• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

confirmed: cpf is a conjob!!

ok, at least now i realise i won't be getting my life saving back fr cpf. the late dr toh chin chye had revealed the whole conjob :(

Dr.Toh Chin Chye lambasted the Health Cabinet Minister Howe Yoon Ching on trying to defer CPF withdrawal age during the 29-6-1984 Parliamentary Debate

"Mr Speaker, I think fundamental principles are being breached. The fundamental principle is this. The CPF is really a fixed deposit or a loan to Government, which can be redeemed at a fixed date when the contributor is 55 years old.
If I were to put this sum of money in a commercial bank and, on the due date I go to the bank to withdraw the money, the manager says, “I am sorry, Dr Toh, you will have to come next year”, there will be a run on the bank! It is as simple as this, that the CPF has lost its credibility, the management of it. This is fundamental. You were taken by surprise by Medisave. Then they say, “6% of your Special Account will be kept for Medisave and you cannot withdraw that, even if you were to die.”

Now I ask the Minister for Health, and I asked him last time, whether his word is binding on future Ministers. Neither will the Minister for Labour’s word be binding on future Ministers for Labour. Can any Government or any Minister guarantee that in future years a law will not be passed that will say, “All Special Accounts in the CPF cannot be withdrawn until you die”? Your Special Account now is up to 10%; 6% Medisave, 4% for what? So unless you use the CPF to buy property, your money is in real danger of being kept under lock and key by others, not under your own lock and key. This is the nub of the problem – the credibility of the management, gradual encroachment into the purpose of the CPF which was instituted really to provide for retirement."

There are too many booby traps implemented by CPF Board against CPF members who want to withdraw their own CPF money when they are 55 years old.

if the bank doesn't return my money in my fixed deposit, i can complain to MAS. if cpf doesn't return me my money when i m 55, where am i suppose to complain?

they already moved the goalpost until now i also blur where is the goalpost. they even legislated it. how can such an illeegal action be leegalised in the first place? how could the entire nation be so quiet about it??

this is indeed a strange country where we leave our fate to a group of people who were voted by us but do not even dare to speak out for us :(

Many years ago I said CPF = Cash Postponed Forever!

Your cash.

There are those that do not depend on CPF for retirement and also they are those that are young, who believe in their own immortality, waiting optimistically that the ruling party will suddenly turn benevolent or collapse in the future thus not having any sense of urgency in this issue at all.

Some have bought flats with CPF and are wary of any changes.

Basically moral issues are a non-issues in this land.

many sgporeans may not be bothered by this as most of the money would have by then changed pockets, i.e, from cpf into hdb. all the savings would have been zapped over just to "own" a hdb pigeonhole.

as for those like me who didn't use cpf to pay for hdb or anything else, that cpf money is still lawfully mine. would i get it back? is there anyway that i could get it ALL back?

.................as for those like me who didn't use cpf to pay for hdb or anything else, that cpf money is still lawfully mine. would i get it back? is there anyway that i could get it ALL back?

Why not? After all, it is your money isn't it? Why leave it in someone else's pocket? Holding onto someone else's money against their will is theft isn't it?

Good luck.

leetahbar said:
they already moved the goalpost until now i also blur where is the goalpost. they even legislated it. how can such an illeegal action be leegalised in the first place? how could the entire nation be so quiet about it??(

The CPF goal post has moved so much, you could be scoring own goal.

Cheat Peasant Fund or Citizen Protection Fee

Just take it as some kind of tax or protection fee to the biggest pai kia.

Already told myself money not in pocket is not my money. When the time comes, won't be that disappointed. Again, my advice to fellow countrymen, don't over rely on CPF.

leetahbar said:
as for those like me who didn't use cpf to pay for hdb or anything else, that cpf money is still lawfully mine. would i get it back? is there anyway that i could get it ALL back?

Yes migrate but make sure you do it quietly. Otherwise there will be a run on the CPF coffers.

CPF is meant for every citizens. it should be plain simple and straightforward. now cpf is more puzzling than a jigsaw puzzle. at the end of the day, i still won't be sure how much would i get back, how much the gov is taking for me and whether even do i get anything back. why is CPF being complicated into such a contorted state if the gov's original intention is to benefit citizens?

dr toh was telling them the simple honest concept: u put ur money in fixed deposit, u get it ALL back with interests when it matures.

If I were to put this sum of money in a commercial bank and, on the due date I go to the bank to withdraw the money, the manager says, “I am sorry, Dr Toh, you will have to come next year”, there will be a run on the bank! It is as simple as this, that the CPF has lost its credibility, the management of it. This is fundamental. You were taken by surprise by Medisave. Then they say, “6% of your Special Account will be kept for Medisave and you cannot withdraw that, even if you were to die.”

medisave was implemented. what's the purpose? the money is stuck there in cpf. is it as good as gone case? so how could cpf be evolved into such a state that our savings is kaput just like that? then there's auto deduction for medishield and another more sinister ELDERSHIELD which was a opt-out trap.

such scheme doesn't give the average man a sense of fairness and yet no one complains whiich in turn gives the gov a false sense of justified policy which is plain lame.

if we do a simple evaluation where our money goes, it inadvertently ends up more or less into the gov's deep pocket. u need a roof, u use cpf to buy an over-priced hdb. cpf becomes zero. u need the money when u r old u sell hdb, then where to stay?

they privatised gov hospitals. when u get sick, they zap ur cpf through medisave. after u recover, u r suppose to top that up. again, money goes to the gov. if u didn't utilise any from medisave for keeping urself healthy, the money is still held back in cpf. again, the money is as good as belonging to the gov.

then there r the diff medishield schemes which zap more money from ur cpf into a locked-up unretirevable fund. again, money is gone to the gov. they introduced ELDERSHIELD which is a pure leeching instrument which make sure that in order to utilise it, u have to be really FULLY handicapped. the miserable payout is for a limited number of years. if one would be unfortunate to live past that limit, then good luck, the funding stops there.

if we look at the duration of how long late gecko lasted, don't u think for an average sgporean the financial burden would be tantamont?

dr toh also mentioned about the SKILL DEVELOPMENT FUND which is another unnecessary burden that tax small time business to fund for bigger richer ones. this practice is unethically unfair and should ve been scrapped.

A plain simple straightforward cpf has evolved into such complicated money zapping vehicle has already deviated from the orginal simple saving for the retirement plan. ALL are trapped and yet all are silent.

60.1% dun seem to mind so the other 39.9% pls shut the fuck up!

May I add,

60.1% dun seem to mind so the other 39.9% pls shut the fuck up! Not happy fuck off to LOS!

May I add,

60.1% dun seem to mind so the other 39.9% pls shut the fuck up! Not happy fuck off to LOS!
Correct! Not happy migrate and throw your pink ic....can get your cpf back.

Note I say throw ic dun confuse with hand in ic...