• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[COVID-19 Virus] The Sinkies are fucked Thread.

MOH said that estimates are that the fully-vaccinated and boosted individuals benefit from vaccine effectiveness of about 80 per cent or more against COVID-19 infection, and about 99 per cent against severe illness
:eek: wu yia bo ? 99% is almost a 仙丹

How long does it take before the vaccines start to make a difference to the death rate?

Loofydralb

@dredd @porcaputtana
You should tell the MTF to add the casualties of taking the third dose into the statistics due to covid, after all trying to take poison to escape covid is the same as getting it and dying from it.
And again all vaxxed died.

Balls2U

Two just went for 1st pfizer jab, one just booked sinopharm and one waiting for novavax. All not happy but no choice. Not lying.

The one who opted for Pfizer is an idiot, when Sinovac and Sinopharm are available. If all they want is a vaccine passport to get around, they should just choose the inactivated ones. Fuck the efficacy. It's their own immune system that matters.

JustOneSingh

ova lah... knn... ovaries are the organs lah

if you think about it, the germ cells undergo meiosis instead, need nourishment and can die.

Bhai,

Adapted from Institute for Molecular Bioscience,

University of Queensland, Australia.:

Both bacteria and viruses are invisible to the naked eye and cause your sniff, fever or cough, so how can we tell the difference?

With bacteria rapidly developing resistance to antibiotics, it is increasingly important that we know the distinction, because viruses can’t be treated with antibiotics, nor bacteria with antivirals.

Rapid and effective testing is imperative, so we can successfully treat the offending microorganism.

COVID-19 is teaching us the hard way–we have no treatment for a new virus until we have anti-viral drugs and vaccines specifically targeted against it.

Therapies developed against an existing virus often do not work, or work poorly, against a new virus. Until this time, our best weapons are handwashing and physical distancing.

On a biological level, the main difference is that bacteria are free-living cells that can live inside or outside a body, while viruses are a non-living collection of molecules that need a host to survive.

Many bacteria help us: living in our gut digesting and helping absorption of our food, fixing nitrogen and decomposing organic materials in soil. Similarly, not all viruses are bad—we now know there are also beneficial viruses present in our gut, skin and blood that can kill undesirable bacteria and more dangerous viruses.

[break..........],

What are viruses?​

Viruses are an assembly of different types of molecules that consist of genetic material (either a single- or double-stranded DNA or RNA) with a protein coat and sometimes a layer of fat too (an envelope).

They can assume different shapes and sizes—spacecraft designs, spirals, cylinders and ball shapes.

>>>> Viruses that are enveloped with a layer of fat (such as SARS-CoV-2 which causes COVID-19)

can be more readily killed by simple handwashing, because soap disrupts this fatty layer.

Viruses can’t reproduce on their own (unlike bacteria) so they aren’t considered ‘living’, but they can survive on surfaces for a varying level of time.

Viruses need to enter a living cell (such as a human cell) to be able to reproduc
e, and once inside they take over all of the cellular machinery and force the cell to make new virus.

Viruses cause diseases including the flu, herpes simplex virus, Ebola, Zika and the formidable common cold.

Viruses can be quite selective about where they live and reproduce–many viruses don’t even infect humans. Some viruses only infect bacteria, some only infect plants, and many only infect animals.

However, a virus can evolve to jump into humans. This often happens with influenza: for example bird flu or swine flu which originated in birds and pigs and managed to infect humans. SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, probably jumped into humans from bats.

The life cycle of a virus can be divided into the following stages: entry of the virus into the host cell; replication of the viral genome; production of new viral proteins; assembly of those viral proteins into new viruses and then release from the host cell (either by killing the cell or by budding off the host cell membrane) ready to infect new cells.

[Further reading required].

-

JustOneSingh

Researchers are re-engineering the lethal design of bacteria and viruses to find ways to stop their infectious cycles.

At the moment, vaccines are under development to protect us against COVID-19.

vaccine_shutterstock_1046242816.jpg
Vaccines show the immune system important parts of the virus so that the immune system can prepare the tools to fight the real virus effectively—vaccines trick the immune system into responding like it has previously seen the virus.

The best studied of these immune ‘tools’ are antibodies, which stop viruses from getting into new cells. But the immune system also makes killer cells, which stop viral replication by killing any infected host cells.

Traditionally vaccines are weak or inactivated forms of the virus.

There are many potential vaccine candidates in the pipeline globally, made using a wide range of new technologies.

These vaccine technologies include the use of subunit vaccines: researchers make viral proteins and put them into the body, so that the immune system makes antibodies against those viral proteins.

This method is usually safer and quicker than using live or inactivated virus.

Other technologies trick the body to make those viral proteins itself, these include delivery of RNA in liposomes or DNA plasmids in nanoparticles, as well as modified safe viruses and existing vaccines.

By studying virus life cycles and how viruses are detected by the immune system, we can discover new ways to target the virus and treat viral disease even without a vaccine.

Bacterial and viral infections are often related​

While bacterial and viral infections are different, they are often related.

Severe cases of viral pneumonia often end up with an associated bacterial infection. This is particularly true with COVID-19, where up to 50% of the severely ill hospitalised patients have developed a bacterial infection. So, despite COVID-19 being caused by a virus, antibiotics are really important to treat the associated bacterial infections.

As antibiotic-resistant bacteria are an increasing global problem, researchers at IMB are investigating the surface activity of bacteria at molecular level and have discovered how they elude the human immune system . They are also looking at developing new therapies to treat resistant bacteria, and working to help researchers around the world discover new antibiotics.

We’re now well on the way to developing preventative therapies, biomarkers and vaccines to foil these elusive microbial assassins from plaguing our world.

[Updated :
5 AUG 2021].

-

JustOneSingh

The SARS-CoV-2 virus does not infect blood vessels, despite the high risk of blood clots to COVID-19 patients, University of Queensland researchers have found.

Dr Emma Gordon and Dr Larisa Labzin from UQ’s Institute for Molecular Bioscience and Dr Kirsty Short from UQ’s School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences pooled their expertise in vascular biology and virology to determine how the virus causes damage to blood vessels.

Inflammation triggers cardiovascular complications​

The researchers found that the cardiovascular complications of COVID-19 are triggered by inflammation caused by infected airway cells.

“At least 40 per cent of patients that are hospitalised with COVID-19 are at high risk of blood clots, and anti-coagulation therapies are now being routinely used,” Dr Gordon said.

“There have been many studies attempting to prove whether the virus is infecting cells of the inner blood vessel wall or not.

Understanding how blood vessels respond​

“By conducting our experiments using real, infectious virus rather than fragments of the virus’s spike protein, we can definitively say it is not.”

The researchers used UQ’s sophisticated microscopy facilities to track where the virus travelled in the cells and visualise how blood vessels respond to the live virus.

Immunologist Dr Labzin said the body’s inflammatory response had a big effect on the cardiovascular system because they work together to fight infection – the blood delivers the immune cells to the site of infection and makes blood clots if the blood vessel is damaged.

Working together to fight infection​

Dr Emma Gordon and Dr Larisa Labzin
Joining forces - Dr Emma Gordon and Dr Larisa Labzin
“When our immune system works well, it clears the virus from our bodies,” Dr Labzin said.

“But sometimes it goes into overdrive and we get an overblown inflammatory response causing complications –in the case of COVID-19, this is often blood clots, when there shouldn’t be any.

“Knowing that it is inflammation causing these cardiovascular complications arising from COVID-19 rather than the virus itself will help us develop the right treatments, and a better understanding of how and why these complications arise.”

Developing better treatments for COVID​

Heart Foundation interim CEO, Professor Garry Jennings said the study helps clarify a key debate about the relationship between the virus and the lining of the blood vessels.

“How the cells lining the blood vessels sense the virus and the damage to nearby cells is still not completely understood,” he said.

“There is more research to do, but this study is an important step in our understanding of the virus and which cells and mechanisms we should look at next.”

This research is published in Clinical and translational Immunology .

This work was supported by a Future Leader Fellowship (104692) from the National Heart Foundation of Australia and the National Health and Medical Research Council.

Bhai,

What are viruses?​

Viruses are an assembly of different types of molecules that consist of genetic material (either a single- or double-stranded DNA or RNA) with a protein coat and sometimes a layer of fat too (an envelope).
Namaste Bhai!

life​

(līf),
1. Vitality, the essential condition of being alive; the state of existence characterized by such functions as metabolism, growth, reproduction, adaptation, and response to stimuli.
2. Living organisms such as animals and plants.
[A.S. lif]
Thank you boss!

so folks have moved on to subsribe on the replicator paradigm, ok, ok.

Thank you boss!

so folks have moved on to subsribe on the replicator paradigm, ok, ok.

I have found that in this day and age you can pretty much define anything any way you want and you can also remove long held definitions to suit the times.

Nothing is sacred anymore.

As long as your take on any issue is subscribed to by a sufficient number of people who matter it becomes the truth.

I have found that in this day and age you can pretty much define anything any way you want and you can also remove long held definitions to suit the times.

Nothing is sacred anymore.

As long as your take on any issue is subscribed to by a sufficient number of people who matter it becomes the truth.
good grief... I’d better move with the times!

porcaputtana

What to do ?

demands are high

one by one the anti vaxxers are flying white flag and lining up for their jabs

no one listens to you low SES preachers anymore