They flatly reject Ah Gong's advice to get married and make kids.

So who's going to inherit the family business of these childless losers?

i have 2 in the family who are aged in their 60s and still single. never married. and never dated all their lives. yet they are pap supporters. work all their lives for the family business. it’s like a duty to carry the family torch. they claim they are burdened and busy with making money for the family but i call it sacrifice. they are like priest and priestess committed their whole lives to honor parents’ lifelong dedication to creating an enterprise in order for all in the family to live long and prosper. truly commendable. meanwhile the next generation are disinterested to carry the torch and are basically useless. many of them, especially spoilt princesses, are single and contented with living out their lives as spinsters. i have persuaded them to date, marry, have children, and groom them to support the pap. otherwise, pap will have no choice but open the flood gates (again) to groom new supporters. :p

So who's going to inherit the family business of these childless losers?

nieces and nephews, but they will sell all and cash out. i've advised siblings to sell as much of their shares now as possible to enjoy the proceeds while they are still breathing. they can work less hours, hire more workers, travel more, dine at fancy restaurants, drive a brand new porsche (like i do), ride a colnado (like i do), fly 1st class, stay in 6.9-star hotels, relac, shake legs, get on sbf, and post pics of sexy women.

Hangover

nieces and nephews, but they will sell all and cash out. i've advised siblings to sell as much of their shares now as possible to enjoy the proceeds while they are still breathing. they can work less hours, hire more workers, travel more, dine at fancy restaurants, drive a brand new porsche (like i do), ride a colnado (like i do), fly 1st class, stay in 6.9-star hotels, relac, shake legs, get on sbf, and post pics of sexy women.

One day a fisherman was lying on a beautiful beach, enjoying the warmth of the afternoon sun and the prospect of catching a fish.

About that time, a businessman came walking down the beach trying to relieve some of the stress of his workday. He noticed the fisherman sitting on the beach and decided to find out why this fisherman was fishing instead of working harder to make a living for himself and his family. “You aren’t going to catch many fish that way,” said the businessman. “You should be working rather than lying on the beach!”

The fisherman looked up at the businessman, smiled and replied, “And what will my reward be?”

“Well, you can get bigger nets and catch more fish!” was the businessman’s answer.

“And then what will my reward be?” asked the fisherman, still smiling.

The businessman replied, “You will make money and you’ll be able to buy a boat, which will then result in larger catches of fish!”

“And then what will my reward be?” asked the fisherman again.

The businessman was beginning to get a little irritated with the fisherman’s questions. “You can buy a bigger boat, and hire some people to work for you!” he said.

“And then what will my reward be?” repeated the fisherman.

The businessman was getting angry. “Don’t you understand? You can build up a fleet of fishing boats, sail all over the world, and let all your employees catch fish for you!”

Once again the fisherman asked, “And then what will my reward be?”

The businessman was red with rage and shouted at the fisherman, “Don’t you understand that you can become so rich that you will never have to work for your living again! You can spend all the rest of your days sitting on this beach, looking at the sunset. You won’t have a care in the world!”

The fisherman, still smiling, looked up and said, “And what do you think I’m doing right now?”

Reddog

Ah! My subject.
Death is a reality, a fact of life, so wouldn't it be better to approach it with openness and acceptance, rather than fear and denial?
Perhaps the discomfort we feel towards death is because we think it will be a terrible , painful and depressing experience It need not be so. Dying can be a time of learning and growth, a time of deepening our love, our awareness of what is important in life ; and our faith and commitment to spiritual belief. It can be an opportunity to gain insight into the true nature of ourselves. Who we really are. Who we are before our parents labelled us with our present name.
The really important issue here is our own preparedness and preparation done to welcome death. At death our mind should be peaceful and we are in an environment of our comfort. We will all die.
Congratulations !

The West is no better when it comes to living by themselves. It more a norm than the East. Some fall victim to fraud, retirement home abuse etc.

The good part is that many in the West have taken advantage of council scheme such as alarms, shopping shuttles, meals on wheels, and their outstanding welfare safety net.

The introduction of AMD has also stopped unnecessary suffering.

The only good thing is that the PAP desperate for votes have begun to some of these things. PAP MPs have now begun attending funerals.

happening in sg.

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/woman-92-found-dead-circuit-road-flat

Woman, 92, found dead in Circuit Road flat

Ang Hwee Min

Apr 25, 2017 06:00 am

An elderly woman, who had been living alone for years, was found dead in her ninth-storey flat at Circuit Road yesterday evening.
The New Paper understands that she was found in the kitchen, where there were burn marks.
TNP also understands an explosion was heard in the flat, which may have been caused by a gas stove.
The Singapore Civil Defence Force said it was alerted to an incident at Block 87, Circuit Road, at 7.06pm.
Two fire engines, a Red Rhino and an ambulance were dispatched to the scene.
A spokesman said that there was no fire in the three-room flat when its officers arrived, but burn marks were seen in the kitchen area.

SINGAPORE
Smoke detectors a must for all new homes from June 2018
Nov 17, 2017
Paramedics later pronounced an elderly woman dead inside the unit. The cause of the fire is under investigation.
Officers from Singapore Power and City Gas were also seen in the flat.
An elderly man, who identified himself as a relative of the victim, said she was 92 years old and healthy.
Neighbours said they saw her yesterday morning going to the market nearby to buy groceries.
They said she had four sons, and one would always visit her in the evenings.

https://sg.theasianparent.com/elderly-father-found-dead-in-trash-filled-home/

Elderly father found dead in trash-filled home

An elderly man was found dead in a huge pile of trash that spilled out of his Bedok Reservoir flat. As investigations continue, the man was said to have started his hoarding behaviour a decade ago -- at about the same time his wife and daughter left him.
In what police have categorised as an “unnatural death”, a 76-year-old man was found dead in his Bedok Reservoir home, underneath trash that was piled up to the ceiling and spilling out of the flat entrance. It is not known how long he had died.

The police and Civil Defence personnel spent hours trying to gain access to the heavily-locked flat and sifting through the contents of the flat before finding the elderly man’s body.

According to neighbours, the man spent his days scavenging for what he calls “treasures” in neighbourhood rubbish bins, which he would then bring home in plastic bags. The man’s home had no running water or electricity.

Neighbours also revealed that the man’s hoarding behaviour began 10 years ago, when his wife and daughter moved out of their home.

The beginnings of a compulsive hoarder

Hoarding-shutterstock_87052121-e1345544982703.jpg

Some hoarders may be keeping their stash for sentimental reasons or in the hopes of turning their collection into cash. Severe cases of hoarding can be attributed to compulsive-obsessive disorder (OCD) and schizophrenia, though in medical terms, compulsive hoarding is recognised as a symptom of a mental illness and not a mental illness in itself. According to the website MayoClinic.com, hoarding triggers may include age, hereditary and genetic factors, social withdrawal, alcohol abuse or a stressful life event.

Most hoarders will deny or not readily acknowledge they are having a hoarding problem in the first place. Hoarders may also exhibit signs of loneliness and social isolation, which only worsen their problems. This makes managing a compulsive hoarder a complex task that requires lots of patience, and small steps.

Help for hoarders, support for families

Social interaction should be encouraged; if visitors aren’t welcome in the house, try to reconnect with friends and family outside the home, or engage in any activity that ensures the individual engages socially.

If the mess hinders daily activities like cleaning, showering or food preparation, try to clear the area (or at least move the items to a less obstructive area) so you can do these things properly.

Family members dealing with a compulsive hoarder usually cannot handle the situation by themselves — nor should they expect themselves to; there are a number of helplines and welfare organisations that hoarders and/or their families can approach. Do bear in mind that the HDB, town councils and residents’ committees can offer only limited help in these cases. Your neighbourhood Family Service Centres or the National Council of Social Services are much better equipped to offer help, and can also link you up with relevant volunteer welfare organisations that provide the eldercare services that you need.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/ne...e-lain-undiscovered-for-at-least-three-weeks/

GRIM DISCOVERY
Elderly couple found dead in their Edinburgh flat feared to have lain undiscovered for ‘at least three weeks’

Mystery surrounds the deaths of pensioners Walter and Margaret Broadbent, whose bodies were found in their Sighthill flat in the early hours of Sunday.

By Mary McCool
16th March 2017, 12:29 pm
A MARRIED elderly couple found dead in their Edinburgh home are feared to have lain undiscovered for “at least three weeks”.

Mystery surrounds the deaths of pensioners Walter and Margaret Broadbent, whose bodies were found in their Sighthill flat in the early hours of Sunday.

The couple lived in Calder Gardens
Cops attended their address in Calder Gardens after a neighbour’s son reportedly called concerned about the pair.

Former soldier Walter, 72 was said to have taken care of ill Margaret, 60 – carrying their shopping and helping her get about.

A Police Scotland spokesman said: “Police in Edinburgh responded to an address in Calder Gardens during the early hours of Sunday 12th March following a report of concern for the occupants.

“After entering the property the bodies of a 72-year-old man and 60-year-old woman were found within.

“Inquiries into their deaths are ongoing, however there appear to be no suspicious circumstances and report will be sent to the Procurator Fiscal.”

Fire crews also attended the scene with one appliance – but were not needed.