• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Dr Koh Poh Koon: It’s not easy for most people to understand petrol pricing

yahoo55

Dr Koh had also mentioned in parliament that Australia imports petrol from Singapore, so my question to Dr Koh is why the hell is petrol price much lower in Australia than in Singapore??

Former "Son of Punggol" flees to AMK to enter parliament and ministar job through the backdoor, and he now gives this crap in parliament to Sinkie consumers. Song boh 69% dumbfucks, you voted for this PAP shit.

http://theindependent.sg/dr-koh-poh-koon-its-not-easy-for-most-people-to-understand-petrol-pricing/

Dr Koh Poh Koon: It’s not easy for most people to understand petrol pricing

By The Independent - March 9, 2016

Responding to Mr Low Thia Khiang’s question in Parliament if petrol companies were profiteering at the expense of consumers, Minister of State for Trade and Industry, Dr Koh Poh Koon, said he did not think the companies, though they make profits, were doing that.

Channel NewsAsia Singapore
TV Network · 1,047,958 Likes · February 28 at 8:49pm ·

The Workers' Party's Low Thia Khiang asks Minister of State for Trade and Industry Koh Poh Koon: Are petrol companies profiteering at the expense of consumers? Dr Koh's response: http://bit.Iy/24wgJMy

Reflecting further on his answer in his Facebook page Dr Koh said that, “it’s not easy for most people to understand petrol pricing.”

“Crude oil is unrefined. MOPS (Mean of Platts Singapore) price is the price of refined petroleum and is the internationally traded price for refined petroleum,” the MOS said.

“MOPS constitute less than 30% of the listed retail price of petrol. The other 70% comprises of costs of land tax, operating costs, petrol tax etc. So if MOPS price which mirrors Crude price drops by 50% but this only contributes to less than 30% of the final retail price, then the final retail price will only drop by (0.3 x 50%= 16%),” he explained why even though crude oils price drops by 50%, you see only 16% drop in pump price.

In trying to further simplify petrol pricing for Singaporeans, Dr Koh said that “it’s like saying yellow noodles is only one of the ingredients of fishball noodles so even if the price of the yellow noodles drop by 50%, you will not see the price of the entire bowl of noodles get sold for half its usual price!”

imagery

Why not give a step by step or some kind of flow chart to show how they arrive at prices. Then we can see the fixed and variable elements of the pricing. If after doing that and we still dont understand then we cant argue with what Dr Koh says, otherwise he is just hot air.

basically what hes saying is refined crude oil is actually cheap,but after the government done taxing you everyway up the ying yang,the price of fuel goes up by 200 percent.......the question is how can the cost of fuel constitute only 30 percent of the retail price and government taxes be 60 percent,nearly twice as much as the oil itself,200 percent tax?is government trying to make life easy or difficult for us?

ask the 69.9%....

WP Low should tell the idiotic doctor off for patronizing him.

The WP MP is as docile as sinkees. That's the PAP tolerates them to give a false image of democracy in this peesai.

Fugitive

Great talent. With one stroke he explained why sinkies have to pay high electricity bills when oil prices went down.

Petrol taxes are for fattening the state coffers.....
Reducing petrol prices means reducing taxes means raiding the reserves....that's treason

Why can they say reducing price of petrol will cause deflation and it's dangerous for the economy. So if prices go down, taxes goes up.
If prices goes up, currency goes up and prices will stabilize.

spinn

just like the shitto ramen which costs $12.50 per bowl. they tell you food cost is onli 16% = $2 but they dun make money cos of "distribution costs". they r moving the stuff around in boxes & trucks made of gold.

Hans168

Bastard liar: no need to bluff anymore. Just tell us why Australia charges A$0.99 and Malaysia charges S$0.80 for Ron 97.............. NO subsidy in Malaysian price!!

How can this govt be trusted when they keep on cheating us with lies?? IF you want to drive all motorists to the wall, say so!! Say our roads are for papigs making million bucks salaries

Fugitive

Bastard liar: no need to bluff anymore. Just tell us why Australia charges A$0.99 and Malaysia charges S$0.80 for Ron 97.............. NO subsidy in Malaysian price!!

How can this govt be trusted when they keep on cheating us with lies?? IF you want to drive all motorists to the wall, say so!! Say our roads are for papigs making million bucks salaries

Sinkies voted for this, say no more.

bros and sis, please read the below: cost for processing crude to gasoline:

https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-t...after-processing-What-are-its-component-costs

in the above article, it says that because of india's government intervention by means of high taxes also political reason, they can't sell you cheap petrol. thanks to PAP again, they want to collect high taxes and be in control, the monopoly of the whole petroleum industry, sounds lucrative for PAP, yeah!!!:oIo:

read for more detail!

Of course, most people only have one car in the family, it's easier to understand when you have two. :rolleyes:

I dun understand either. Clearly this must be beyond the cognitive abilities of lesser men.

Great talent. With one stroke he explained why sinkies have to pay high electricity bills when oil prices went down.

Too lenghty. Fell aslp. Can just say the petrol were freshly prepared. Common pple can understand it easier.