• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CPIB conveniently ‘forgets’ to invite former director to its 60th anniversary celebra

[h=2]CPIB conveniently ‘forgets’ to invite former director to its 60th anniversary celebration[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
September 28th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

CPIB-60th-anniversary.jpg
CPIB 60th anniversary celebration with the 3 PMs (past and present) and former CPIB directors except one, attending

The Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) celebrated its 60th anniversary at the Istana on 18 Sep last week. The guests of honour included all 3 Prime Ministers of Singapore, past and present: PM Lee Hsien Loong, ESM Goh Chok Tong and former MM Lee Kuan Yew.
PM Lee Hsien Loong later even wrote on his Facebook page, “Not so often that all three of us attend a ceremony together.”

Other invited guests included all the former CPIB directors except one. For some strange reasons, the current CPIB director Eric Tan seemed to have ‘forgotten’ to invite Mr Yoong Siew Wah, a former CPIB director from 1968 to 1971. Mr Yoong was the first non-expatriate to hold the CPIB directorship after the independence of Singapore.

In fact, Mr Yoong only came to know about his exclusion from the CPIB 60th anniversary celebration from a Straits Times’ news report 1 day after the event.

Mr Yoong said on his blog [Link], “For some strange reason, the current director Eric Tan saw it as ‘prudent’ to withhold invitation to me probably because of the likely presence of Lee Kuan Yew at the celebration, although I was a former director.”

“I was not at all surprised at my exclusion but I was particularly angry that the insensitive Director Eric Tan had not the courtesy to inform me beforehand that I could not be invited to the celebration and that I had to learn of it from the press.”

Mr Yoong made no bones about his disgust with former MM Lee Kuan Yew.

He said, “True, my disgust of the hubristic Lee Kuan Yew could make my presence at the celebration a big embarrassment to him.”

He then wrote a letter to Director Eric Tan on 19 Sep to voice his resentment at Mr Tan’s lack of civility in dealing with the matter.

In the letter, Mr Yoong said, “I was not surprised but extremely disappointed that you had, whether wittingly or unwittingly, excluded me from your invitation of former CPIB directors to your glitteringly celebration… you may have been put in an invidious position, and I sympathised with you, to have to make that unkind decision because of your awareness of my not infrequent castigation of the highfalutin Lee Kuan Yew in my blog. My presence at the anniversary celebration would have caused not inconsiderable embarrassment to that demigod. I do not wish to discuss my reasons for my utter disgust of this man.”

“Instead of reading it in the press, would it not have been more gracious of you to have the courtesy to inform me beforehand of your well-advised decision of not inviting me to the celebration because of possible embarrassment to Lee Kuan Yew?”

Mr Yoong added that in any case, his health condition would not have allowed him to go to the celebration and that he would have politely declined the invitation anyway. Mr Yoong is currently more than 80 years old.

Mr Yoong then ended the letter by saying, “I do not have any grudge with you (Eric Tan). I only hope that you will show more consideration to me if there is any such misunderstanding in future.”

Almost 10 days have passed since Mr Yoong wrote the letter to Director Eric Tan and he has not received any reply from the Director.

Mr Yoong wrote on this blog, “Is it arrogance or lack of civility or a combination of both that prompted the intransigent behaviour of Director Eric Tan in not replying to a former director and a former colleague? Could recent publicity about the CPIB have gone into his head?”

In the days before the Internet, such incidents would have been swept under the carpet and not been noticed or reported. But thanks to the Internet and social media, Mr Yoong can report this news himself on his own blog, with social media and alternate sites picking it up and helping to transmit it to the public to read.

Director Eric Tan does owe Mr Yoong an explanation and it is only courteous that he replies to Mr Yoong’s letter. Perhaps the Director thought that Mr Yoong’s letter to him will never be noticed or reported?
Editor’s note: Mr Yoong Siew Wah was the Director of Singapore’s Internal Security Department (ISD) from 1971 to 1974. Before his stint with ISD, he was the Director of the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB) from 1968 to 1971. The SPH book “Men in White”, alleged in page 441 that Mr Yoong was asked to quit CPIB in 1971 after he was “suspected” of using his personal influence to assist his friend Mr Francis Seow, then the ex-Solicitor General of Singapore in a case. Mr Yoong rebuked the allegations as baseless on his blog. He is now retired and blogs at http://singaporerecalcitrant.blogspot.com.
Join our TRE facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/TREmeritus
rw.loader.gif

Re: CPIB conveniently ‘forgets’ to invite former director to its 60th anniversary cel

Wonder if the CNB hold their 50th anniversary will they invite Mr Ng Soon Gay to grace the occasion??

Re: CPIB conveniently ‘forgets’ to invite former director to its 60th anniversary cel

Wonder if the CNB hold their 50th anniversary will they invite Mr Ng Soon Gay to grace the occasion??

... together with Cecelia Boo ?

You cannot find a more petty government than this. This is a guy who refused to take a substantial bribe from the CIA to become a double agent for the sake of the country.

mr. yoong is here on this site.

You cannot find a more petty government than this. This is a guy who refused to take a substantial bribe from the CIA to become a double agent for the sake of the country.

A small hearted government populated by small hearted individuals. They are skilful in driving the numbers, but have absolutely no clue in the social space and over the past generation have created a selfish, self-centred society. And they talk about the kampong spirit.

Well said bro.

A small hearted government populated by small hearted individuals. They are skilful in driving the numbers, but have absolutely no clue in the social space and over the past generation have created a selfish, self-centred society. And they talk about the kampong spirit.

contrary to any claims here that the cpib has never lost a case or has one overturned in its history, none is as glaringly controversial and political as one headed by yoong. 4 detectives plying into the sg's female companion's love nest were fired by the deputy commisioner of police as a result of cpib investigations. however, they were reinstated by the late ag (on instructions by you know who) and cpib investigations and report on the 4 were buried. although yoong was appointed (immediately after the sg, cpib, ag fiasco) d isd after his d cpib stint, the new appointment was no biggie, but a consolation holding "cell" for damage control and minimization. it was also to test loyalties in the ongoing debacle between sg and strongman. isd was the perfect set up.

yoong, if you're here, defend yourself. not interested in the elephant war between former sg and strongman. what have the 4 done to receive your damning report? they were merely pawns and practicioners protected by the patriarch. you should know that. :p

Petty thieves they are.

how can you sympathize with this lot when they're all cut from the same cloth? they were all in it until they had a fall out with you know who (the hand who fed them all). even jbj defended the 4. what a fecking incestuous orgy of arse reaming convolution. to think that those who have fallen out (of favor) are patriotic saints is simply naive. if they were to stay in power and in favor, they would have screwed you 360. only those out of favor cum here to complain.

I do not know who is Yoong but his choice of English words very bombastic!

Maybe yoong had been a fucked up boss previously?

This Yoong is just like Old Lee and Mahathir. All these old farts never complain when things were going their way then and now almost at the end of their life still refuse to move out from the limelight keep on commenting on this and that.

Please lah....get a life and move on old man. Old already dun KPKB, you had your chance to make it right when you're powerful but didn't, so just live in regret and stop trying to make up for it. Too late lah.

Mr Yoong wrote on this blog, “Is it arrogance or lack of civility or a combination of both that prompted the intransigent behaviour of Director Eric Tan in not replying to a former director and a former colleague? Could recent publicity about the CPIB have gone into his head?”

1. hahaha!
2. invitation is carefully screened by dogs-in-waiting hoh!
3. so that it will cause much discomfort and hurt to broken record mah.
4. after all, ah tan is just following instructions from its grand masters.
5. well, tan is another obedient top dog!:mad:

526593_400519296670987_1587112581_n.jpg

to think that those who have fallen out (of favor) are patriotic saints is simply naive. if they were to stay in power and in favor, they would have screwed you 360. only those out of favor cum here to complain.

they only started seeing the truth after they fell out of favour. it will be a stretch to label them saints, but its disingenuous to disregard the truth of what they say simply by dismissing it as a case of sour grapes.

it will be a stretch to label them saints, but its disingenuous to disregard the truth of what they say simply by dismissing it as a case of sour grapes.

not exactly the truth. half truth, embellishment, exaggeration, vindictiveness, pride, arrogance, cockiness, vengeance, anger, hatred all rolled into one. somewhere in the pile are snippets of facts, but the facts have agendas and motives stuck to them.

to a person who has been starved of the truth all their life, a half truth will taste sweeter than mana.

all the emotions you attach to the "half-truth", apply equally well to those who still remain in favour.

to a person who has been starved of the truth all their life, a half truth will taste sweeter than mana.

this explains why many sinkies are often manipulated and seduced by small doses of deception masquerading as truth. full materially, empty mindfully. any false prophet with drips of cummy juice will captivate the masses.

seduced by small doses of deception masquerading as truth. full materially, empty mindfully. any false prophet with drips of cummy juice will captivate the masses.
That's the harsh reality we live in. Depends on which side of fence, and with proverbial axe to grind (leaving sentiments aside). And doesn't leave much for us plebeians:cool: