• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Do scholars works only with theory?

ykhuser

anyone have work with uni scholars before?
do you all find that they only works in theory and not listen to your past experience?
they can have tonn and tonn of theories learned from text, but they will not give a damm what you explain is right or wrong as long as your education are not on par with him.
are they only trained in textbook in your uni campus?
1) they only think they are right,all other with lower rank are bull shit
2)they factored in theories learn from text but apply badly in real life.
3)they can only do well in organization that spend $$ (defense force etc , they sucked big thumb in organization that earns $$ ( investment company ,banks)
4)in meetings, they often give you deadlines to settle something,if you cant,they will alway threaten ,they will give a call to your boss for an answer.
5) they are good at implementing new rules ( etc safety) but at times they themselves will not follow.

At least scholars have done enough research to prove their points.

While others only know how to just anyhow whack.

After you spend 1/4 of your life on theories and getting aces for it, you sit down and relaks after that.

It is all about theory lah.
Looking around at the cock-ups and the number of times they say, we could have done better, should provide you with the clues.

After you spend 1/4 of your life on theories and getting aces for it, you sit down and relaks after that.

but but but,often their minds is not flexible.
example:
manufacture say this laptop suppose to last 3 years.
so 100 pcs were bought.
1 year later 3 pcs ended its life earlier.

scholars being scholars will refers to manufacture claim that its life is 3 years.
they dont care.they die die want supplier to pay 3 pcs by 1 month if not will kena jialat
they say supplier can settle the problem with manufacture.

example 2:
to install lifts at 10 blocks of flat
each lift motor cost $15k
installation of motor $5k
during DLP of 1 year,
1 motor gone back.

scholars being scholars will tell contractors to get it done back asap.
contractor say they will send the motor to OEM for warranty claim,but user need to pay $8k to dismantle and reinstall back the motor as part of the labor cost.
scholars being scholars will say under DLP you go eat shit.everything they want to be done foc,if not their monthly lift serving reports they will find bone in the egg.

anyone have work with uni scholars before?
do you all find that they only works in theory and not listen to your past experience?
they can have tonn and tonn of theories learned from text, but they will not give a damm what you explain is right or wrong as long as your education are not on par with him.
are they only trained in textbook in your uni campus?
1) they only think they are right,all other with lower rank are bull shit
2)they factored in theories learn from text but apply badly in real life.
3)they can only do well in organization that spend $$ (defense force etc , they sucked big thumb in organization that earns $$ ( investment company ,banks)
4)in meetings, they often give you deadlines to settle something,if you cant,they will alway threaten ,they will give a call to your boss for an answer.
5) they are good at implementing new rules ( etc safety) but at times they themselves will not follow.

If scholars are incompetent, what does that say about the rest of Singapore society.:rolleyes:

My experiences with them is as you described. They are smart and intelligence but often lack basic EQ, are arrogant and authoritative. It's usually their way or the highway. They refuse to listen because they believe they are smarter than everyone else. Most are rather ruthless; especially those with military background.

The problem as I see it, is that these people advanced too fast in their career and are not given enough opportunity to gain real hands-on experience. Compounded by moving them across totally different fields, sectors and roles. Making them a jackass of everything and master of absolutely nothing. They are given leadership position upon graduation and throughout their career, have other do all the field work while they "gather the best idea".

This problem is further aggravated by the misconception that as long as you have management experience, you can put a scholar anywhere and he will excel whatever the role is. Put a doctor in a military position and he'll be a general and strategist. Put a general in a bank and he'll be the greatest investor ever. It's like a general who was a marketing intern and his next job is the director of sales.

Election 2011 is a really sad outcome for me as I see this government dug real deep into the bottom of the barrel for "talent". Their appointment of several ministerial and MP position really mocks and insult every Singaporean (except the 60.1% who has less than average intelligence of course).

because they believe they are smarter than everyone else.

They are smarter than everyone else. That's how they obtained their scholarships.

If they were stupider than everyone else, they'd spend their time whinging and whining in internet forums like this one.

My experiences with them is as you described. They are smart and intelligence but often lack basic EQ, are arrogant and authoritative. It's usually their way or the highway. They refuse to listen because they believe they are smarter than everyone else. Most are rather ruthless; especially those with military background.

The problem as I see it, is that these people advanced too fast in their career and are not given enough opportunity to gain real hands-on experience. Compounded by moving them across totally different fields, sectors and roles. Making them a jackass of everything and master of absolutely nothing. They are given leadership position upon graduation and throughout their career, have other do all the field work while they "gather the best idea".

This problem is further aggravated by the misconception that as long as you have management experience, you can put a scholar anywhere and he will excel whatever the role is. Put a doctor in a military position and he'll be a general and strategist. Put a general in an bank and he'll be the greatest investor ever.

Election 2011 is a really sad outcome for me as I see this government dug real deep into the bottom of the barrel for "talent". Their appointment of several ministerial and MP position really mocks and insult every Singaporean; except the 60.1% who has less than average intelligence.

1 things for sure,when i talk to them,i know majority of them are for sure very smart and intelligent and of course arrogant and authoritative.
are they going to get married with their own kind?

They are smarter than everyone else. That's how they obtained their scholarships.

If they were stupider than everyone else, they'd spend their time whinging and whining in internet forums like this one.

The ability to do well in exams does not make one smarter. Knowing how what 3 elements is needed in a fire doesn't mean you know how to start, and extinguish, a fire.

they can be smarter than the majority but they cant be smarter than everyone else.
the old saying is right: there is mountain even higher the highest mountain you can find.
you can score 200 in IQ,but you cant work well in any organization.
i know of 1 in my company.
he had a phd , but everybody don't like him because he will often ask a lot of silly questions that even sec 4 students can answer.
funny qns:so the rim plus the tyre is equal a wheel lah.how about a wheel plus a tyre = what?

1 things for sure,when i talk to them,i know majority of them are for sure very smart and intelligent and of course arrogant and authoritative.
are they going to get married with their own kind?

Why the hell would you care about whether they marry their own kind or not? Are you being courted by one? If you are, then good for you if you're the woman.

Scholars are worse off than Christians when it comes to marriage. Divorce for them is an absolute no-no as it seen as a failure (one who is not success at his marriage will not be success in life). I know many male scholars who are constantly taunted and bullied by their wives. A few of them are made cuckoo and their wives openly fool around but they can do nothing. Don't ask me why their wives are unfaithful.. maybe their husbands are too boring for them.

they can be smarter than the majority but they cant be smarter than everyone else.
the old saying is right: there is mountain even higher the highest mountain you can find.
you can score 200 in IQ,but you cant work well in any organization.
i know of 1 in my company.
he had a phd , but everybody don't like him because he will often ask a lot of questions that even sec 4 students can answer.

I fired a scholar for incompetency. I was excited when I hired him but soon found that he is too dependent on others to do work for him. Cannot complete the simplest task on his own. Very smart, very presentable and talks well but a total failure when it comes to execution.

why do you hired him in the first place?because he is a striage aces scholar

Don't blame scholars for being scholars .blames Singaporeans for being subservient and followers of the Confucius code of ethics.sinkies will always follow the patriarchal model and are too afraid to question authority even if the authority is nobody and just a rank up.

Aussies and ang mohs on the other hand are the best.everyone is an individual and is not afraid to voice their opinion or crack joke at anyone expense no matter the rank race seniority or position or job.they will treat even the most senior like a drinking buddy that u can joke and mess with.

That's why Australia despite minimum wage so high their productivity is also higher.more feedback and active critism and less yes sir no sir and porlampa.

but a total failure when it comes to execution.

I'm a total failure when it comes to execution too. That's why I pay dumber people to execute the plan for me.

Scholars are not for smaller companies. They do not get their hands dirty.