• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Don't read too much into the Little India's riots!!!

I've gone through that area many times, even in the midst of dead drunkards ...but nothing happened!

But this episode is really an eye-opening event. There must be more than just an underlying alcohol consumption and the fatal accident. Simmering hate,discontentment and frustration exploded with sheer abandon.

What bus to take from Bedok? ;)

i have a burning question! got what kang tao tze to buy? :o:o:o

You Better Shape Up (message to polis) = 7 (Y) 8 (B) 5 (S) 9 (P).

Go to 4D booth and buy 7 8 5 9!

I got chills.
They're multiplyin'.
And I'm losin' control.
'Cause the power
Polis so lacking
it's so frightenin'!

You better shape up,
'cause I need a man
so my house’s not set on fire.
You better shape up;
you better understand
to protect my car you must.

‘Cos I paid that GST and COE.

[video=youtube;YMdmxiev9qA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMdmxiev9qA[/video]

Alcohol Ban Liao!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There will be a complete ban on the sale and consumption of alcohol this coming weekend in the Race Course Road area where a riot broke out in Little India on Sunday night, Second Minister for Home Affairs S Iswaran told reporters on Monday evening.

The details of the ban, such as exactly what time it will apply and what geographical area it will cover, will be worked out by the police, Mr Iswaran said in response to queries.

Though it is too early to say definitively what caused the riot - which was triggered after a fatal traffic accident - it is "plausible that alcohol consumption was a contributory factor", he added. "And that is why we have taken this step in the first instance in order to stabilise the situation."

Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew, who is the MP for the ward in Moulmein-Kallang GRC, said that he has wanted curbs on the sale of alcohol in the area for some time, after seeing the proliferation of liquor licences there. "I know my residents will fully support this immediate measure," he said. He and Mr Iswaran were speaking to the media after a visit to the area, during which they spoke to shopkeepers.

Alcohol Ban Liao!!!!!!!!!!!!!

There will be a complete ban on the sale and consumption of alcohol this coming weekend in the Race Course Road area where a riot broke out in Little India on Sunday night, Second Minister for Home Affairs S Iswaran told reporters on Monday evening.

The details of the ban, such as exactly what time it will apply and what geographical area it will cover, will be worked out by the police, Mr Iswaran said in response to queries.

Though it is too early to say definitively what caused the riot - which was triggered after a fatal traffic accident - it is "plausible that alcohol consumption was a contributory factor", he added. "And that is why we have taken this step in the first instance in order to stabilise the situation."
/QUOTE]

The govt loves money. Open up istana grounds on weekends. Sell alcohol there. Sure make money. Solves all the human and traffic problems in Little India immediately. Win-win for all. NTUC to sell only.

Do not read too much into it. It's just an isolated incident like the flood so let us just move on. Afterall authorities did not suffer much losses only words of mouth so let us move on and wait if got another such incident before we digest further. Thank you.

I invite Russell Heng to visit the dormitory at Jalan Papan, & on a certain night of the week & especially after pay day...& see for himself the behavior of the Indians, after they have become intoxicated by the 'fruit juices' they consumed in Little India or elsewhere. It is common to find, "indians" decorating the bushes leading to the dormitory or even lying flat on the road side or the bus stop...

This behavior isn't angelic....they will pick fights with the security, pick fights with their own kind & pick fights with the Bangladeshi & worse gets the Ah Tiong's involved who are already high on , rice wine, ' nu er hong', 'mao tai'...tiger...KINGFISHER & EXTRA STRONG..experience how the security & the people running the dormitory deal with them...of course they are law abiding...

Better still, like me, travel in the shuttle bus that takes them back from Hampshire Rd/Race Course Rd to their dormitories & experience...it is only $2...but getting out the other end..will cost more..like I did, for a research...& note taking..

Then Russell Heng write his LEEport..

Bodoh, then how do the shops and restaurants get their supplies?

Have you ever heard of push carts & slung over their shoulders & revive what they have been doing ages ago..stack on their heads & walk & deliver the goods...

Since there are so many threads about the recent riot, I am re-posting my take on the event in rebuttal to this thread.

"It can be argued a thousand times between pro-pap and opposition supporters, let's not forget there are many here who remained neutral and voicing opinions without fear or favour.

Like the recent riot and the aftemath, not many are looking at the elephant in the room. In fact there is a herd of them that both sides are not looking at.

Most are looking at the obvious and like doctors, examine and look for answers at what is apparently a disease. Unlike good doctors who besides treating the disease also look deeper and try to discover the root cause and cure it.

Like the rioters, at least 40& of Singaporeans are very unhappy with the government and will vent their anger on whatever is available at hand. This is a sympton of the disease but not the root cause.

Let me give an example of the root cause of why the riot happened. Allowing hundreds of thousands of foreigners into the country is the root cause. Why? For one, migrant workers are mostly lowly educated, and such people think not with their brains but with their heart. The government can say they will use the full force of the country's laws on the rioters. You know what? They are after all migrant workers, and new ones will take their place and by then all that happened in the past are either forgotten or the new ones have no knowledge of it.

So what is the ruling party doing about the growing cancer that is causing the rift between then and the citizens? Will they continue treating the symptons which I believe they are doing or will they treat the root cause?

I see a herd of elephants, do you? "

So what is the ruling party doing about the growing cancer that is causing the rift between then and the citizens? Will they continue treating the symptons which I believe they are doing or will they treat the root cause?

The ruling party is itself the cancer. Unless it gets terminated, nothing substantial will change.

It took a while, but the festering rot has finally surfaced in recent years.

so many threads about the recent riot, I am re-posting my take on the event in rebuttal to this thread.
Like the recent riot and the aftemath, not many are looking at the elephant in the room. In fact there is a herd of them that both sides are not looking
...So what is the ruling party doing about the growing cancer that is causing the rift between then and the citizens? Will they continue treating the symptons which I believe they are doing or will they treat the root cause?
I see a herd of elephants, do you? "
Plenty traffic on many threads, almost ad nauseam. Yours is balanced perspective. Maybe cause for lightening up with the mayhem (with replay here):p

121B1AAA-3849-4AD1-A022-7219DE741348-145-00000003A3FE6450_zpsb596d3c7.jpg

Plenty traffic on many threads, almost ad nauseam. Yours is balanced perspective. Maybe cause for lightening up with the mayhem (with replay here):p

Agreed.:)

SBF is not as bad as TRE and a few others, but even those managed by pro-pap groups are facing an uphill battle as more and more usually less vocal members aired their disapproval. The target as we know is the relentless import of foreigners by the ruling party that many are suddenly more aware of their presence. Foreigners are intruding into their space and they don't like it.

It is not so much that we are anti-foreigners or racists, but there is a limit to our tolerance.

Bodoh, then how do the shops and restaurants get their supplies?

supplies come in the morning and early afternoon...

no vehicles area from 4 pm to 10 pm......good idea?

many such areas in other countries ...no vehicles allowed.

supplies come in the morning and early afternoon...

no vehicles area from 4 pm to 10 pm......good idea?

many such areas in other countries ...no vehicles allowed.
kopisai will be traffic warden.

... Finally, I find the online xenophobic comments targeting foreign workers offensive. My TWC2 colleagues and I believe that generally foreign workers do not face xenophobia here. They very rarely complained about xenophobic treatment. On the contrary, they find Singaporeans generally treat them reasonably.

If a majority of Singaporeans are reasonable fair-minded people, then I would urge every single one of us to rebuke, rebut or ignore the nasty xenophobes among us. This is the time to take a stand against ugly values that sow dissension ...
iz ah loonz gahmen who 1st accuse sinkies as xenophobic, stoopig! ...