Dengue death : The BS to avoid liability starts

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001373.htm

Treatment

Because Dengue hemorrhagic fever is caused by a virus for which there is no known cure or vaccine, the only treatment is to treat the symptoms.

• A transfusion of fresh blood or platelets can correct bleeding problems
  • Intravenous (IV) fluids and electrolytes are also used to correct electrolyte imbalances
  • Oxygen therapy may be needed to treat abnormally low blood oxygen
  • Rehydration with intravenous (IV) fluids is often necessary to treat dehydration
  • Supportive care in an intensive care unit/environment

Placing "THE CURE" in caps does nothing to alter the fact that you do not understand the meaning of the word.

The issue here has nothing to do with cures. It was whether or not adequate and timely treatment was provided in order to give the patient the best chance possible of surviving the viral infection.

Treating Dengue is like dealing with a major trauma injuries. 3 seriously injured persons from a car crash usually arrive at a trauma centre simultaneously and are all treated at the same time. Treatment involves repairing broken and ruptured body parts, massive blood transfusions to replace lost blood, relieving pressure on the brain if there is brain injury and preventing infection from setting in by cleaning all open wounds as thoroughly as possible.

Despite all that is done, 1 out of 3 may still die despite all the intervention. There are always factors beyond the control of medicine. While 2 patients may have responded to treatment, the other might still have died from secondary infections despite the best efforts of the doctors.

A friend of mine who caught dengue didn't even go to hospital. He survived without realising he had caught the virus. Everybody responds differently to an infection because of the genetic diversity of the human species.

I've no choice by to put THE CURE in caps, because it befuddles me that you don't seem to get it after I spend so much time to explain it to you. Check my siggie gif. You would get that too. Now I know why Alan Lee did what he did. LOL.

http://www.cdc.gov/dengue/faqfacts/index.html

Q.
What is dengue hemorrhagic fever (DHF)?

A.
DHF is a more severe form of dengue infection. It can be fatal if unrecognized and not properly treated in a timely manner. DHF is caused by infection with the same viruses that cause dengue fever. With good medical management, mortality due to DHF can be less than 1%.

biology 101:

contrary to popular belief that viral fever can be cured, it can't!
some may ask: why do doctors prescribe antibiotics courses then?

viral infection may some times disrupt the body's immune system so much that the body becomes susceptible to secondary infections, possibly bacterial in nature. that's when the course of antibiotics can help to kill off the bacterial organisms during the secondary infection. the antibiotic can't do shit to the virus.

I've no choice by to put THE CURE in caps, because it befuddles me that you don't seem to get it after I spend so much time to explain it to you. Check my siggie gif. You would get that too. Now I know why Alan Lee did what he did. LOL.

Medical experts at CDC, Medline and a host of other authoritative medical websites categorically state that there is no cure for Dengue and you expect to believe you instead?

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001373.htm

Treatment

Because Dengue hemorrhagic fever is caused by a virus for which there is no known cure or vaccine, the only treatment is to treat the symptoms.

• Intravenous (IV) fluids and electrolytes are also used to correct electrolyte imbalances
  • Rehydration with intravenous (IV) fluids is often necessary to treat dehydration
  • Supportive care in an intensive care unit/environment

That is THE CURE!!! That is what medical treatment is all about. If there is a vaccine, that is THE CURE. In the absence of a vaccine, the suggested alternative action plan is THE CURE. If the patient can recover from it after getting that treatment, then that is THE CURE!!!
Forget about tongue twisting medical terms which nobody understands their terminology. As long as a patient can recover after being treated, that is it.

http://www.umm.edu/ency/article/001373trt.htm

Dengue hemorrhagic fever - Treatment

Alternative Names

Hemorrhagic dengue; Dengue shock syndrome; Philippine hemorrhagic fever; Thai hemorrhagic fever; Singapore hemorrhagic fever

Treatment:

Because Dengue hemorrhagic fever is caused by a virus for which there is no known cure or vaccine,
the only treatment is to treat the symptoms.

• Supportive care in an intensive care unit/environmen

Source: Dengue hemorrhagic fever http://www.umm.edu/ency/article/001373trt.htm#ixzz2V7pGh8IA
University of Maryland Medical Center
Follow us: @UMMC on Twitter | MedCenter on Facebook

Medical experts at CDC, Medline and a host of other authoritative medical websites categorically state that there is no cure for Dengue and you expect to believe you instead?

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, as I'm a visionary. However, I'll play the conspiracy card here that these chaps are in cahoot. Because the facts are clear. No treatment, sure die. With treatment, there is a good chance of recovery. That is what CURE means to any layman.

biology 101:

antibiotics are to combat bacteria and germs. vaccines are used against viruses. however, vaccines do not cure viral infections. it helps the immune system to combat the virus. the virus don't disappear after being defeated by vaccines and the subsequent onslaught of the immune system. they lay dormant and may resurface again in a more potent mutation. :eek:

C'mon lah, Sammy. Even with a know vacine, patients can also die....so might as well say all sicknesses and illnesses and diseases have no cure then.

Tell you what I understand with the word CURE. If NOTHING or ANYTHING done for the patient will ever determine if he survive or die from a medical condition, then that means there is NO CURE. If that is not the case, then that is THE CURE.

biology 101:

s.

That is because patients love antibiotics treatments. Doctors may be Hoping for a placebo effect. The abuse of antibiotics is causing big issues but that is another story.

I'm not a conspiracy theorist, as I'm a visionary. However, I'll play the conspiracy card here that these chaps are in cahoot. Because the facts are clear. No treatment, sure die. With treatment, there is a good chance of recovery. That is what CURE means to any layman.

I can't stop you if you want to redefine the understanding of the word but it's the sort of logic that doctors used for uneducated old ladies in order to simplify matters. I'm sticking to the meaning of the term as used by the medical community.

My Uncle was a doctor and he had his own Hokkien and Cantonese terminology which he used to simplify the diagnosis for the sake of those who thought that headaches were caused by wind in the head.

With proper treatment of DHF, the mortality rate is less than 1%. If Singapore does worse than this figure year in year out, then I'll say that the medical fraternity is lacking when it comes to treating the disease. If it is well below 1%, then they're doing an excellent job.

You can't pass judgement based on individual cases unless there is evidence of negligence of some sort. Some people die no matter what. I had a friend die because his toe nail got infected.

I can't stop you if you want to redefine the meaning of the word but it's the sort of logic that doctors used to use for uneducated old ladies in order to simplify matters. I'm sticking to the meaning of the term as used by the medical community.

My Uncle was a doctor and he had his own Hokkien and Cantonese terminology which he used to simplify the diagnosis for the sake of those who thought that headaches were caused by wind in the head.

With proper treatment of DHF, the mortality rate is less than 1%. If Singapore does worse than this figure year in year out, then I'll say that the medical fraternity is lacking when it comes to treating the disease. If it is well below 1%, then they're doing an excellent job.

You can't pass judgement based on individual cases unless there is evidence of negligence of some sort. Some people die no matter what. I had a friend die because his toe nail got infected.

No no, being colloquial or believing in old wife's tales or what is not the topic discussed here. For example, if you have a stomach ache and I give you placebo pill and you get well. That is the cure. How it does it is not important. Ok, another example, if you have a stomach ache and I give you gastric pill or whatever and you get well. That is the cure.

Sure, I can tell you I'm only arresting the symptoms and the placebo pill or gastric pill is just doing that and nothing else. BUT and a BIG BUT, if giving you placebo pill or whatever miracle pill will not relieve you of your stomach ache and you get worse and then die, then we say THERE IS NO CURE.

That is what we must understand CURE to mean, not those oxymoronic medical terminology that only they (the doctors) know or pretend to know.

The reason why doctors in Singapore prescribe antibiotics for viral infections is because the patients expect it.

More than one of my doctor friends, upon setting up their private practices, tried to explain to patients that antibiotics were of no use for what they had and in fact, could make matters worse in the long term.

Their effort to educate the general public about the dangers of overprescribing antibiotics was rewarded with a sharp decline in the number of patients. Someone has to pay the rent and fund the payroll.

After learning the hard way, they now prescribe antibiotics to every patient who shows up with a sore throat plus they throw in a Vitamin B12 jab too just for the heck of it. Business is now booming. The patients feel that they are being cared for and are getting their money's worth despite the fact that B12 is just a placebo and antibiotics do nothing except add to the growing list of antibiotic resistant bacteria.

They can now pay their overheads with lots of money to spare for their fancy cars and club memberships.

This has to do with TTSH. It's very common for misdiagnosis and shrug shoulders mentality because of MOH's chobolan soul sold to the pharmaceuticals greedy fucks. Get your brain straighten out, don't everything also blame your grandfather.

MOH is under PAP govt lah you gong cheebye! If dun blame PAP then blame who? Blame your grandfather who voted for PAP?

Why are we arguing over, cure or no cure?? We all know that there is no known cure for dengue, then again, there is no known cure for the common cold & many other common sickness too. The issue is..it is how soon the patient gets PROPER ( understand that word) treatment, & given medical attention, hopefully stop the dengue & allow the body defense system to fight the virus.

I was infected by the Dengue virus unknowingly...I spent 3 days on paracetamol, and another, oh! I forgot what the doctor taught me, the OTC tablet to treat fever that goes higher than the normal paracetamol cannot handle. It was paracetamol every 6 hr, fever went down..then up I took second type of medicine..fever gone..when reaching 8 hrs fever came back... it went for 3 days, then fever slowly started climbing down...& by the 4th day it taper off...but I was feeling extremely weak...cant walk more than 50m before sitting down...on the 5th day...I woke up with gum bleeding...I shot off to see a doctor..by taxi..

Doc looked at me at remark...you had Dengue Fever & you survived, the body fought the virus...all he gave me was B complex, the gum bleeding stopped, some multi-vitamins & soon i was normal.

The long story is to illustrate that we need to get proper, if possible accurate diagnosis of what is ailing you, then prescribe the treatment, the medicine, if needed hospital stay...& the rest will be your body versus the virus.

Why debate, this can cure or cannot cure...if it is a virus..it is dangerous, even a simple stomach flu caused by the flu virus that descended to the stomach..can KILL

The reason why doctors in Singapore prescribe antibiotics for viral infections is because the patients expect it.

More than one of my doctor friends, upon setting up their private practices, tried to explain to patients that antibiotics were of no use for what they had and in fact, could make matters worse in the long term.

Their effort to educate the general public about the dangers of overprescribing antibiotics was rewarded with a sharp decline in the number of patients. Someone has to pay the rent and fund the payroll.

After learning the hard way, they now prescribe antibiotics to every patient who shows up with a sore throat plus they throw in a Vitamin B12 jab too just for the heck of it. Business is now booming. The patients feel that they are being cared for and are getting their money's worth despite the fact that B12 is just a placebo and antibiotics do nothing except add to the growing list of antibiotic resistant bacteria.

They can now pay their overheads with lots of money to spare for their fancy cars and club memberships.

WHAT???!!!

Your friend suka suka give antibiotics??!!!???!

antibiotics are to combat bacteria and germs. vaccines are used against viruses. however, vaccines do not cure viral infections. it helps the immune system to combat the virus.

biology 102:

the vaccines used to treat viral infections are actually attenuated forms of the virus. the vaccine triggers the immune system to cough out the 'memory cells' and increased phagocyte production. the phagocytes go on a 'nom nom' trip and eats up the virus, the 'memory cells' cough out antibodies :o:o:o

MOH is under PAP govt lah you gong cheebye! If dun blame PAP then blame who? Blame your grandfather who voted for PAP?

KNN cheebye, if you can't shit, you also blame your grandfather, is it, chao cheebye. Be a man ok. Everyday complain, you not tired is it blurfuck.