Disagreement in the MND?

CPT (NS) BRANDON

In response to the recent news that five-room flats at the DBSS Centrale 8 in Tampines were going for as high as $880,000 -

Khaw Boon Wan (MND Minister) said "DBSS is not HDB"

http://mndsingapore.wordpress.com/

Tan Chuan Jin (MND Minister of State) said "Recent DBSS prices the norm? Not by far."

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tan-Chuan-Jin/182928775083239

Could there be disagreements or dissension within the ranks?

Note that the Straits Times carried on its front page on Saturday that a netizen posted on Khaw's blog "you might as well put a knife to our throats and kill us". Could it be that some ST reporters are disgruntled and fed up? And perhaps they are now starting to voice their disagreements openly (albeit in subtle ways)?

The land in which the Design & Build flats are State Land, land meant to build AFFORDABLE housing under HDB, whose motto is " Homes For The People". You can't afford to buy DBSS, buy HDB, they are different, but from the same Organization, strange insn't? Still can't , rent!

I think the chaos arise because of the "link"no matter how vague between DBSS and HDB. As long as there is inkling with HDB, there must not be a departure from the mission statement of HDB - that is to have affordable housing.

If today, this is a condo project by private developers, nobody will give a hoot or in fact, some will say - wow good buy!

I think, this DBSS scheme is not realistic. HDB shld just concentrate on doing what it is supposed to do. As it is already, there are insufficient flats.

BTO takes time to materialise - even the fastest building speed - 2 years? Alot of things can happen liao...already so many couples are getting married because of HDB flat not because their relationship is stable.

I think the chaos arise because of the "link"no matter how vague between DBSS and HDB. As long as there is inkling with HDB, there must not be a departure from the mission statement of HDB - that is to have affordable housing.

If today, this is a condo project by private developers, nobody will give a hoot or in fact, some will say - wow good buy!

I think, this DBSS scheme is not realistic. HDB shld just concentrate on doing what it is supposed to do. As it is already, there are insufficient flats.

BTO takes time to materialise - even the fastest building speed - 2 years? Alot of things can happen liao...already so many couples are getting married because of HDB flat not because their relationship is stable.

DBSS is just a way for HDB to push responsibility of potential poor sales to private developers and they have a captive market to sell their hdb loans to.

==

actually, i heard some years back, HDB has plans to let go of the loans - i.e. stop dishing out HDB loans at 2.6% because they are not making as much as they would like (vis-a-vis the commercial banks).

now, the plot is reversed, no one wants a HDB loan - 2.6% vs 0.8% ... alot of people i know, are refinancing and abandoning HDB loans for commercial loans.

but that being said, at 2.6% and 880K, how much CPF can a young couple have as downpayment? assuming they loan only 500K, at 2.6%, thats like paying approx = 2Ka month of instalment for 30years ? Fuck !

NKF in the making. Remember the young lady fired for whistleblowing within MND for unusual accounts activities?

phph7AxYr.jpg

there is no group think!

==

actually, i heard some years back, HDB has plans to let go of the loans - i.e. stop dishing out HDB loans at 2.6% because they are not making as much as they would like (vis-a-vis the commercial banks).

now, the plot is reversed, no one wants a HDB loan - 2.6% vs 0.8% ... alot of people i know, are refinancing and abandoning HDB loans for commercial loans.

but that being said, at 2.6% and 880K, how much CPF can a young couple have as downpayment? assuming they loan only 500K, at 2.6%, thats like paying approx = 2Ka month of instalment for 30years ? Fuck !

Let me tell you how ridiculous DBSS is. 15% downpayment gives you 748K to clear. At 30 years and 2.6%, you pay $2,994.54 per month and S$1,078,035 for the total loan or S$1,130,035 for this expensive coffin. If you split it 50-50 with wife, you get S$1,497 from CPF OA account deducted. But wait, that cannot be possible.
CPF ceiling income is 5K. At 5K, your monthly CPF contribution can only be at S$1,800 max and S$1,150. If you make more than 5K, you are the top 10% of income cohort in Singapore. In that case, this project should not be done by HDB as it is a luxury product.

The public buys direct from the developer for the DBSS flats? or through HDB?