Commuters hit by blackout at linkway in Outram Park MRT station

xingguy

Source: Straits Times

blackout12e.jpg

Commuters using a linkway connecting the North-East Line to the East-West Line at Outram Park MRT station were reportedly hit by a blackout this morning, on Jan 20, 2014. -- PHOTO: STOMP

Commuters using a linkway connecting the North-East Line to the East-West Line at Outram Park MRT station were hit by a blackout on Monday morning.

SBS Transit said the power trip did not affect train services. Commuters were seen using their handphones to light the way as they made their way out of the station.

"To assist commuters walking along the walkway, staff armed with torchlights stationed themselves along the path to help provide lighting," said SBS Transit's senior vice-president for corporate communications, Ms Tammy Tan.

She added that SBS Transit is investigating the cause of the power fault.

blackout42e.jpg

blackout32e.jpg

World class public transport system.... LOL! :kma:

The events unfolding before us are unprecedented...
The signs of infrastructure crumbling is upon us..

Telco,banking services,internrt outrage will be regular occurence. Sinkies must pay more for more crap services...

Jojo mouth needs to be stuffed.

Public transport should be nationalised, especially in a very small country.

What is happening now is that the interests of shareholders take precedence over the needs of the commuters. You don't need a lot of fancy features, all you need is reliability, punctuality, comfort and cleanliness.

This is rubbish and how to justify fare increase like that?

This reminds of an episode of Sesame Street, many years back ( Jim Henson days), where Ernie was in the bath with his rubber duckie, & Bert came along & asked him, why he need to bring a torch light, an umbrella & a bowling ball; Ernie replied " in case the light goes out, the ceiling leak & somone knock at the door, wanting to borrow a bowling ball...it happened!! ha ha ha

My point is, for some time already, I have in my bag or with me a small LED torch light, a disposal raincoat, a industry standard mask, & that includes the normal everyday, 4 panadols, a peppermint sniffer & breathe freshner, safety pins, plasters & a small bottle of medicated oil...

who knows, we may need them...now with all the breakdowns, looks like have to include a portable whistle too...

maybe a blinking light, like the one you put on a bicycle or even flares!!...who knows??

This reminds of an episode of Sesame Street, many years back ( Jim Henson days), where Ernie was in the bath with his rubber duckie, & Bert came along & asked him, why he need to bring a torch light, an umbrella & a bowling ball; Ernie replied " in case the light goes out, the ceiling leak & somone knock at the door, wanting to borrow a bowling ball...it happened!! ha ha ha

My point is, for some time already, I have in my bag or with me a small LED torch light, a disposal raincoat, a industry standard mask, & that includes the normal everyday, 4 panadols, a peppermint sniffer & breathe freshner, safety pins, plasters & a small bottle of medicated oil...

who knows, we may need them...now with all the breakdowns, looks like have to include a portable whistle too...

maybe a blinking light, like the one you put on a bicycle or even flares!!...who knows??

Don't forget a fire extinguisher for breaking MRT train window in case the ventilation system cannot outlast the breakdown.

pic33.jpg

Don't forget a fire extinguisher for breaking MRT train window in case the ventilation system cannot outlast the breakdown.

Brother!, fire extinguisher too heavy to carry!..

did anybody got molest or rape during the black out? :D

Hello hello Hello. Is this old story or 'just another day ' of ass mrt? Knn, think what smrt need is limpeh. Confirm no cableties.

Actually, all these fucking zho bo lan, tcss, lalalalala, CEOs. Positions, anyone in sbf can do a better job. But cut ribbon phony kfc job dun fight with me. I confirm can cut ribbon better than phony tan.

It is compulsory to pack a torch light when you are going to take MRT ... Amazing number of screw ups inside and outside mrt station day after day.

Should also bring along an oxygen tank and mask, just in case lack of oxygen or the smell suffocate you, whichever comes first?

A first world country, everyone need to be prepare for any happenings! Bravo!, worth every penny paid to million-dollar ministers!

Limpeh volunteer for this CEO job. if cannot do a better job than this fake general quek, LIMPEH chop!

Heaven not blind..

Many cocked ups ever since Pappy Scums declared fare increase..

So dark, the anh nehs will definitely take advantage to do some groping.

Josephine, now you understand why people are angry? Next time don't speak with your CB wide open for people to fuck.

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread....vices-(less-breakdown-)-PAY-FOR-IT!&p=1762841

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/bus--train-...092506372.html

"Teo also took issue with WP opposing operators getting more fares through the adjustment while wanting better services.

"It conveniently avoids the question of how better services are to be paid for,” said Teo, adding “In WP’s world, these things can all be achieved without more effort and resources.”

Eh.. already taken 1.1b public fund for better services last year now again hike for better services...