• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do you have enough to Retire?

Force 136

Only 27% of adult Singaporeans said that they had sufficient funds to retire, compared with 61% of Thais and 47% of Malaysians, according to an insurance company survey.

:(:(:(:mad::(:(:(

So what should govt do to help? Surely it's their responsibility too?

Depend on which country you want to retire in.

A lot of Singaporeans can retire in Thailand; Vietnam; Myanmar etc. But if you switch the country to Australia; Switzerland; Singapore etc, it become mission impossible.

By the way; it is not the Govt duty to help anyone retire. Just play smart and retire is a "cheaper country". Vietnam is a good choice as a bottle of Bia Saigon beer is only S$0.45.

Only 27% of adult Singaporeans said that they had sufficient funds to retire, compared with 61% of Thais and 47% of Malaysians, according to an insurance company survey.

:(:(:(:mad::(:(:(

So what should govt do to help? Surely it's their responsibility too?

it's personal responsibility for every one to maintain their own retirement fund! now return the citizens their CPF |}%€!$*#~?

A lot of Singaporeans can retire in Thailand; Vietnam; Myanmar etc. But if you switch the country to Australia; Switzerland; Singapore etc, it become mission impossible.

By the way; it is not the Govt duty to help anyone retire. Just play smart and retire is a "cheaper country". Vietnam is a good choice as a bottle of Bia Saigon beer is only S$0.45.

Think about the truth is so sad. I mean we are Singaporeans and its difficult to retire in our own homeland, hell it's even difficult to get reasonably priced medical care here or die here in our own home. Think about it, we voted these bastards into politics to tell us to retire overseas, seek medical overseas, spend our last days in an oversea hospice. This is damn sad man.

Sinkees don't have the rights to retire in any other countries. Retiring elsewhere is not a ready option. For realistic planning, one should assume that the retirement is in sinkapore.

Yes, it is the responsibility of the government to look after the citizens, including those in retirement. That's why we pay taxes. Government policies affect our lives in every way. Thus, the government can't abdicate from its role to look after the welfare of all citizens. If the government can't do that job, then it should be kicked out of power.

Think about the truth is so sad. I mean we are Singaporeans and its difficult to retire in our own homeland, hell it's even difficult to get reasonably priced medical care here or die here in our own home. Think about it, we voted these bastards into politics to tell us to retire overseas, seek medical overseas, spend our last days in an oversea hospice. This is damn sad man.

Retire in Singapore. Live long to be problem to the PAP. If u retire elsewhere they also happy!!

it's personal responsibility for every one to maintain their own retirement fund! now return the citizens their CPF |}%€!$*#~?

How can we have a decent retirement fund when the essentials in daily living like a government flat puts us in debt for 30 years!

... we voted these bastards into politics to tell us to retire overseas, seek medical overseas, spend our last days in an oversea hospice ...
dey where got tel u 2 retire n seek medical overseas? ...

dey wun tel u 2 retire overseas 1 la ... lidat u'll sel ur flat n take out ur cpf, det gotta pay u a lot, u noe ... if evry1 does dat, dey go bankrupt, u noe! ...

You sinkies wouldn't have any problem with retirement if you are a vegan. Simple food and no medical problem.

... So what should govt do to help? Surely it's their responsibility too?
ur cpf was originally set up 2 help u in retiremen ... now, dey dun even gif u back ur cpf ... u stil xpek tis gahmen 2 help u? ... stop dreaming! ...

tis gahmen is not 4 u ...

shud juz sel ur flat n migrate ... tis place is not 4 u! ...

It is a responsibility that Government around the world do not uphold.

Main objective of the Govt is to stay in power. Any other agenda is secondary.

Yes, it is the responsibility of the government to look after the citizens, including those in retirement. That's why we pay taxes. Government policies affect our lives in every way. Thus, the government can't abdicate from its role to look after the welfare of all citizens. If the government can't do that job, then it should be kicked out of power.

How can we have a decent retirement fund when the essentials in daily living like a government flat puts us in debt for 30 years!

Sinkies have cancerous PAP maggots and cockroaches who screwed and fucked 700++ billions of their money into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY Stinkapore sovereign funds.
Thereby making cost of living in Stinkapore sky high so that they can be screwed billions more by the PAP

How to hope to retire in Stinkapore when the PAP maggots and cockroaches do not work and lived as vampires and parasites with their kangaroos and paper generals off Sinkies?

VOTE OUT ALL THOSE PAP MAGGOTS AND COCKROACHES IN 2016
AND PRAY FOR LKY TO EAT JOSS STICKS AND CANDLE WAX SO THE ROTTEN PAP WILL IMPLODE IN ORGY OF BACK STABBINGS

It is a responsibility that Government around the world do not uphold.

Main objective of the Govt is to stay in power. Any other agenda is secondary.

And to stay in power, governments who abandon the people will get toss out. That happens in democracy.

The figure might be much lower as some would have factored in cpf funds.
Sorry but we will never get to see cpf monies as long as pap is in power.

I'll probably sell my HDB when I'm old, travel the world and spend all my money...
After that, check into the nearest hospital, claim no residing address and next-of-kin, and become the hospital's responsibility. Means test will show that I have no income and savings, and I will automatically be placed in an old folks' home...all paid for by the government. How's that for a plan?

If the Sillypore Gahbrament is not willing to create jobs for the locals but keep giving it away to FTs, I don't think we and the younger generations can retire here comfortably.

Think positive.

The last leaf is dying. Once he is gone there's a good chance that LHL will think of retiring;)

I'll probably sell my HDB when I'm old, travel the world and spend all my money...
After that, check into the nearest hospital, claim no residing address and next-of-kin, and become the hospital's responsibility. Means test will show that I have no income and savings, and I will automatically be placed in an old folks' home...all paid for by the government. How's that for a plan?

In reality, the Sillypore gahbrament will not take care of old folks for free. They will not give you a place to live and feed you free for the rest of your life.
Many old folks are lying on the street, picking up cardboard to recycle for a few cents to a dollar each day. They are left to rot and die at their own pace.
Some are found dead somewhere only to be discovered days later. All these has not been reported by our media at all.

Retirement is a dirty word in sinkieland.
Work until you die is the mantra

The government will dump you in Malaysia.