Serious Doctor Jailed 9 Months For Lying About m&d's Cause Of Death! Guess The Race?

SINGAPORE: A general practitioner who falsely certified the cause of death of a 32-year-old woman was jailed nine months on Wednesday (Jul 13).

Kwan Kah Yee, 65, was convicted of three charges for falsely certifying Siti Mariam Salleh’s cause of death, fabricating evidence and giving false information to authorities to cover up his misdeed.

Kwan’s issuance of a false death certificate is “a very grave breach of a doctor’s ethical and professional duties”, the Court of Three Judges had said during disciplinary proceedings against Kwan brought by the Singapore Medical Council (SMC).

The judges had also taken the unusual step of referring Kwan’s case to the Attorney-General.

When Madam Siti Mariam passed away in 2011, Kwan went to her Teck Whye Lane home at the request of the Singapore Casket Company. He issued a death certificate stating Madam Siti Mariam had died from ischaemic heart disease.

Kwan claimed he had based his conclusion on medical information obtained from various polyclinics and general practitioners, as well as electrocardiograms and abnormal blood test results shown to him by Madam Siti Mariam’s husband.

Kwan also claimed the widower had said his wife had suffered chest pains.

However, the court found that none of these medical records existed and Madam Siti Mariam’s husband never provided Kwan with such information.

When confronted with an SMC probe into the false death certificate, Kwan called Madam Siti Mariam’s widower Sariffudin Mazlan to ask for his help.

At Kwan’s behest, Mr Sariffudin signed a letter stating his late wife had suffered from ischaemic heart disease since 2007, and that he wanted investigations against Kwan stopped.

Although he did not agree with the contents of Kwan’s letter, Mr Sariffudin signed it anyway as he trusted Kwan, the court heard.
The doctor then put this letter, containing “fabricated evidence”, before the SMC disciplinary tribunal, which suspended Kwan for three months for professional negligence. On appeal, his punishment was upped to a three-year suspension.

The doctor had also given false information to police investigators in the form of his case notes, which were allegedly recorded by him on the day of Madam Siti Mariam’s death in 2011.

His notes “reproduced the (false) claims” surrounding the woman’s death and aimed to “thwart law enforcement action against him”, Deputy Public Prosecutor Hon Yi said, urging the court to impose a 12-month jail term on Kwan.

DPP Hon said Kwan’s actions had caused public disquiet and an erosion of trust in the medical profession. False certifications of death are also extremely hard to detect and hard to challenge, the prosecutor said.

“Any challenge would necessitate a post-mortem to be conducted … which may be upsetting to the next-of-kin. This is also assuming that any challenge is done in the short window between death and cremation, after which any examination of the body is impossible.”

A Coroner’s Inquiry into the cause of Madam Siti Mariam’s death was inconclusive.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/doctor-jailed-9-months/2954790.html?cid=fbcna

To avoid touching a malay body.

First, it was a muslim woman, second, it was a Malay...third, it was the request of the casket company...who could not find a muslim doctor to certify her death...

So, who squealed?....how could they check if the body would have been buried after the certificate was issues...unless, loctor asks too much money from UNDERTAKER...

calling naysr69.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....rife-over-Yishun-murder&p=2476246#post2476246

see my above post. Then you look at this case and you can join the dots.

Singapore Casket works hand in hand with Police. Police gets a call, they call Singapore Casket, Singapore Casket calls a "Helpful" GP willing to certify death. Usually costs about $200-$300 (back in the early 2000s dunno how much now).

GP certifies death, family can proceed with funeral, Singapore Casket gets the business, SPF no need file report for investigation into unnatural death can go back and relax. Everyone happy.....that is until somehow somebody complains that the death was NOT natural.

I tell you this sort of "death certification" is going everyday in Singapore. And the judges and SMC know it. It only comes to fore if someone makes a complaint about it. But seriously how many families would complain right?

So my question is, in this case who was the one who made the complaint? The widower said he trusted the GP and signed the letter to help him. After all he was the "helpful" GP right? Police won't want to do extra work so definitely not them unless the case was related to some other case then they have to open it up. Maybe a disgruntled family member?

What was the cause of death anyway?

When I saw Dr Kwan, I thought it was this guy

http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/newspapers/Digitised/Article/today20040115-1.2.12.5.aspx

Turns out different Dr Kwan.

Certification of death is something very few GPs want to do. By right it should be done by the regular GP who sees the patient and knows the patient. But such GPs have successful practices and do not want to be called in the middle of the night to go and certify death.

Many patients are also seen at the Polyclinic and have no regular family doctor anyway.

MOH and SMC know this problem. It has never been solved properly really. So you get these GPs who basically make a living certifying death. They take the risk and the inconvenience to be "helpful". But it is fraught with danger as you can see. Really when you turn up, the person is already dead (obviously). So you base your assessment on what you can see, eg body injuries, bruises, the history from the family members. If you smell a rat, the family will do all it can to convince you to sign the death cert. Sometimes being abusive also. You are in their homes remember and the whole ching gang family is there.

There are those patients who have terminal cancer. They have a nice write up from the cancer centre or hospice. Those have no issues. Just follow the cancer diagnosis as cause of death. This Dr Kwan Kah Yee was probably doing that. Certifying for cancer patients. But expanded to ad hoc calls for death certification also since he was already doing quite a few. So that's how his number gets to Singapore Casket.

It is pretty lucrative actually. Imagine 1 day certify about 5-6 cases? Doesn't take that long to certify really and the fee is the same regardless of cause of death.

Once you agree to go, very hard to back out on signing the damn certificate.

widower of the moment allow non malay to touch,examine malay body? isnt that haram?

I will make a logical assumption of the whole case.
I smell something fishy between the widow and the doctor. Likely the doctor gave the widow some kopi $. Widow took the kopi $ liao and ask someone to lodge a complain.

http://www.healthprofessionals.gov....unds_of_decision/Dr Kwan Kah Yee (6Jul15).pdf

It's all there. The dead woman's sister made a complaint. The dead woman was aged 32 at the time of her death.

As I said, these cases only come to the fore if there is a complaint.

if i retire in sg and someone wishes to murder me by snuffing the life out of me with a pillow, strangling my neck, or overdosing me with pulverized sleeping pills in my beverage before i go to bed it can be easily done and police won't bother? just don't cut off genitals, heads, limbs or do anything bloody. as there is no one else to complain besides closest next of kin. if next of kin is mastermind, case closed? wow, there must have been numerous perfect murders committed in sg without being detected or suspected. good way to cull the unwanted and keep murder stats low. chop chop. sg is most efficient in dealing with death - can also be a silver lining depending on how one measures success.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....rife-over-Yishun-murder&p=2476246#post2476246

see my above post. Then you look at this case and you can join the dots.

Singapore Casket works hand in hand with Police. Police gets a call, they call Singapore Casket, Singapore Casket calls a "Helpful" GP willing to certify death. Usually costs about $200-$300 (back in the early 2000s dunno how much now).

GP certifies death, family can proceed with funeral, Singapore Casket gets the business, SPF no need file report for investigation into unnatural death can go back and relax. Everyone happy.....that is until somehow somebody complains that the death was NOT natural.

I tell you this sort of "death certification" is going everyday in Singapore. And the judges and SMC know it. It only comes to fore if someone makes a complaint about it. But seriously how many families would complain right?

So my question is, in this case who was the one who made the complaint? The widower said he trusted the GP and signed the letter to help him. After all he was the "helpful" GP right? Police won't want to do extra work so definitely not them unless the case was related to some other case then they have to open it up. Maybe a disgruntled family member?

What was the cause of death anyway?

In Spore, does the body need to be sent to hospital first before funeral? I read that in Malaysia the body need to be sent to hospital first.

"Who to Call When Someone Dies?

If a member of your family dies at home then you must call the police at your nearest local police station and an ambulance. The body must not be moved at all. Malaysian Law states that only an official can handle a dead body. The same law states that a medical official must be present to confirm the death for the purposes of the death certificate and records.

The body is then transferred to a hospital.
The hospital can be chosen by the family if preferred. If the ambulance takes the body then the hospital will be a public hospital. There will also be a fee payable for the ambulance service. The deceased person’s documents must be produced. These include passport, visas and any medical cards they may have had. Once the body has been removed, taken to hospital and recorded, you will be notified when you can arrange to have the body collected from the hospital.

After the recording of the death has been registered by the police and a medical official, the body can be collected from the hospital for the funeral arrangements to be made. On the release of the body, a letter of release called Surat Kebenaran Pengkebumian will be issued. This is the official document that tells funeral directors this body has been recorded by the necessary legal requirements. This process could take longer if an autopsy has to be performed if a medical official was not able to be present on collection of the dead body. This, for example, could be in a place away from home."

http://m.expatfocus.com/?url=http://www.expatfocus.com/expatriate-malaysia-death&utm_referrer=#2652

if i retire in sg and someone wishes to murder me by snuffing the life out of me with a pillow, strangling my neck, or overdosing me with pulverized sleeping pills in my beverage before i go to bed it can be easily done and police won't bother? just don't cut off genitals, heads, limbs or do anything bloody. as there is no one else to complain besides closest next of kin. if next of kin is mastermind, case closed? wow, there must have been numerous perfect murders committed in sg without being detected or suspected. good way to cull the unwanted and keep murder stats low. chop chop. sg is most efficient in dealing with death - can also be a silver lining depending on how one measures success.

Well a few factors to consider.....

First, the past medical history of the deceased. Any history of heart disease? Stroke? High blood pressure? Cancer? If there is, and there is documentation eg medication, doctor reports etc then usually the GP will certify the death as one of those causes. I mean they are the common causes of death right?

Second, the age of the patient. If the GP writes cause of death as heart attack or stroke in a 30 year old it might raise alarm bells. But if there is documentation of previous heart attack etc then it's ok. But an elderly person say 70 years old with history of diabetes and hypertension, family says he complained of chest pain was sweating a lot, then collapsed.....feasible to say it was a heart attack. Not so in a 30 year old.

You see in Singapore, the way the system works is they put the responsibility of determining unnatural death on the Physician. All deaths need a medical doctor's death certification before they can proceed with the funeral arrangements. Only if the doctor rings alarm bells then the police and coroner are called in.

I see no reason why to put such a job to medical doctors who are mostly not trained as medical examiners in forensic pathology.

In Canada/Alberta, as far as I know, there is no need to get a physician to certify death in the same way Singapore's system does. The funeral director actually applies for the certification on behalf of the family. The doctors are not involved unless the Police investigations determine they need the Medical Examiner's office involved to investigate possible unnatural death. So no GP going to people's houses in the middle of the night to certify death shenanigans.

If the deceased had died at the ED or in hospital the hospital would give a medical death certificate. I guess it makes sense. If you are sick and dying you should logically be going to the hospital. Unlike in Singapore "cannot fall sick, die can" cos too expensive cannot afford too stupid whatever the reason.

So I think in Alberta most cases of death at home would be classified unnatural until investigations determine otherwise ie medical examiner's office will come check.

This is by far a more professional system. I mean someone dying probably call 911. EMS comes, if dead they call it. I dunno for sure what happens after that.

Singapore's system is rubbish if you ask me.

In Spore, does the body need to be sent to hospital first before funeral? I read that in Malaysia the body need to be sent to hospital first.

If a member of your family dies at home then you must call the police at your nearest local police station and an ambulance. The body must not be moved at all. Malaysian Law states that only an official can handle a dead body. The same law states that a medical official must be present to confirm the death for the purposes of the death certificate and records.

The hospital can be chosen by the family if preferred. If the ambulance takes the body then the hospital will be a public hospital. There will also be a fee payable for the ambulance service. The deceased person’s documents must be produced. These include passport, visas and any medical cards they may have had. Once the body has been removed, taken to hospital and recorded, you will be notified when you can arrange to have the body collected from the hospital.

After the recording of the death has been registered by the police and a medical official, the body can be collected from the hospital for the funeral arrangements to be made. On the release of the body, a letter of release called Surat Kebenaran Pengkebumian will be issued. This is the official document that tells funeral directors this body has been recorded by the necessary legal requirements. This process could take longer if an autopsy has to be performed if a medical official was not able to be present on collection of the dead body. This, for example, could be in a place away from home."

http://m.expatfocus.com/?url=http://www.expatfocus.com/expatriate-malaysia-death&utm_referrer=#2652

Err why are you quoting Malaysian law? I thought you're the one who hates Malaysians?

http://www.nea.gov.sg/public-health...-matters/death-registration/when-death-occurs

Scenario B: If the death occurs at home

Step 1: Obtain Certificate of Cause of Death

Contact your family doctor who has been attending to the deceased. If you do not have a family doctor or if the family doctor is not available, contact any of the neighbourhood doctor who is willing to make a house call.

If the doctor is able to certify the death, he will issue the CCOD on the spot. If he is unable to certify the death, call the Police for the body to be sent to Mortuary@HSA (located at Block 9 Singapore General Hospital) in a Police Hearse. The family will be told by the Police when to go down to the Mortuary@HSA (usually the next day).

If you are unable to contact a doctor, call the Police. The body will be sent to the Mortuary@HSA in a Police Hearse. The family will be told by the Police when to go down to the Mortuary@HSA (usually on the next day).

Mortuary@HSA operating hours:
Monday to Friday - 8:00am to 4:30pm
Sat, Sun and Public Holidays - 8:00am to 12:30pm

At the Mortuary@HSA
• The Police Investigator will arrange for the family to view and identify the deceased's body in the presence of the Coroner.

• The Coroner will review the case and determine if an autopsy is required.

• The family will be informed of the Coroner's decision and the time to claim the body for the funeral.

If the autopsy reveals that the death is unnatural, the Police will need to conduct further investigations into the cause of death and the family will need to assist. Once the investigation is completed, the family will be told by the Police to attend a Coroner Inquiry at the Subordinate Courts.

Step 2: Engage a Funeral Director

After the Certificate of Cause of Death has been obtained, the family may engage a funeral director who will

(i) collect the body from the home/hospital mortuary
(ii) send the body for embalming (if required), and
(iii) deliver the body to the location of the wake

Yes it seems 3rd world matland is even more proper and serious than sinkieland when dealing with this issue.
Had a relative who died while on family holiday.
Big hassle getting the body back to Sg as the hospital doctor refused to sign off.....then I thot it was their red tape or the hospital guys want kopi money.....turned out the doctor explained they couldn't just suka suka sign the death certificate.

Err why are you quoting Malaysian law? I thought you're the one who hates Malaysians?

No lah I only hate my barbarian MALAYSIAN CHINESE neighbours and those MALAYSIANS in JB forum who slandered me and my ex colleague MALAYSIAN INDIAN SPR who sabotaged me. And you didn't see me always praise MALAYSIA govt very smart and protective of their citizens?

Oh I am just curious as always read from their newspapers reporting car accident death about them sending the body to hospital for autopsy. Never see Spore papers reporting like that. So I think there could be difference in death procedure. Maybe their procedure more thorough to do autopsy on car accident death bodies whereas Spore don't?

You can see all the flaws with the above system and loopholes for abuse.

Most people have no idea what to do. And have no idea which GP who is "willing to make housecalls" to call. So they either call 999 or Singapore Casket.

SPF or Casket will give them the number of the GP to call. GP goes down. If he is "helpful" will certify cause of death. If he is "not helpful" he will insist on calling Police and insist that Police make the case a coroner's case. This would mean explaining to the family that the coroner might have to do an autopsy. An autopsy involved cutting up the body, usually a midline cut through the centre of chest to abdomen, take out all the internal organs to examine, saw the skull and examine the brain for signs of stroke or trauma take blood etc. After that all the organs are put back into the body cavity and sewn up by the embalmer.

Those autopsy is taboo to most people in Singapore. It is like desecrating the body and most family member would adamantly refuse to that. And this decision by and large lies on the GP's shoulders. Not the SPF. (In fact SPF would rather GP just sign the darn death cert so they have less work to do)

So you can imagine the pressures put on the GP at the scene of death if it is at home.

Stupid system.

You see in Singapore, the way the system works is they put the responsibility of determining unnatural death on the Physician. All deaths need a medical doctor's death certification before they can proceed with the funeral arrangements. Only if the doctor rings alarm bells then the police and coroner are called in.

I see no reason why to put such a job to medical doctors who are mostly not trained as medical examiners in forensic pathology.

Singapore's system is rubbish if you ask me.

yup, it's a poor system when they put the onus on a gp who is not forensics trained. even if he is the burden on gps is too great. wonder how many strangling cases of old folks are attributed to "suicide".