@Leongsam hey boss. What do you think? Worth taking doxycyline 100mg a day as prophylaxis?
Minor side effects.It won't be the first time that antibiotics have been used as a pre-emptive measure. We used to do the same before a dirty weekend in Thailand. No prizes for guessing which doctor would prescribe them to us. He used the same method to keep himself safe. In those days it was just Syphilis and Gonorrhea. Herpes and HIV were not on the menu.
However in recent years I have limited my antibiotic intake to the barest minimum and only when absolutely necessary.
It is a matter of risk vs reward. You would be more familiar with the possible side effects and if they are minor or non existent (in your case) then I would say just go for it as there would be nothing to lose.
Minor side effects.
Well tolerated which is why acne patients take it daily for months.
Tetracycline turns your teeth yellow. I’ll stay away from itHere is another article talking about another tetracycline class of drugs we use for acne. Minocycline. Anti viral properties.
https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/bcpt.12444
Tetracycline turns your teeth yellow. I’ll stay away from it
KNN maybe you must have acne then it will work lo KNNI asked my classmate he said they already tried it on covid19 doesnt work.
Ok. Anyway I still take lah. No harm
It can be cleaned by dentist. And does not recur if you stop taking itThat's if it's taken during childhood. I don't think adults are affected.
not far fetched at all. there’s a (scholarly) white paper that argues for its anti-viral use.How bro? You are one of the most learned individuals here. You think tetracycline as prophylaxis against covid19 or influenza is too far fetched? So far I can't find any studies that test this idea.
I saw that one too. Vesicular stomatitis virus.not far fetched at all. there’s a (scholarly) white paper that argues for its anti-viral use.
https://scholar.google.com.sg/scholar?q=doxycycline+as+antiviral&hl=en&as_sdt=0&as_vis=1&oi=scholart#d=gs_qabs&u=#p=mx-Wq5mVWQkJ
let’s see some results. meanwhile some of my peers say it’s a novel idea (no pun intended).I saw that one too. Vesicular stomatitis virus.
There aren't that many papers on pubmed though.
Anyway I think it is far fetched lah.
Yes that is accutane which is used to treat acne but has no effect on microbes.
It helps to restart the hormonal system, of course it's not an antibioticYes that is accutane which is used to treat acne but has no effect on microbes.