• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Commuters report delays on Downtown Line 3 on opening day

bobby

dtl.jpg

SINGAPORE - Commuters reported delays on the Downtown Line 3 on Saturday (Oct 21) just hours after the new line opened its doors to the public.

On Facebook, some commuters posted photos and said they were "stuck" at various stations including Bedok North station and Mattar station.

The Straits Times understands that there was a delay for at least five minutes due to a train fault, and the defective train was pushed out.

ST reader Jeremy Chua wrote in to say the train had stopped at Promenade station and moved only after 20 minutes.

Commuter Lim Yu Ke told The Straits Times that he was on his way to Tampines from Jalan Besar on the Downtown Line around 2pm when he was caught in the delay for about 30 minutes.

"The journey from Jalan Besar to Tampines was supposed to be 19 minutes, (but the) delays started from Kaki Bukit," said the 25-year-old student.

He said announcements were made in the trains informing commuters of a "train fault", and the train he was on stopped for about five minutes per station from Kaki Bukit to Tampines.

"(I) thought there was going to be a faster journey, but nope," said Mr Lim.

He added that he was caught in another delay on Friday on the East-West Line.

"I would still prefer to use buses running on the expressway for faster journeys," said Mr Lim. "At least they're more reliable than the trains."

Facebook user Chunkeat Chan posted a message on Facebook group TATA SMRT (The Alternate Transport Advisory & Spore Magnificent Rescue Team) saying he was stuck at Bedok North station, towards Expo, for at least 10 minutes.

Several other users said they were facing the same issue in the Facebook comment thread.

Downtown Line 3, which is managed by SBS Transit, has 16 stations from Fort Canning to Singapore Expo.

Rides on the Downtown Line are free this weekend for the first two days of the DTL3's opening.

ST has contacted SBS Transit for more information.

HDB charges you 500K for a HDB flat on lease then give you 50K subsidy. Shiok right?

Departmental stores mark up the price 250% already then put 30-50% Sale! You also shiok right?

Bloody fucking NEW trains and tracks start off with problems then few weeks later, eh... no more problems liao! 100% improvement! You also shiok right?

Wunderfool

Is there anything new about MRT train delay and disruption ?

Desmond Quek has already said it. It is not his fault. It is the deep-seated cultural issue. He uncovered it and he has tried to fix it, but because it is deep-seated, it takes time to eradicate the roots. It is not just about patching holes in the teeth with fillings. It calls for a root canal surgery. He is asking for your patience and understanding.

Is there anything new about MRT train delay and disruption ?

Desmond Quek has already said it. It is not his fault. It is the deep-seated cultural issue. He uncovered it and he has tried to fix it, but because it is deep-seated, it takes time to eradicate the roots. It is not just about patching holes in the teeth with fillings. It calls for a root canal surgery. He is asking for your patience and understanding.

"Cultural"??? It is cultural to accept high salary & when the "shits hit the fans" , blame the little people, in which the management & on top, all the way to the Transport Minister...will just tai chi the blame!.

That is cultural....unless the voters wake up from their stupor, they will get a disaster & the roots still will not be eradicated.....that is CULTURAL.

kryonlight

I took DTL3 from Expo to MacPherson in the evening and everything runs smoothly. PAP & Khaw are the best!