• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do you have enough to Retire?

The figure might be much lower as some would have factored in cpf funds.
Sorry but we will never get to see cpf monies as long as pap is in power.

How much is that figure?
How much is that some?

Can that ever be known?
After all the fiddling with the fucking books by the smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY and his PAP maggots and cockroaches?

The government will dump you in Malaysia.

Dun think so...I've worked in a hospital before and I know how it works...but the social services will conduct a thorough investigation...but as long as you have no income and family, they have no choice but to take you in.

In reality, the Sillypore gahbrament will not take care of old folks for free. They will not give you a place to live and feed you free for the rest of your life.
Many old folks are lying on the street, picking up cardboard to recycle for a few cents to a dollar each day. They are left to rot and die at their own pace.
Some are found dead somewhere only to be discovered days later. All these has not been reported by our media at all.

The homeless old folks probably did not know they can exploit the system, and the government is not about to openly educate them. I've worked with Social Services and patients in hospitals before and I have seen many cases like this...it can happen...
The government may be soul-less, but those people who opt to become social workers do so because they have a heart (instead of a cash register) and they will work within the scheme to ensure that the elderly are re-homed...that much I'm sure.

Only 27% of adult Singaporeans said that they had sufficient funds to retire, compared with 61% of Thais and 47% of Malaysians, according to an insurance company survey.

:(:(:(:mad::(:(:(

So what should govt do to help? Surely it's their responsibility too?

I don't think there are that many billionaires in Spore?
Unless of course you are a civil servant with guaranteed health care benefits I doubt that the 27% can really claim to be ready for retirement.
Some of the 27% might be deluding themselves that they have enough retire. Some of these probably believe that you can afford a HDB if you make $1,000/month:D

In Spore even if you have a home & some savings how can one be sure that it will be enough until we die? Inflation & health care will keep on increasing as long as the PAP are in power.

I don't think there are that many billionaires in Spore?
Unless of course you are a civil servant with guaranteed health care benefits I doubt that the 27% can really claim to be ready for retirement.
Some of the 27% might be deluding themselves that they have enough retire. Some of these probably believe that you can afford a HDB if you make $1,000/month:D

In Spore even if you have a home & some savings how can one be sure that it will be enough until we die? Inflation & health care will keep on increasing as long as the PAP are in power.
Is there a country that has no inflation?

In reality, the nation have been providing welfare state benefits (juz because of one party rule system) to leeches aka papees leeching on the system. These leeches aka papees wasting nation's time and resources and etc every single second of the Mother Earth's day. By some unfortunate default, we as a nation have to put food on table and tonnes of $$$ for these leeches...

The country needs the government (employees of the public) to work for the country.
Can these leeches aka papees become self reliant? Get a job and be prepared to work hard
at least for once in a lifetime. Stop Leeching on the system.

FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP, FUCK PAP.........
MAY PAPEES, CRONIES N FAMILIES BURN ETERNALLY IN HELLS.........
MAJULLAH SINGAPURA.........
GOD BLESS SINGAPORE..............
REMEMBER to

VOTE papees OUT

do yrself, yr forefathers and yr generations to come, a favor, a service and a long-awaited justice

;););):D:D:D;););)

Depend on which country you want to retire in.

A lot of Singaporeans can retire in Thailand; Vietnam; Myanmar etc. But if you switch the country to Australia; Switzerland; Singapore etc, it become mission impossible.

By the way; it is not the Govt duty to help anyone retire. Just play smart and retire is a "cheaper country". Vietnam is a good choice as a bottle of Bia Saigon beer is only S$0.45.

There always loophole.
Best is rent out pigeon hole average 4rm HDB can rent $2k.
Then become phantom worker. Still get CPF from employer FOC and claim work bonus from gov if salary low eg $1k and gov will top up cash bonus.
That will be at least $2.5k/month.
With that you can retired in Thai/Malaysia/Indon .
Best of the both world.
Thias is what I planing to do.

With the few dollars I have I will start my investment planning now. I believe it is still not too late for me even though I am nearing 80. :eek:

Only 27% of adult Singaporeans said that they had sufficient funds to retire, compared with 61% of Thais and 47% of Malaysians, according to an insurance company survey.

Strange leh. From the latest figure, 60.1% thought they had more than enough to retire with more good years to come.

If what you said was right. That means 33.1% ( 60.1-27) of Sinkie are being screwed and do not realise this.

And the rest of the remaining gets screwed but they got no BALLS to do anything about it.

Way to go, Sinkie! LoL

The fundamental problems are cost of living which is extremely high and increasing. NO thanks to gahmen claim that GST is to help the poor......... how so when borderline retirees pay
GST thru their noses! Medical costs alone kill many - standard procedures here compared to KL or BKK is double or triple for things like cataract surgery; stenting, etc....... I got my eyes laser-ed to reduce eye ball pressure and I was socked by $650 for less than 10 minutes C-class day surgery!
I understand that same surgery would cost #300 in KL or Malacca & $200 in BKK. Why are our medical blokes paid so much or izzit the gahmen is taking too much from us? Gahmen must be reminded that almost all of us is not related to the Brunei's royalty. If the don't alllow Susan Lim to shark patients then they should not be sharking us too!

You cant really plan entirely for retirement. One never knows what health issues you will face during your old age. Also how do you manage your funds in places like MY, Thai, Phi...when your are frail and weak. Local hospitals in these cuntries gonna wipe you clean of your money and leave you to the dogs..

Best is still immigrating to OZ, Canada or NZ. Laws already in place to protect you. On top of that these cuntries give pension to old folks. Once you secured citizenship from these western cuntries than only can consider SE Asia. If you fall seriously sick, can anytime go back and get free treatment and medication..leaving your savings intact.

Strange leh. From the latest figure, 60.1% thought they had more than enough to retire with more good years to come.

If what you said was right. That means 33.1% ( 60.1-27) of Sinkie are being screwed and do not realise this.

And the rest of the remaining gets screwed but they got no BALLS to do anything about it.

Way to go, Sinkie! LoL

It is NO longer 60% but 31 % based on how Tony Tan got returned as Pres.............gahmen is shitting in their pants. Hence attempt to sway opinions by gagging the internet media with $50,000 licensing which is more that GE candidate deposit........ Same friggin game PAP is playing with defamation suits - use lots of money and extreme power to silence you! Even Indian cleaner lady was required to pay her own costs depite the fact that Appleal Court agree with M Ravi that LHL does not have unfettered power to delay By Election. Win oso got to pay - which other cleaner dares to dissent anymore?

Whether you have enough or not, always remember those who have taken too much for doing too little, and in some cases, doing nothing.

Oh and one more thing, don't be kiasu, kiasee, kiaboh, kiabor and kiachenghu.

Fucking CCB!

Parking charges for 21/2 hours at the Paragon Shopping Centre cost me $22!

Yesterday parked 11/2 hours for lunch at the Keppel Club and it cost me $14!

Nowadays on top of the high parking charges they impose a $5 entrance charge for each hour.

Fuck the govt for causing this runaway inflation!

long before our time....retirement was such a breeze until the paps cum into the pic and started preaching about insufficient saving for retirement. they are using FEAR, APPREHENSION AND ANXIETY to aggravate the timidness of sgporeans in order to rely and vote them in. in another words, they are like fear tactic conmen.

why are they holding on to our cpf savings since they keep preaching that we have insufficient fund for retirement? they should gladly return every cent to us.

at least if we dun ve enough for retirement, with our cpf $ we could at least live once and pamper ourselves for a life long slavery of toil and hard labour.

The homeless old folks probably did not know they can exploit the system, and the government is not about to openly educate them. I've worked with Social Services and patients in hospitals before and I have seen many cases like this...it can happen...
The government may be soul-less, but those people who opt to become social workers do so because they have a heart (instead of a cash register) and they will work within the scheme to ensure that the elderly are re-homed...that much I'm sure.

that's the way of our hypocritical gahmen. their principle is this: like wanna give; like dun give. and if they really give, u shall be sorry they would take it back in leaps and bounds.

it's personal responsibility for every one to maintain their own retirement fund! now return the citizens their CPF |}%€!$*#~?
I agree with you. But pap has created the inflated property monster by "forcing" citizens to buy local property with cpf money to the extent that if cpf is allowed to be withdrawn fully upon retirement, the entire property market will collapse, thereby destroying the value of cpf money locked up in property. End up everyone lose money.

when you can't afford to retire then no need to worry...................becoz you won't be retiring............work till you drop dead lor..........

Fucking CCB!

Parking charges for 21/2 hours at the Paragon Shopping Centre cost me $22!

Yesterday parked 11/2 hours for lunch at the Keppel Club and it cost me $14!

Nowadays on top of the high parking charges they impose a $5 entrance charge for each hour.

Fuck the govt for causing this runaway inflation!
omg. knn, i thought i quite wicked liaoz, my pappies master even more wicked. hehehe. my pappies master sibeh clever, car move also pay, car no move also pay. pappies a million years.

With the few dollars I have I will start my investment planning now. I believe it is still not too late for me even though I am nearing 80. :eek:
Why do you need to worry since you are nearing 80? You only need a little money. Can even cut off home Internet and use free wifi in public places.