• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Dragon King Orders RI To Take In Losers And Betas! Giving In To Oppie Populist Pressure?

a01a4fb33f26468b278fe072fa13f623

The Ministry of Education (MOE) will work with Raffles Institution (RI) and other “popular schools” to ensure they do not become “self-perpetuating closed circles”, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in Parliament on Wednesday (16 May).

Recounting an anecdote that Education Minister Ong Ye Kung recently shared with him, Lee said that RI’s historically strong tradition of accepting students from diverse backgrounds has eroded in “recent years”.

The PM noted that during the RI principal’s visits to different primary schools, some parents told the principal that they were not keen on having their children apply to the school – not because their children could not make the cut, but out of fear that they would not fit in with the well-off students there.

While he noted that such fears are “unfounded” – citing the availability of bursaries and subsidies and the fact that RI students do come from “varied backgrounds” – he added that the existence of such perceptions is “not good” for both the school and Singapore if it prevents promising students from applying to RI.

Earlier in his speech, Lee acknowledged a “further obstacle” to social mobility in Singapore: elite groups that become closed social circles, which prevent outsiders from entering.

“Every society has its elite. They occupy the key leadership positions in society, in government, in academia, in business, in professions, in politics…

“They may be alumni of the same schools, they may have done business with one other, they may have worked in the same profession,” said Lee.

While such networks are “natural structures” in society and an important part of our social capital, Lee noted that they must not close up or form glass ceilings.

“If this happens, not only will social mobility be frustrated. But soon the elite group would start to only look after only its own interests and fail in their duty to lead and care for the rest of society and that would be disastrous for Singapore,” said the 66-year-old premier.

Lee also stressed that while the Singapore government is “doing many things to improve social mobility”, there are no easy solutions and “no magic bullets”.

The most successful models for social mobility, he said, are perhaps “the Scandinavian countries… but even they have seen social inequality”.

Lee noted that Singapore’s strategy has been “more successful than most” when it came to universal education and home ownership.

“We’ve made meritocracy work… (but) we must work harder to keep the pathways (for social mobility) open,” he said, adding that, “In the end, the government must focus on practical, effective policies.”

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/moe-work-...t-become-closed-circles-pm-lee-085954132.html

why would a unelite parent not send their kid to a "elite" school if they make the grades,if the elite school is most likely their only key to elitism?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Natural aristocrat talking about inequality?

What a joke! This is the Emperor's new clothes situation.

r.i. is targetted by him because it’s not his alma mater. meanwhile, his alpha mater is one who wears pants and serves tea-masak (with your billions) like a tea auntie.

RI should be ok for students from all background but not all schools are ok for students from all background. Some mission schools that have a lot of donations stuff will cause stress to parents and students. At least that is what I heard during my time as student. Not sure whether still true or not.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Actually the way PM Lee describes RI......it's just that RI has become ACS lah. What's the problem?

Like that ACS leh? ACS has been like that since the 80s. Nobody say anything about them leh.

The irony in this article is just screeeaaamming "bollocks"!!!

You want true equity? Mandate classroom size of maximum 25 students to 1 teacher. Why? Only GEPers deserve small class size is it?

how do u stop a self fulfilling prophecy from coming true?the only reason in the past the students of R.I came from diverse backgrounds because Singapore was still relatively poor back then and most sinkie coolie and farmers were mostly uneducated or lowly educated so the students came from poor backgrounds as well as rich.....as time went by.the students from r.i. and those popular elite schools grew up and took up higher paying white collar professional jobs,they also tend to have smart children so these smart children end up in elite schools,these children have smart parents who tend to be high earners and also graduates from elite schools themselves,the cycle of reinforcement begins....its not a coincidence that the students that enrolled in elite schools tend to have parents who came from elite schools u know and married spouses from elite schools and have children that end up in elite schools,its not a matter of deliberate human action or prejudice,its a fact of life,darwin's evolution.

of course the only problem with these is if the smart sinkies only breed with other smart sinkies,the gene pool could become stale and repeated,because sinkies gene pool is already limited to begin with,30,000 babies born each year,top 10 or 20 percent mating with each other,we talking about 3000 to 6000 selectively farking each other,sinkie gene pool is gonna become a freak show of hillbilly incest and deliverance and albinos and deranged hobbits like lky's offspring.bad and deleterious genes get trapped within the elite gene pool cause they have nowhere to go,no fresh genetic material from outside to mix and replace with.i encourage our sinkie women to open up and be farked by ang moh dua kees and high caste shytskins in order to produce the next generation of super sinkies.

bad and deleterious genes get trapped within the elite gene pool cause they have nowhere to go,no fresh genetic material from outside to mix and replace with.

Let's fuck the foreigners! Ang Mohs are the best!

on 20/20, gotta give it to LTG and Marborky... They took the lead!

Agoraphobic

Peesai's position in education is known worldwide. Maybe not to our standards, but young people, teens in many Asian and African countries view Singapore with a lot of positivism. Give it a chance.

Seee3

Barking up the wrong tree.

In the 70s, about 50% of RI students are from poor families. By the 90s, maybe only 10% are from poor families.

Big bullshit that good students from poor families don't choose RI for fear of not being able to cope with mingling with the rich. The truth is few poor students can make the grade to RI.

The rich can afford good tuition and parents have knowledge to coach the kids. The poor goes neighborhood tuition center. Struggled to employ maid to spoil the kids.

What about the schools? Good teachers leave, and becomes a place for accumulation of " those who can't teach". Unless one is self motivated and super intelligent, he/she cannot get the grade to go RI just by attending school lessons. On top of the fact that most teachers don't or can't teach, the psle exam questions have reached ridiculous level. School teaches only 1+1=2. But the psle exam questions you way beyond that.

The irony in this article is just screeeaaamming "bollocks"!!!

Sure....rehashing old rubbish again...sure!....ask him, about the schools he attended? including the girl school...no class divide ha ha ha...I attended schools in which he says are still “self-perpetuating closed circles” till this day...for example, " grandad was educated there, dad too & now junior" not to mention, siblings, cousins...& the teachers have taught dad & now junior & the older teachers who are still alive have taught grandad. One should preach what one preaches...what schools , did he send his kids to?? "self-perpetucating"...ha ha ha

Tell mee siam mai hum...to dismantle the "feeder" system....dare he? & get those elite to attend neighbourhood schools??

how do u stop a self fulfilling prophecy from coming true?the only reason in the past the students of R.I came from diverse backgrounds because Singapore was still relatively poor back then and most sinkie coolie and farmers were mostly uneducated or lowly educated so the students came from poor backgrounds as well as rich.....as time went by.the students from r.i. and those popular elite schools grew up and took up higher paying white collar professional jobs,they also tend to have smart children so these smart children end up in elite schools,these children have smart parents who tend to be high earners and also graduates from elite schools themselves,the cycle of reinforcement begins....its not a coincidence that the students that enrolled in elite schools tend to have parents who came from elite schools u know and married spouses from elite schools and have children that end up in elite schools,its not a matter of deliberate human action or prejudice,its a fact of life,darwin's evolution.

of course the only problem with these is if the smart sinkies only breed with other smart sinkies,the gene pool could become stale and repeated,because sinkies gene pool is already limited to begin with,30,000 babies born each year,top 10 or 20 percent mating with each other,we talking about 3000 to 6000 selectively farking each other,sinkie gene pool is gonna become a freak show of hillbilly incest and deliverance and albinos and deranged hobbits like lky's offspring.bad and deleterious genes get trapped within the elite gene pool cause they have nowhere to go,no fresh genetic material from outside to mix and replace with.i encourage our sinkie women to open up and be farked by ang moh dua kees and high caste shytskins in order to produce the next generation of super sinkies.

Exactly! Thanks to the PAP, everybody is becoming richer. So now that there is less students from poor family background in RI, you can’t turn around and say that’s also the PAP’s fault can you? :confused:

In fact we should instead praise Loong for helping more Singaporeans become rich! :cool:

Barking up the wrong tree.

In the 70s, about 50% of RI students are from poor families. By the 90s, maybe only 10% are from poor families.

There are no poor families in Singapore anymore. Almost all families have iPhones or Samsungs.

Seee3

There are no poor families in Singapore anymore. Almost all families have iPhones or Samsungs.
Agreed if we use absolute value to compare the poor in the 70s and now. I should use "comparatively poorer". Would be interesting to find out the percentage of RI kids living in 4-rm hdb flats and below.