• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Does PAP knows what's SG living wages?

Getloud

I wonder how much is Singapore living wage.

Living wage estimate rises to $18.80/hour

By Simon Collins

Living wage campaigners say it now costs $18.80 an hour to feed two adults and two children in New Zealand.

The new figure, up 2.1 per cent from the campaign's original estimate last year of $18.40 an hour, is more than $5 higher than the legal minimum wage of $13.75, but the Government is expected to lift the minimum from April 1 to about $14 an hour.

The figure is based on calculations by the Anglican Family Centre research unit of the gross hourly wage required for a family with two children where one adult works fulltime and one half-time at the same wage rate.

The gross wage had to go up by more than the inflation rate of 1.6 per cent in the past year because higher wages reduce the family's entitlement to family tax credits.

The campaign, backed by unions and churches, also unveiled a "living wage employer trademark" at a function today at a Mt Eden restaurant, O'Sarracino, which has committed to paying the living wage when it can afford it - though not yet.

A report by Family Centre analysts Rev Charles Waldegrave and Dr Peter King said the living wage was never intended to be compulsory.

"It carries moral force and tests business ethics," they said. "The living wage enables an employer to know that what s/he pays a worker is sufficient for them to live modestly and participate in society."

The calculation is based on surveyed spending by the poorest half of Kiwi families with two adults and two children, adjusted to include average NZ-wide rents for the cheapest quarter of three-bedroom houses taken from tenancy bond data, and food costs which meet Otago University nutritionists' calculation of a "basic"diet of nutritious food.

The effect is to give much more weight to both housing and food than the weightings used in Statistics NZ's broad-based consumers price index. Average lower-quartile rents rose 1.8 per cent from $275 a week in June 2012 to $280 last June, and the cost of the basic food diet for two adults and two children rose by 2.7 per cent, from $226 to $232.

As it did last year, the report notes that the average rent figure falls far short of the lower-quartile average in Auckland, which was $438 a week last year. But once again the researchers decided against calculating a separate "Auckland living wage"because of the advantages of a single national figure for employers to aim for.

They said last year that Government criteria for the accommodation supplement should be adjusted to take account of much higher rents in Auckland, but Housing Minister Nick Smith said this month that there no current plans to review the supplement.

The report found that the total living costs for the average national lower-quartile family rose by only 01.1 per cent in the year to last June, from $1038 a week to $1044.34.

It said gross wages would need to rise by 4 per cent, from $18.40 to $19.14 an hour, to yield a 1.1 per cent increase in net income, because of the clawback of family tax credits.

But it plumped for an increase of only 2.1 per cent to $18.80 an hour in line with the average ordinary-time hourly wage, which rose from $26.96 an hour in June 2012 to $27.53 last June.

"Because the living wage functions like any other wage agreement once it has been introduced, it is considered that updates, as opposed to full reviews, should relate primarily to wage movements," it said.

Labour Minister Simon Bridges said the figure seemed to be "much more what they feel rather than what good evidence suggests is right".

He said raising the legal minimum wage to the original figure of $18.40 would cost employers $2.5 billion a year and wipe out 25,000 jobs. He said the Government would announce a new minimum wage for the tax year starting on April 1 "soon".

- NZ Herald

The figure is absolutely ridiculous.

$18.80 x 44 x 4 = $3308.8 per month for the full time breadwinner and $18.80 x 22 x 4 = $1654.4 per month for the part time worker.

Add the two and you get almost $5000 per month or $60,000 per year.

My expenses in NZ come up to a little more than $2000 per month for two people running 2 cars and living in a 2 bedroom house.

wMulew

Living Expense in SG
Meals - $4 * 3 * 30 = $360
Transport - $200
Utilities - $100
Rental - $50
Total = $710
Family of 3 = $2130
2 working adults = $1,065

Getloud

The figure is absolutely ridiculous.

$18.80 x 44 x 4 = $3308.8 per month for the full time breadwinner and $18.80 x 22 x 4 = $1654.4 per month for the part time worker.

Add the two and you get almost $5000 per month or $60,000 per year.

My expenses in NZ come up to a little more than $2000 per month for two people running 2 cars and living in a 2 bedroom house.

They do take into consideration with 2 children.

Education is free. Healthcare is free. 2 children cost a lot of you feed them McDonalds and buy fancy toys for them but if you cook healthy food at home and don't indulge in luxuries, a typical NZ family can easily raise 2 children comfortably on NZD3000 per month.

Getloud

I already put all the cost there. U don't know how to calculate yourself. KNN, fucking lazy :oIo:

If you have already put all the cost up, I don't need to calculate.
Your calculation is based on 3 persons, most probably husband, wife and 1 children, I hope.
But your calculation does not include what Leongsam mentioned, healthcare and education.
If you don't want to add on, it's ok.
I carry on from here.
Assuming 2 primary school children, tuition fee for each $50 x 4 subjects = $200 per month
For healthcare, assuming children visit GP 4 times a year, each time $50.00
Therefore, a normal SG family of 4 needs $2130 + $360 (meal for 1 extra children) + $400 + $33 = $2923.00 per month
Very close to Leongsam estimate of $3000 for NZ family.

Seee3

Living Expense in SG
Meals - $4 * 3 * 30 = $360
Transport - $200
Utilities - $100
Rental - $50
Total = $710
Family of 3 = $2130
2 working adults = $1,065

The estimate looks reasonable except for

(1) rental of 100x3 is too low; the rental for 1 room of a HDB flat is $500
(2) $4 per meal is near impossible if one needs to eat out at work place - must cook and bring lunch to work and cannot eat out for other meals
(3) no provision for education - at least $200
(4) no provision for medical expenses cost
(5) no provision for miscellaneous such as wedding invitation, ....

I think $3000 is "subsistence level" for family of 3 to have a simple, decent life.

Char_Azn

(2) $4 per meal is near impossible if one needs to eat out at work place - must cook and bring lunch to work and cannot eat out for other meals

I think $3000 is "subsistence level" for family of 3 to have a simple, decent life.

The fellow provided link to HDB. Rent from HDB is 100+

$4 a meal is reasonable in most places unless stuck working at a place with only food court. If cook from home the price should be even cheaper so that sounds reasonable as well

Education for poor = free

Someone already added that. $50 is too much should use Polyclinic price

Personally I live on around $800-1K a month including broadband internet, cable TV, go movie every week and nice restaurant meal at least twice a month.

And that's from a middle income salary, the poor pays a lot less than me due to various subsidy. If really try to squeeze, family of 4 should be able to survive on 2.5K a month easily

You said it. Subsistence level. This is not living but surviving only.
At least foreign workers suffer here but then go back to home country with savings which can be 'substantial' in their home currency. Poor sinkies got nothing to look forward to living hand to mouth.

Don't forget to add the cost of saving for your old age.

Many senior citizens in Spore are finding that the PAP has moved the gold post to prevent people from accessing their CPF:rolleyes:

da dick

The fellow provided link to HDB. Rent from HDB is 100+

$4 a meal is reasonable in most places unless stuck working at a place with only food court. If cook from home the price should be even cheaper so that sounds reasonable as well

Education for poor = free

Someone already added that. $50 is too much should use Polyclinic price

Personally I live on around $800-1K a month including broadband internet, cable TV, go movie every week and nice restaurant meal at least twice a month.

And that's from a middle income salary, the poor pays a lot less than me due to various subsidy. If really try to squeeze, family of 4 should be able to survive on 2.5K a month easily
that's if hdb rent to you. if you no family. you must rent a hdb room from a fellow SBF uncle for the cheap cheap sum of $$$4000 a month!!! so it's closer to 5000 dollah per person if you're not married or living with family!

wMulew

You said it. Subsistence level. This is not living but surviving only.
At least foreign workers suffer here but then go back to home country with savings which can be 'substantial' in their home currency. Poor sinkies got nothing to look forward to living hand to mouth.

Dumbfuck opposition supporting retard. Why don't you add an annual trip to Europe while you're at it. This is what living wage/minimum wage is all about. Enough to not die. They want better, they work harder and smarter for it. Even in countries that have minimum wage, those earning minimum wage are still not earning enough to survive. Only dumbfuck retarded opposition supporting idiots will think minimum wage will actually make the bottom tier life better.

batman1

Please lah,the pap where got time for u sinkees.the pap strategy is to
Control the people by preventing the people from accessing their CPF money n making
The people poor.

Getloud

Education is free. Healthcare is free. 2 children cost a lot of you feed them McDonalds and buy fancy toys for them but if you cook healthy food at home and don't indulge in luxuries, a typical NZ family can easily raise 2 children comfortably on NZD3000 per month.

Boss,

Your estimated NZ 3k for a typical NZ family includes living in a freehold 2 bedroom house with a car?