http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_696069.html

The Straits Times
www.straitstimes.com
Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Jul 29, 2011
Singaporean law academic dies of rare brain disease
By Fiona Low

New York University assistant professor of law Sarah Woo Pei Yee, who died on July 15, was on holiday with her husband in Toronto, Canada, when she fainted. She was rushed to a hospital in the city, and later transferred to the New York Presbyterian Hospital, where she died seven weeks later. -- PHOTO: COURTESY OF WOO CHEOK SENG

A SINGAPOREAN law academic has died in New York aged 33, after she contracted encephalitis, a rare disease that causes inflammation of the brain.

Dr Sarah Woo Pei Yee - an assistant professor of law at New York University (NYU) who graduated top of her class at the National University of Singapore (NUS) - fainted in a hotel room while on holiday with her husband in Toronto, Canada.

She was taken to a hospital there and later transferred to the New York Presbyterian Hospital, where she died seven weeks later on July 15. 'Sarah was a gifted colleague whose intelligence and cutting-edge scholarship made her an important member of our intellectual community,' said Professor Richard Revesz, dean of the NYU law school. 'Her time with us was much too brief. I know our entire community shares my shock and sorrow at this incomprehensible loss.'

Dr Woo had been in her position at the university for just over a year. She was on holiday during the school's term break with her 33-year-old husband, Mr Kenneth Wee, who works in the financial sector in New York.

A high-flier, she was valedictorian of the NUS law faculty in 2001, and held a master's and doctorate in law from Stanford Law School. She also received several scholarships, including the Stanford JSD (Doctor of Science of Law) Scholarship, and various awards, including the Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal.

Said her father, Mr Woo Cheok Seng, 62: 'I still cannot accept that she is gone. Two months ago, my daughter was fine.'

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

same thing happened to Dr Linda Hoon many years back in London.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_696069.html

The Straits Times
www.straitstimes.com
Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Jul 29, 2011
Singaporean law academic dies of rare brain disease
By Fiona Low

New York University assistant professor of law Sarah Woo Pei Yee, who died on July 15, was on holiday with her husband in Toronto, Canada, when she fainted. She was rushed to a hospital in the city, and later transferred to the New York Presbyterian Hospital, where she died seven weeks later. -- PHOTO: COURTESY OF WOO CHEOK SENG

A SINGAPOREAN law academic has died in New York aged 33, after she contracted encephalitis, a rare disease that causes inflammation of the brain.

Dr Sarah Woo Pei Yee - an assistant professor of law at New York University (NYU) who graduated top of her class at the National University of Singapore (NUS) - fainted in a hotel room while on holiday with her husband in Toronto, Canada.

She was taken to a hospital there and later transferred to the New York Presbyterian Hospital, where she died seven weeks later on July 15. 'Sarah was a gifted colleague whose intelligence and cutting-edge scholarship made her an important member of our intellectual community,' said Professor Richard Revesz, dean of the NYU law school. 'Her time with us was much too brief. I know our entire community shares my shock and sorrow at this incomprehensible loss.'

Dr Woo had been in her position at the university for just over a year. She was on holiday during the school's term break with her 33-year-old husband, Mr Kenneth Wee, who works in the financial sector in New York.

A high-flier, she was valedictorian of the NUS law faculty in 2001, and held a master's and doctorate in law from Stanford Law School. She also received several scholarships, including the Stanford JSD (Doctor of Science of Law) Scholarship, and various awards, including the Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal.

Said her father, Mr Woo Cheok Seng, 62: 'I still cannot accept that she is gone. Two months ago, my daughter was fine.'

Read the full story in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

It's the cold weather? Know one guy, perfectly fit and healthy, spend one year in cold ang moh country, also die of some disease. Some people their body cannot take cold weather, so habis lah.

It's called "High Flier Syndrome." The candle that burns twice as bright lasts half as long.

I knew one guy who won basically every scholarship that was worth getting. First in Class every single term. First in Faculty every single Semester. What happened to him? Dead at 54. Heart attack. He did not even have time to taste his Retirement!

On the other hand, my sister has a Karang-Guni Cardboard Collector Uncle who stays in her Block. Instead of taking taxi, bus, MRT, or driving a car, or having his grown-up children drive him around in their car, he has to ride around in a $20 Sungei Road Made-in-China "Special" ( a bicycle!!!!!!). This joker is like almost 70 years old, pray for the Lord to take him every day, but still cannot die. Somebody Upstairs sure has a funny sense of humour!:D

It's called "High Flier Syndrome." The candle that burns twice as bright lasts half as long.

I knew one guy who won basically every scholarship that was worth getting. First in Class every single term. First in Faculty every single Semester. What happened to him? Dead at 54. Heart attack. He did not even have time to taste his Retirement!

On the other hand, my sister has a Karang-Guni Cardboard Collector Uncle who stays in her Block. Instead of taking taxi, bus, MRT, or driving a car, or having his grown-up children drive him around in their car, he has to ride around in a $20 Sungei Road Made-in-China "Special" ( a bicycle!!!!!!). This joker is like almost 70 years old, pray for the Lord to take him every day, but still cannot die. Somebody Upstairs sure has a funny sense of humour!:D

Agree. Health is very important.

That's why at 69 years young, I do 500 squats the first thing every morning after drinking 2 full glasses of water with a dash of lemon .....:o:):)

u do ur squats naked? ... :confused:

Tak boleh lah ..... I do the squats facing my pond and front gate .... sekali people walking outside the road peep in and see .... tak berapa bagus lah joe .....:o:o

Condolences to the family.

But I cannot help but observe that if your Genes are not up to scratch, and you attempt to study very very hard, you will get permanent head damaged, psycho, deranged, crazy.

It cuts across all levels, from primary to pHD. So just enjoy the life you have. Don't kill yourself to be smart.

What kind of spastic english is this? Your sister's uncle not your uncle?

Might as well say your "great great great great great grandfathers great great great great grandson" which still means your UNCLE.

There's an old man in singapore who is almost ninty years old liao.:rolleyes:

this also warrat a thread meh ?

people die is like a tree losing a leaf.........................no big deal..................

unless LKY die.................bring joy to all...................

What kind of spastic english is this? Your sister's uncle not your uncle?

Might as well say your "great great great great great grandfathers great great great great grandson" which still means your UNCLE.

Welcome to Singapore, FT. Now, exchange your RMB or India Rupee for Singapore currency, and go out and buy yourself a good dictionary of Singapore English!
:D

u do ur squats naked? ... :confused:

1. aiyoh!
2. he is not in mudland leh.
3. must salute him at this age doing such healthy activities.
4. instead of wasting on prc mei meis mah!

There's an old man in singapore who is almost ninty years old liao.:rolleyes:[/QUOT

1. bro, for that fossil.
2. there is always karma where its offsprings will go before it.
3. it will feel all the pain and sufferings.
4. and yet living through it painfully.