• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Come up with better reason SMRT!

The service is not longer reliable for years,how can still use it as a reason to justify fare increase?

SINGAPORE: One of the two public transport operators in Singapore confirmed on Monday that it will be looking to raise its fares as the fare revision exercise gets under way.

The Public Transport Council (PTC) announced the start of the exercise in a press release, which said the operators have till December 19 to submit for consideration their applications for fare hikes. The council said it will announce its decision in the first quarter of next year.

Responding to TODAY’s queries, SMRT confirmed its intention to seek a fare hike.

SMRT Director for Media Marketing and Communications Alina Boey said: “We seek a better alignment between fares and operating costs, and will be submitting our application for a fare review in the coming weeks.”

She added that the operator remains committed to delivering a reliable and service-oriented public transport network.

Despite healthy ridership growth, SMRT had previously said business conditions remained “challenging” due to higher operating costs. Second-quarter revenue for its bus business was S$58.4 million, up by 2.9 per cent, but its operating loss was down 6.4 per cent to S$7 million.

Last week in Parliament, Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew urged the PTC not to grant any fare increase that would exceed the average national wage increase this year. He also noted that fares have become more affordable as wages have risen at a faster rate than fares.

The PTC said it would pay particular attention to fare affordability for lower-income groups and, where necessary, fare increases would be capped and spread over more than one year to prevent a sudden and large fare hike.

It will take into account the recent recommendations by the Fare Review Mechanism Committee (FRMC), which were fully accepted by the government.

The FRMC’s proposals included two new concession schemes for the poor and the disabled and enhancements to five existing schemes — to be cross-subsidised by full-fare-paying adults — that will cover children, polytechnic students, the elderly and heavy users of public transport.

The PTC said it will consider the proposed enhancement of existing concessions.

“In assessing the affordability of any fare increase, the PTC will also take into account new concessions to be funded by the government,” it added.

-TODAY/xq

SMRT does not need to provide a reason in the first place.
This is what 60.1% gong cheebyes voted for. Huat ah!

saratogas

PTC can recommand any increase but should also include some terms to benefit commuters...

Fulfill their objectives: "the operator remains committed to delivering a reliable and service-oriented public transport network."

Example if there is any break down of more than half an hour the ride is free and free rides for all the next day.

What is the use of LTA fines them... The $$$ collected doesn't benefit us!

how cum not a single breakdown or incident when i was there recently? how cum when i log into sbf it's always kpkb about the smrt? :*: :confused:

tanwahp

I'm really doubtful about the following statements:

"She added that the operator remains committed to delivering a reliable and service-oriented public transport network."

Like hiring aunties to holler at people to move in?

"Despite healthy ridership growth, SMRT had previously said business conditions remained “challenging” due to higher operating costs."

When did operating costs go up when these people keep hiring cheap foreign labour?

"He also noted that fares have become more affordable as wages have risen at a faster rate than fares."

Really? Wages for who?

how cum not a single breakdown or incident when i was there recently? how cum when i log into sbf it's always kpkb about the smrt? :*: :confused:

Didn't happen to you dun mean it didn't happen....
MSM will try its best to cover up.....thanks to the internet we know the truth.

Didn't happen to you dun mean it didn't happen....
MSM will try its best to cover up.....thanks to the internet we know the truth.

but i was there for 2 weekends and 2 full weeks. took every line from end to end. circumnavigated the island multiple times on mrt. stopped at critical stations where lines intersect. rode the trains early in the morning to late at night. even went to changi airport on mrt just to check out the ride. it was perfect. not as crowded as a few years ago during peak hours. the only slight bottleneck was bugis, where it was a popular stop and there was no transfer/connection or another line. the circle line had obviously diffuse the crowd at city center and raffles place. more passengers were using bypasses at paya lebar, nee soon and outram. i enjoyed the rides. smooth, not too packed, frequent and on time. seats were occasional, but i've been offered seats by young female teens. of all people! :eek: no complaints here. :biggrin:

Well written article.
Kindly contact nearest sph brothel....a pressitute wil be conducting an interview with you with photos as front page 'news'.
Real commuters who read your report will think you visited the twilight zone.

Please try not to bullshit!....how many platforms are there at Jurong East MRT Station....do you travel direct to Changi Airport..just asnwer this, without referring to to online maps..apps etc.. of course I can't be checking...

It used to be from 10am onwards the trains are less crowded & certain MRT Stations are sparse, and little passengers & even those inter changes ( connection ones) have lesser passenger flow but not nowadays...

How I know..I use the train to travel around for meeting with clients etc..N-S Line, E-W line, NEL Line, circle lines both directions, have got off/on major popular stations...have gone on/off so called far off ones like for example One North/Caldecott/Holland Village etc..

It is packed...& at rush hour, try 8.15am.....just do not bullshit!...the only time, you see lesser passengers is around 10- midnight, even that is getting packed..have traveled at that hour from Changi Airport going downwards...

Well written article.
Kindly contact nearest sph brothel....a pressitute wil be conducting an interview with you with photos as front page 'news'.
Real commuters who read your report will think you visited the twilight zone.

if real sinkie commuters were to ride the bart here, they would think they're riding fart and quickly opt to balik kumpong and enjoy the pristine and perfect smrt. :biggrin:

It is packed...& at rush hour, try 8.15am.....just do not bullshit!...the only time, you see lesser passengers is around 10- midnight, even that is getting packed..have traveled at that hour from Changi Airport going downwards...

i rode most of the morning trains from east to west at 7am and alighted before 7:45am to check out the "free" rides. relatively empty. :biggrin: sinkies are not accustomed to going to work early. even for those who do, they would spend an hour or more having their morning makan sessions. :rolleyes: and many sinkies show up late for work, including retail.

the train to changi is a tad crowded due to long wait times. however, much of the crowd go to terminal 3 to look see look see, makan and dump their children there in the basement where it is like any typical shopping and food court mall. many of them don't fly or use the airport for travel reasons. if these jokers stop crowding the changi train, it would be sparsely empty. don't blame the system. blame sinkies for using the airport as their evening and weekend past time. sinkies are truly pathetic when the airport becums an entertainment hub. why not just build a theater or casino there? :p

sinkies work till so late, still want them to wake up so early save that 2 dollar? crazy

can always work out staggered hours with employers. go to work early, go home early. don't see any problem if one puts in 8 hours a day, anytime from 7 onwards. for those in retail, instead of showing up and opening at 11am at many stores, i see workers arriving at 11:20am. the most motivated and incentivised are those in the morning makan business. they are there already at 6:30am, especially those at harbor front. the hawkers at clementi are there early at 6. there's a taro cake stall that starts selling at 6:45 and a long line forms by 7. when it cums to food and running one's own business, sinkies are highly motivated. :biggrin:

PrinceCharming

If and when PTC approves the next fare increase, my friends and I will ask Gilbert Goh to stage a nation-wide protest against it.