• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Covid-19: Proposed law to prohibit parties or gatherings of any size, at home or in public spaces Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/c

Published07 April, 2020
Updated 07 April, 2020

SINGAPORE — A set of proposed laws introduced and debated in Parliament on Tuesday (April 7) will prohibit social gatherings of any size in both private and public spaces while Singapore battles the Covid-19 outbreak, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said.

During a debate on the Covid-19 (Temporary Measures) Bill, Mr Gan said this would include any private parties or gatherings among family members or friends who are not living together, at home or in public spaces such as in parks and Housing Development Board void decks.

The Bill provides the legal basis for the Government to enforce the enhanced safe distancing measures that it has introduced to limit the spread of the coronavirus.

When passed, the new laws will be valid for six months and will empower the Health Minister or any public officer authorised by him to appoint enforcement officers to take action against individuals, business owners or entities which flout the orders and requirements, Mr Gan said.

Enforcement officers will include police officers, public officers and health officers appointed under the Infectious Diseases Act.

The Bill allows the Health Minister to prohibit events and gatherings or impose conditions on how they are conducted and on the participation in such activities, Mr Gan said.

“This enables us to better regulate events and gatherings, including those that take place on private properties. For example, we had earlier required certain events and mass gatherings to be deferred or cancelled. We will now also disallow social gatherings of any size in both private and public spaces.”

Mr Gan noted that the Bill also restricts the movement of people in specified places and limits the usage of specific premises and facilities. This includes the use of common areas such as void decks and shared facilities in HDB estates and private condominiums.

Mr Gan added that some people might refuse to adhere to safe distancing measures put in place by food and beverage venues such as coffee shops or supermarkets, or they may loiter and inter-mingle in groups in public areas instead of staying at home.

“In doing so, they place themselves and others around them at risk of infection. We will not hesitate to take action against such persons and send a strong signal to prevent such behaviour from negating our collective efforts during this crucial circuit breaker to slow down the infection,” he said.

“For our enhanced safe distancing measures to work, we need members of the public to take the measures seriously. Therefore, failure to adhere to the measures without a reasonable justification will constitute an offence,” he added.

“Let me reassure members that the enforcement officers will look at the facts of the cases carefully, including whether there are reasonable explanations for any non-compliance, before taking action.”

The penalties are aligned with those under the Infectious Diseases Act. For first time offenders, the penalty is a fine of up to S$10,000, imprisonment of up to six months, or both. For second or subsequent offences, the penalty is a fine of up to S$20,000, imprisonment of up to 12 months, or both.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...gatherings-any-size-home-or-public-spaces-gan

I think all the churches, temples and mosques should be demolished and condos built to replace them. Better yet, hospitals.

SBFNews

What about those old smelly farts who put table and chairs along common corridor and gather to chit chat, or even play mahjong?

Hypocrite-The

Published07 April, 2020
Updated 07 April, 2020

SINGAPORE — A set of proposed laws introduced and debated in Parliament on Tuesday (April 7) will prohibit social gatherings of any size in both private and public spaces while Singapore battles the Covid-19 outbreak, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said.

During a debate on the Covid-19 (Temporary Measures) Bill, Mr Gan said this would include any private parties or gatherings among family members or friends who are not living together, at home or in public spaces such as in parks and Housing Development Board void decks.

The Bill provides the legal basis for the Government to enforce the enhanced safe distancing measures that it has introduced to limit the spread of the coronavirus.

When passed, the new laws will be valid for six months and will empower the Health Minister or any public officer authorised by him to appoint enforcement officers to take action against individuals, business owners or entities which flout the orders and requirements, Mr Gan said.

Enforcement officers will include police officers, public officers and health officers appointed under the Infectious Diseases Act.

The Bill allows the Health Minister to prohibit events and gatherings or impose conditions on how they are conducted and on the participation in such activities, Mr Gan said.

“This enables us to better regulate events and gatherings, including those that take place on private properties. For example, we had earlier required certain events and mass gatherings to be deferred or cancelled. We will now also disallow social gatherings of any size in both private and public spaces.”

Mr Gan noted that the Bill also restricts the movement of people in specified places and limits the usage of specific premises and facilities. This includes the use of common areas such as void decks and shared facilities in HDB estates and private condominiums.

Mr Gan added that some people might refuse to adhere to safe distancing measures put in place by food and beverage venues such as coffee shops or supermarkets, or they may loiter and inter-mingle in groups in public areas instead of staying at home.

“In doing so, they place themselves and others around them at risk of infection. We will not hesitate to take action against such persons and send a strong signal to prevent such behaviour from negating our collective efforts during this crucial circuit breaker to slow down the infection,” he said.

“For our enhanced safe distancing measures to work, we need members of the public to take the measures seriously. Therefore, failure to adhere to the measures without a reasonable justification will constitute an offence,” he added.

“Let me reassure members that the enforcement officers will look at the facts of the cases carefully, including whether there are reasonable explanations for any non-compliance, before taking action.”

The penalties are aligned with those under the Infectious Diseases Act. For first time offenders, the penalty is a fine of up to S$10,000, imprisonment of up to six months, or both. For second or subsequent offences, the penalty is a fine of up to S$20,000, imprisonment of up to 12 months, or both.

https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...gatherings-any-size-home-or-public-spaces-gan
Is tat wat majority of singkies want? Save a few lives and destroy their own livelihood in the process?

I suspect this is an election ploy to keep everyone apart from gossiping about PAP. This measure will pave way for election in May/June. You still think PAP cares about the citizen? After election, no more lock down, no more ban, every foreign Tom, Dick and Harry can enter our Changi Terminal or Causeway point. By the time our community start to spread again with high fatality, PAP has already won another 5 years tenure. GST will kick in, no more cash handout, every price hike is meant for your own good. They wanted to take back your cash payout triple fold. SINKIES ARE SCREWED AGAIN!

I shall summon your Punisher!

@ginfreely !!!!

1586260254630.jpeg

nightowl

The problem with such a law is a lot of young working couples have a practice of going to parents or parents in-law homes to eat dinner after work during pre covid 19 days. I doubt they even know how to cook except for instant noodles. Good luck to these young singaporean ignorant couples, who have been spoilt from birth.

countryman

The problem with such a law is a lot of young working couples have a practice of going to parents or parents in-law homes to eat dinner after work during pre covid 19 days. I doubt they even know how to cook except for instant noodles. Good luck to these young singaporean ignorant couples, who have been spoilt from birth.
This not a problem, @most just ta pao or uber eats.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I think all the churches, temples and mosques should be demolished and condos built to replace them. Better yet, hospitals.
Hospitals? Who is going to pay for people to work in them?

Sinkies always complain can die cannot fall sick cos of $$$$

Now is the time to walk the talk.

yinyang

Legislated straightaway. Now most neigbourhood benches have strips (no sitting). :barefoot:

Even if this non-socialising's motivated by the 20k foreign workers dorm cluster, imho this is akin to using sledge hammer.
Can't someone sit alone? House arrest and now even this. Are we a police state?! :rolleyes:

Legislated straightaway. Now most neigbourhood benches have strips (no sitting). :barefoot:

Even if this non-socialising's motivated by the 20k foreign workers dorm cluster, imho this is akin to using sledge hammer.
Can't someone sit alone? House arrest and now even this. Are we a police state?! :rolleyes:
Bro YY dun complain if not next step will be full lockdown and curfew. With army patrolling the streets and violators shot on sight

SBFNews

Blame it in those Lao heros who die die must eat breakfast, lunch and dinner at kopitiam and hawker centres, telling cock and bull stories of their "heroism" day in day out!