• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CPF job is easy, no need to provide real return above inflation rate.

Malaysia EPF target return is 2% above inflation rate. Our 2.5% is how many percent below - not above - inflation rate??

EPF eyeing 40 mid-cap stocks
By Zaidi Isham IsmailPublished: 2013/06/18

THE Employees Provident Fund (EPF), the world’s sixth largest
provident fund, is looking to invest in some 40 mid-cap companies to continue providing good returns to its six million active contributors.

EPF chief executive officer Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan said there are some 200 midcap companies on Bursa Malaysia.

“We are already investing in a lot of middlesized companies and we will definitely support companies that fulfil our investment criteria, which are having ample liquidity in the stock market, can generate cash flow and dividends and having good corporate governance.

“We are looking at those sectors that are robust and not so dependent on economic cycles, as we want to maintain our record of bringing stable returns to the depositors.

“Our target has always been to provide real return, which is inflation plus two per cent,” Shahril said here yesterday.

He had earlier accompanied Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan on the latter’s visit to the EPF headquarters here.

Shahril was commenting on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s call last Thursday for government-linked investment companies, especially EPF, to play a more prominent role
and increase market vibrancy by investing in good quality mid-cap stocks.

Speaking at Invest Malaysia 2013, Najib said Malaysia possesses a collective savings pool in excess of RM1 trillion and the fund management industry, including public sector funds, is a great mobiliser of capital.

Mid-cap stocks are companies with medium-market capitalisation listed on Bursa Malaysia with revenues in the tens of millions
of ringgit.

Shahril said EPF is already investing 20 per cent of its funds in mid-cap stocks and plans to increase it to 30 per cent.

He declined to name the companies and the sectors, but healthcare and industrial are some of the highest growing sectors at the moment.

The EPF owns and manages assets worth more than RM556 billion, of which 60 per cent are invested in fixed income (government bonds), share market (16 per cent), property (two per cent) and others.

Meanwhile, Shahril said the EPF expects 80,000 employers to register with its newly launched online application, e-Caruman, by year-end.

"We have just launched e-Caruman. We intend to wrap up the numbers as we undertake more promotions.

"Our target is smaller and mid-scale employers," he said.

Shahril said many employers still resort to manual submission and there were many errors that resulted in the money not credited into the right accounts immediately.

"We have been spending a lot of time and money correcting the errors. By going online, it will be easier for us to detect the errors in the forms submitted to us and the employers can correct them," he added.

Read more: EPF eyeing 40 mid-cap stocks http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20130618001130/Article/#ixzz2WaOTX7dt

Malaysia EPF target return is 2% above inflation rate. Our 2.5% is how many percent below - not above - inflation rate??

“Our target has always been to provide real return, which is inflation plus two per cent,” Shahril said here yesterday.

Read more: EPF eyeing 40 mid-cap stocks http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20130618001130/Article/#ixzz2WaOTX7dt

Tis is something our garment could learn a thing or two fm our neighbour. But wat puzzle me is tat our Msian bros never appreciate some of the good things their garment had provided for them. Above is juz one of several good examples.

But like i always said. Red carpet and door of Sinkieland always open to our Msian bros. But No. They rather come here to work. Earn S$ and stay at JB or Msia. Infact i would say most of those landed or even condo properties were bought by Msians/SPRs. Especially the former properties.

But the real culprites are the SPRs. They have both worlds! They have spending power! Yet yet they keep complaining how bad their garment are. Tis typical group should renounce their blue IC (Msian Chinese especially, follow by Malays (not many thought) and very very small proportion of Indians) in exchange for red IC since they have so many bad things to say abt their garment....and so many good things..singing praises for our garment.

Note, that's a target, not actual achieved returns.

That said, generating a certain rate of return constantly is always a difficult job.. Fund managers don't just sit around and hope money drop from the sky. It's about getting rid of non performing portfolios and acquiring more promising ones, while at the same time managing risk exposure. That sounds simple but believe you me it is not. Getting rid of duds cost money, acquiring promising ones cost money and new risks involved. At this exercise is always a setback for people involved.

One day I want to manage my own hedge funds and run things by my own rules, rather than following rules set by some people up there.

Tis is something our garment could learn a thing or two fm our neighbour. But wat puzzle me is tat our Msian bros never appreciate some of the good things their garment had provided for them. Above is juz one of several good examples.

But like i always said. Red carpet and door of Sinkieland always open to our Msian bros. But No. They rather come here to work. Earn S$ and stay at JB or Msia. Infact i would say most of those landed or even condo properties were bought by Msians/SPRs. Especially the former properties.

But the real culprites are the SPRs. They have both worlds! They have spending power! Yet yet they keep complaining how bad their garment are. Tis typical group should renounce their blue IC (Msian Chinese especially, follow by Malays (not many thought) and very very small proportion of Indians) in exchange for red IC since they have so many bad things to say abt their garment....and so many good things..singing praises for our garment.
Malaysians dared to vote against their govt....sinkies we can only count on the 39.9%

Malaysia EPF can generate 5% per annum, but the ringgit depreciate 3% per annum. Lppl. The ringgit was 1-1 to sgd many years ago. Go ask the johoreans if they are happier now.

At least for cpf, 2.5% is maintained as the floor, and for past few years, this is higher than bank mortgage rates or 1%.

Malaysia EPF can generate 5% per annum, but the ringgit depreciate 3% per annum. Lppl. The ringgit was 1-1 to sgd many years ago. Go ask the johoreans if they are happier now.

At least for cpf, 2.5% is maintained as the floor, and for past few years, this is higher than bank mortgage rates or 1%.

Yes. No doubt. BUt those Msians working here dont really lose out much ya.

As for CPF 2.5%. Not everyone get their loan fm banks hor.

Mine fm HDB. Rates slightly higher than CPF rates.

Hmmm....i havent talk abt inflation in Sinkieland in Msia yet.

originally when one hits 55yo, cpf refuses to return the saving, obviously something isn't right already.

now they increase the withdrawal age so many times. something's already very fishy.

last sting job, after increasing withdrawal age, they are now increasing minimum sum to $139,000. as if that now enough, they also increase the medisave sum......

now what the fuck!!

doesn't anyone ever suspect that there is something TERRIBLY VERY WRONG!!??

Even if the CPF return is 10% or higher, does it really matter when you can't use it or withdraw it freely, when they keep changing the goalposts and increase the minimum sum? :rolleyes:

CPF is taxation on your disposable income. End of story.

Even if the CPF return is 10% or higher, does it really matter when you can't use it or withdraw it freely, when they keep changing the goalposts and increase the minimum sum? :rolleyes:

Sinkie are daft.

And Balless.

All it takes to make them a little happy is to let them see their CPF statements showing whatever amount which they have but they cannot touch or completely use.

If you ask me for a scale of daftness and ballessness fom 1 to 10. Sinkie would be rated way out of the scale .

ON BOTH POSITIVE AND NEGATIVE ENDS! lol

originally when one hits 55yo, cpf refuses to return the saving, obviously something isn't right already.

now they increase the withdrawal age so many times. something's already very fishy.

last sting job, after increasing withdrawal age, they are now increasing minimum sum to $139,000. as if that now enough, they also increase the medisave sum......
This is pap way of ensuring property market continues uptrend, because now the only way to utilize cpf money is to buy properties.

As for medisave, it is pap way to continue to underfund medical needs.

Unfortunately the money stashed in temasick and GIC is not well utilized to create jobs for sinkies. Instead a big chunk of this money is used to create jobs for foreigners.

What is the age one can withdraw all cpf monies in one lump sum? Im totally confused now..

Oh, it changes all the time. This is what they call "a unilateral arrangement". :(

Lots of good things our govt can learn from our neighbour on how to really treat its citizens well. Another good thing is free medicine for those senior citizens. One SPR who worked in SG for many years now retired said he used to take medicine from SG polyclinic for hypertension and need to pay over two hundred dollars each time but now pay nothing getting from JB govt hospital and it is the same medicine.

Actual achieved returns is 6.15% for 2012 and 6% for 2011. Btw their bank housing loan is around 4.2%.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2013/2/17/nation/20130217142137&sec=nation

Yeah not easy but if they're going to pay us 2.5% then they should let us manage our own CPF like in Australia superannuation aka CPF they can set up their own trust and manage it themselves.

Note, that's a target, not actual achieved returns.

That said, generating a certain rate of return constantly is always a difficult job.. Fund managers don't just sit around and hope money drop from the sky. It's about getting rid of non performing portfolios and acquiring more promising ones, while at the same time managing risk exposure. That sounds simple but believe you me it is not. Getting rid of duds cost money, acquiring promising ones cost money and new risks involved. At this exercise is always a setback for people involved.

One day I want to manage my own hedge funds and run things by my own rules, rather than following rules set by some people up there.

The more Rm depreciate, the more happy SPRs are...

now what the fuck!!

doesn't anyone ever suspect that there is something TERRIBLY VERY WRONG!!??

Yeah very strange indeed, the whole thing is very complicated and can't seem to take out at all...

True, it seems that way but for younger folks with a long way to go it is good if interest rate can double so that they have more to draw out - albeit monthly only - when it is their time to start drawing out.

This is pap way of ensuring property market continues uptrend, because now the only way to utilize cpf money is to buy properties.

As for medisave, it is pap way to continue to underfund medical needs.

Unfortunately the money stashed in temasick and GIC is not well utilized to create jobs for sinkies. Instead a big chunk of this money is used to create jobs for foreigners.

True, the only way is to buy properties but once the property is sold, the money goes back to CPF and still need to draw out eventually if not buying or not able to buy another property.