• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Koh turns cocky: "I don't need sympathy votes."

The People's Action Party's candidate for the Punggol East by-election, Dr Koh Poh Koon, says the message for his campaign is simple: “This is me. I am me.”

During a walkabout at Rivervale Plaza on Sunday morning, he told reporters slogans are not as important as the ability to connect with residents.

“Choose me because you can connect with me. Choose me because you think I can do something good for you…You can say all sorts of slogans you want, but if residents can’t connect with you and if they don’t trust you, no slogan is going to change their minds,” said Dr Koh.

The colorectal surgeon also rubbished criticism by some that he was trying to milk the story of his humble beginnings at a recent press conference where he was officially introduced as the PAP candidate.

He said it was inevitable that people will think this way but added that it was important for him to share his past so that residents can make an informed choice.

“It’s not about garnering sympathy votes. If residents feel that I am not the best person, please do not give me any sympathy votes. I do not need any sympathy. This is me. I can’t change my past,” said the 40-year-old.

Talking to the breakfast crowd and shaking hands with residents, Dr Koh told reporters that residents have so far given him a warm reception and have also brought up some issues as well.

Bread and butter issues have been raised, while some have also asked for more stools along walkways for the elderly to rest as well as better infrastructure for cyclists in the area.

Rivervale Plaza's delayed upgrading work was also a major concern and Dr Koh assured residents works should be completed by the middle of the year. However, he said renovation work may be stopped during the lead-up to the Lunar New Year to allow shopkeepers to sell their wares.

Dr Koh has said previously that he will continue to serve the residents in the ward even if he loses the by-election. This had prompted some to suggest that residents might be better off voting for an opposition candidate and getting a two-for-one deal.

“You must choose to vote for the person who can do the work for you,” said Dr Koh.

“It’s a fallacy to believe that you can have the best of both worlds – choose a person to make a statement, but hope that the other person who is voted out is going to have all the resources, all the authority to get the work done for you.”

we are all mortals
we are highly vulnerable
learn to be humble
learn to be compassionate
learn to be forgiving
even the demons will assist you

we are all mortals

ifwt_shang_tsung_soul_mine.png

The People's Action Party's candidate for the Punggol East by-election, Dr Koh Poh Koon, says the message for his campaign is simple: “This is me. I am me.”

The colorectal surgeon also rubbished criticism by some that he was trying to milk the story of his humble beginnings at a recent press conference where he was officially introduced as the PAP candidate.

“It’s not about garnering sympathy votes. If residents feel that I am not the best person, please do not give me any sympathy votes. I do not need any sympathy. This is me. I can’t change my past,” said the 40-year-old.

What an arrogant man! It is all about him. It is not about serving the residence of Punggol East. Then he went to rubbish criticism from others. :mad: :mad:

He urge everybody not to give him sympathy votes. I hope he lost his election by just 100 votes so that he can learn humility. :p :rolleyes:

Dr Koh has said previously that he will continue to serve the residents in the ward even if he loses the by-election. This had prompted some to suggest that residents might be better off voting for an opposition candidate and getting a two-for-one deal.

In that case all Ponggol East residents must be nuts to vote for him. Better to vote for an opposition. :eek: :)

Which fuctarks want to give him sympathy votes? Is he the lightning rod of PAP? Is he about to be sued by LKY and company?

Can almost hear LHL doing face palm. This is result of a hastily chosen candidate who only joint pap just before Christmas. Then again, the pap management is just as arrogant, so this arrogant doctor may seem perfectly fine to them.

WP strategy can focus on this chap. Encourage him to speak more and he will step on more foot. A typical high IQ doctor without EQ. If there is only a straight fight with WP, think good chance this will be WP ward.

What an arrogant man! It is all about him. It is not about serving the residence of Punggol East. Then he went to rubbish criticism from others. :mad: :mad:

Probably he was mentored by VB, I remembered clearly when VB was first introduced to the public, he shed tears and rant on his mixed lineage and his affinity to the local people on TV. Two GE later, we all know how trust-able his words are or the how many meals you want rant.

All their pattern sama sama; before election one facade; after election the devil will surface. This KPK is too naive to think this sort of reverse psychology tactics will work on Punggol.

oh dear me
saw him in the news
bad bad bad
everything bad
jialat liao....arrogantly bad
image bad style bad
was it deliberate
or was it just a wayang
or another sacrificial lamb
bad bad bad ....no sympathy votes please

and worse still
sdp coming in
rp coming in
wp coming in
pap is coming in
who else....interesting..

These fellas think they are making politically correct statements like 'I will serve you even if I don't win' and 'I am one of you' crap.
If he was so keen to serve, why did he not join earlier so that he could have made a stronger contribution?

“It’s a fallacy to believe that you can have the best of both worlds – choose a person to make a statement, but hope that the other person who is voted out is going to have all the resources, all the authority to get the work done for you.”

Where the hell did "all his resources, all the authority to get work done" come from if he is not the MP? Anal air, most probably!!!:eek::(:rolleyes:

So he is threatening that if he is not elected by PE, he is not going to do anything for PE? Most likely, considering he would just be too busy breathing in anal air every day. HA HA HA!!!

Dr Koh sounds like a real nasty, arrogant asshole.

I look at his photo, and all I can think of is Megamind. Whats wrong wih me? :p

megamind.jpg E669F4AB3CC4A6BBB676F9E475B.jpg

That reminds me, colorectal surgeons don't speak to their patients while treating them, do they? I guess Ponggol constituents should not expect too much from this man.

Set up for his impending loss.

Diehard PAP supporters and those 'grassroots people' will still vote PAP even if the PAP candidate publicly curses their family members and ancestors.

I won't be too sure of a PAP loss.

Even before he gets elected, he is already showing his arrogance and contempt for the plebeians.

Nothing in his 40 years of existence show that he has a heart for others. It is what can he get. He got subsidized medical training. He got the taxpayers to pay for his post grad studies. What did he give back? Zero.

Even before he gets elected, he is already showing his arrogance and contempt for the plebeians.

Nothing in his 40 years of existence show that he has a heart for others. It is what can he get. He got subsidized medical training. He got the taxpayers to pay for his post grad studies. What did he give back? Zero.

The only way to teach this chap a lesson is for him to taste defeat at the polls. Maybe he will be more humble after that.

This issue will not have come up in the first place if he did not give the fucking sob story. What a hypocrite - drives Toyota to political meetings and BMW for other reasons. When he felt the need to mention his HDB flat, what about the BMW.

Only a man full of himself will put out a CV of such nature.

What a fucking arsehole - his clinic is in Mt Elizabeth and not in a village in Ama Keng or Punggol. Which resident from Punggol would attend his clinic in Mt E.